Use columns to find specific performance data

Columns in your statistics tables provide a variety of information about your account. Your column choices vary depending on which statistics table and tab you're viewing. You can choose which ones you'd like to see, and rearrange and save them in the order that you prefer. This way you can have all the data that’s most important to you available at-a-glance in your statistics table.

Here's how to add or remove columns in your statistics table:

  1. Sign in to your AdWords account at https://adwords.google.com.
  2. Click the Campaigns tab.
  3. To see data for a specific period, click the date range menu on the top corner of the page and select the time period you'd like to analyze.
  4. Click one of the tabs that appear in the middle of the page, such as the Campaigns, Ad groups, Ads, or Keywords tabs.
  5. Click the Columns button above the statistics table.
  6. Select "Customize columns" from the drop-down.
  7. Choose which columns you'd like in your table. You can add or remove all of the columns in a single category by clicking "Add all columns" or "Remove all columns." Competitive metrics
  8. Drag and drop the columns to arrange them in the order you prefer.
  9. If you want to save the columns for future use, select the "Save this set of columns" checkbox and enter a title in the box that appears. Your saved columns will now appear in the "Customize columns" drop-down. See how to save columns for future use
  10. Click Save. If you've added columns, you'll see them appear in your statistics table. See columns in a statistics table
  11. Once your statistics table looks the way you want, you can download the data in a report. Just click the download button Download icon.

Tip

After you've added the columns that interest you, you can click any column name to sort by that topic. For instance, click the "Ad group" column to sort alphabetically by ad groups, or click the "Impressions" column to sort your ad groups from most impressions to least.

Common columns

Certain columns can be found on almost every tab in your AdWords account.

Status columns

The "Status" column on the Campaigns and Ad groups tabs displays information about the current state of individual campaigns or ad groups, and whether they're paused, deleted, limited by budget, or other states.

  • On the Ads tab, the "Status" column shows you whether or not your ad is running and, if not, whether it is paused, deleted, or disapproved.
  • On the Keywords tab, it shows you whether each keyword is eligible to trigger ads, or is marked paused, deleted, disapproved, or another status.

Get more information about campaign, ad group, ad, and keyword statuses.

Attributes, Performance, Conversions, and Call Details columns

Attributes columns

  • Bid strategy type: The name of the bid strategy that’s managing bids for your keywords, ad groups, or campaigns. For example, if your campaign is using manual CPC bidding, you'll see "CPC" in this column. Or, if your campaign is using automatic bidding, you'll see "Auto" in this column. You might also see "(enhanced)," which means that AdWords is adjusting your max. CPC bid to achieve your goal, like maximizing conversions.
  • Bid strategy: This is the flexible bid strategy that's managing bids for your keywords, ad groups, or campaigns. Note that in this column, you'll see the name that you created for the flexible bid strategy. If you aren't using a flexible bid strategy, you'll see a dash "-".

Performance columns

  • Clicks - When someone clicks your ad, like on the blue headline of a text ad, we count that as a click.
  • Impressions - An impression is counted each time your ad is shown on a search results page or other site on the Google Network.
  • CTR - A ratio showing how often people who see your ad end up clicking it. CTR can be used to gauge how well your keywords and ads are performing.
  • Avg. CPC - The average amount that you've been charged for a click on your ad. 
  • Avg. CPM - The average amount you've been charged per 1,000 views of your ad (if you're using CPM bidding).
  • Cost - Cost is the sum of your cost-per-click (CPC) and cost-per-thousand impressions (CPM) costs.
  • Avg. Position - Avg. Position describes where your ad typically appears on the search results page compared with other ads.

Conversions columns

If you've set up Conversion Tracking on your website, these columns can give you insight into your conversion performance. Hover over the questions mark Question mark at the top of each column for a definition.

Assist and assisted-conversion data from Search Funnels

These columns can help you understand the role your keywords play in the Google.com searches leading up to a conversion. Often, the "last click" before a conversion gets all the credit because that's the click that leads directly to the sale, acquisition, or sign up that you're trying to get. But there are also helper keywords that might have guided your customers toward that conversion along the way. The assist and assisted-conversion data from Search Funnels can give you a more complete picture of the value of your individual keywords when it comes to generating conversions. As with the conversions columns, you'll need to have Conversion Tracking set up on your website to view assist data.

Call details columns

These columns provide reporting for calls from ads showing a Google forwarding phone number on desktops/laptops, tablets, and high-end mobile devices, and can be found on the Ad Groups and Campaigns tabs. Find out which statistics are available in the Call details columns.

Columns that only appear on certain tabs

Some columns can only be found on certain AdWords account tabs. Here's what they can tell you about your performance:

Active bid adj.

Your active bid adjustment is the type of bid adjustment that you've set. If you've set a mobile bid adjustment, for example, you'll see "Device". You can increase or decrease your bids to bid more or less competitively across devices, locations, time of day, and more. Bid adjustments give you more control over when and where your ad is shown.

This column is available on the Ad groups tab only.

Ad type

This column is available on the Ads tab, and it indicates which type of ad you're running: text, image, mobile, or video.

Bid simulator

These columns estimate how various bid changes might impact your weekly Search Network traffic. Estimates are generally refreshed once a day, and reflect the last 7 days of activity in your account from the day they're calculated (up to 7 days ago).

The “Base max. CPC” column lists the bids that AdWords used to create click and cost estimates for the other bid simulator columns. Please refer to it instead of the “Max. CPC bid” column when evaluating bid simulator results.

A “--” in the column means there wasn’t enough data to produce an estimate, or that the only data available to run a simulation was more than 7 days old.

Note that the bid simulator columns provide estimates for how alternate bids might have affected your ad performance in the past. They aren’t meant to serve as predictions or guarantees of future ad performance. These columns won’t produce estimates for campaigns that use automatic CPC bidding or Conversion Optimizer, or for campaigns that spend their entire daily budget on a regular basis.

These columns are available on the Keywords tab only.

Default Max. CPC

Your default maximum cost-per-click (max. CPC) is the highest amount you're willing to pay for a click. Your default max. CPC bid is set at the ad group level, but you can override it by setting specific max. CPCs for individual keywords. Note that you won't pay more than your max. CPC, and often you'll pay less. You can see the average amount you pay for clicks in the "Avg. CPC" column.

You might see an "auto" or "(enhanced)" label next to your bids. Here's what they mean:

  • Auto: This means that AdWords is automatically setting the bid that you see in this column. You might see "Auto" if your campaign is using automatic bidding or the target ROAS flexible bid strategy, for example. Note that these bid amounts can't be edited.
  • Enhanced: This means that the AdWords system is adjusting the bid shown on an auction-by-auction basis to achieve the goal of the bidding strategy that you're using, like maximizing conversions for Enhanced CPC or maximizing conversion value for target ROAS. Note that for each keyword in this ad group that's using the default bid, AdWords tries to set bids to roughly average the bid shown.

Keep in mind that the bids for some bidding strategies, like target ROAS, can be both automatically set and enhanced. If you're using target ROAS, the bid shown isn't used for Display Network auctions.

The "Default Max. CPC" column is available on the Ad groups tab only.

Dest. URL

The Destination URL column can be found on the Keywords tab, among others. If you set a keyword-level destination URL, it will take priority over the destination URL that you set for each ad. Let's say you choose the following:

  • Ad destination URL: www.example.com
  • Keyword: apple
  • Keyword destination URL: www.example.com/apple

If your ad is triggered by the keyword "apple," then the ad will use www.example.com/apple instead of www.example.com as its destination URL.

Est. first page bid / Est. top of page bid

The "Est. first page bid" and "Est. top of page bid" metrics approximate the cost-per-click (CPC) bid needed for your ad to reach the first page or top of Google search results when a search term exactly matches your keyword. The estimates are based on the Quality Score and current advertiser competition for that keyword.

In rare cases, the "Est. top of page bid" may exceed US$100 and be denoted as >=US$100. Currently, estimated bids greater than US$100 are not shown. When viewing "Est. top of page bid" in other currencies, you may see a similar annotation for the equivalent of US$100 in your preferred currency.

Note that these estimates aren't a guarantee of placement. Ad position is influenced by many factors, including other advertiser activity, search user activity, account settings, and account activity such as budget changes. For all of these reasons, your ad may not show on the first page or at the top of the page, even if you meet the estimates.

These columns are available on the Keywords tab only.

ID

This is the individual ID number of your ad. This column is available on the Ads tab only.

Image URL

If you've chosen to run image ads on the Display Network, the images are stored on Google's servers and referenced from this URL. This column is available on the Ads tab only.

Impression share, Lost IS (rank), Lost IS (budget), Exact match IS

Impression share is the percentage of impressions you received divided by the estimated number of impressions you were eligible to receive.  Eligibility is based on your current ads' targeting settings, approval statuses, bids, and Quality Scores. Get more details about impression share, Lost IS, and Exact match IS.

This column is available on the Campaigns and Ad groups tabs. Impression share data is also available on the Dimensions tab "Time" reports.

Invalid clicks / Invalid click rate

These columns indicate the number and percentage of clicks that were classified as invalid and automatically filtered from your account. You aren't charged for these clicks, and they don't affect your account statistics. Data for invalid clicks is only available after January 1, 2006. Learn more about invalid clicks.

This column is available on the Campaigns and Dimensions tabs only.

Match type

For campaigns targeting the Google Search Network, you can use the following keyword match types: broad match, phrase match, exact match, or negative match. These keyword matching options help you control who sees your ads. You might see more ad impressions, clicks, and conversions with some match types, or fewer impressions and more narrow targeting with others. The "Match type" column on the Keywords tab indicates which setting you chose for each keyword, and allows you to change the setting. Learn more about keyword match types.

This column is located on the Keywords tab.

Additional "match type" metrics are also available in AdWords:

Search terms match type segment: See your keyword data segmented by search terms match type, which are the broad, phrase, and exact match search terms that triggered your keyword. This allows you to compare statistics such as clicks, impressions, clickthrough rates (CTRs), or conversion rates for search terms that triggered your ad. Use this segmentation option to identify which keywords are driving the best performance for a particular search term match type.

"Match type" column in the search terms report: This column in your search terms report tells you which match type allowed the user to see your ad when they searched on a particular term. Use this information to improve your keyword list.

Max. CPC

Your maximum cost-per-click (max. CPC) is the highest amount you're willing to pay for a click. You can set specific max. CPCs for individual keywords if you want to set higher or lowers bids for individual keywords based on their performance. Note that you won't pay more than your max. CPC, and often you'll pay less. You can see the average amount you pay for clicks in the "Avg. CPC" column.

You might see an "auto" or "(enhanced)" label next to your bids. Here's what they mean:

  • Auto: This means that AdWords is automatically setting the bid that you see in this column. You might see "Auto" if your campaign is using automatic bidding or the target ROAS flexible bid strategy, for example. Note that these bid amounts can't be edited.
  • Enhanced: This means that the AdWords system is adjusting the bid shown on an auction-by-auction basis to achieve the goal of the bidding strategy that you're using, like maximizing conversions for Enhanced CPC or maximizing conversion value for target ROAS. Note that for each keyword in this ad group that's using the default bid, AdWords tries to set bids to roughly average the bid shown.

Keep in mind that the bids for some bidding strategies, like target ROAS, can be both automatically set and enhanced. If you're using target ROAS, the bid shown isn't used for Display Network auctions.

The "Max. CPC" column is available on the Keywords tab only.

Quality Score

This column displays your keyword's Quality Score, which is a measurement of how relevant and useful your ads and landing page are to a person seeing your ad.

This column is available on the Keywords tab only.

Relative CTR

Relative CTR is a measure of how your ads are performing on the Display Network compared to other advertisers' ads that are appearing on the same websites.

We calculate Relative CTR by dividing your clickthrough rate by the average clickthrough rate of all advertisers on the placements where your ads are shown. Because this is a competitive metric, it's not static. It will change based on the websites where your ad appears and what other advertisers do.

This column is available on the Campaigns and Ad groups tabs only.

Example

Let's say that an advertiser who sells digital cameras is getting a Display Network CTR of 0.05%. The advertiser is appearing on a single page about photography on the Display Network with three other advertisers. The other advertisers are getting CTRs of 0.005%.

The first advertiser is getting a CTR that is 10x larger than the competitors' CTR (0.05%/0.005% = 10). Because people are more interested in this advertiser's products, this advertiser has a very high Relative CTR (10).

Served

This column indicates the percentage of time your ad has been shown in relation to the rest of the active ads within the same ad group. This column is available on the Ads tab only.

Tip

When you're comparing % served between two ads, make sure to adjust your date range to a period of time when both ads were running to produce an accurate comparison.

It's normal for the ad served percentage or the number of impressions accrued for each ad in your ad group to be different. The following factors influence how often a given ad appears:

  • Ad Rotation

    By default, all campaigns are set to optimized ad serving. This means that if one ad has a higher clickthrough rate (CTR), it will show more frequently than the other ads in your ad group. This system automatically favors better-performing ads that drive more traffic to your site.

    You can opt out of optimized ad serving if you'd like the AdWords system to rotate your ads roughly evenly. If you do so, note that your ads still may accrue different ad served percentages or numbers of impressions. This is because the AdWords system considers an ad's Quality Score when ranking it on a search result page. An ad with a high Quality Score may appear on the first page of search results, where it accrues an impression every time it's served. On the other hand, an ad with a low Quality Score may appear on the second page of search results, where it will only accrue an impression if the user clicks through to that page.

  • Time

    If an ad is created late in the day, it will have a lower ad served percentage at the end of the day than the existing ads. This difference will decrease over time.

  • Approval status

    If an ad has yet to be reviewed and approved, it'll only appear on Google. If it isn't yet generating impressions on the Google Network, an ad will have a lower ad served percentage.

Total cost

The total costs that a campaign has accrued during the time frame you selected.

This column is available on the Campaigns tab only.

 

Tip

 

It’s possible to compare performance across date ranges and see those results inside the columns of your statistics table. Learn how to compare performance across two time periods.