You can use an automated bid strategy to have Display & Video 360 optimize your line item's bid based on the likelihood that an individual impression will lead to a click or conversion, or be viewable.
How does Display & Video 360 predict the performance of impressions?
Display & Video 360 uses a combination of variables to predict how well an individual impression might perform, which is evaluated against the line item's performance goal.
Some variables used automated bidding include
- Audience lists an impression is associated with and audience list recency
- Effectiveness of your available creatives
- Geographic information of an impression
- Time of day
- URL of the impression
- Page category of the impression
- Website or app where the impression came from
- Frequency cap and number times you've already displayed your creative to the same cookie
- Exchange through which the impression is sold
- Tactic of your line item (e.g. prospecting, behavioral, remarketing)
Use automated bidding
Automated bid strategies can be enabled from the details page of any new or existing line item. Display & Video 360 will continuously learn how to improve your line item's bids, as your line item serves. For better performance, especially if your advertiser doesn't have much historical data in Display & Video 360, opt into the enhanced automation pool.
Types of automated bid strategies
Use "While spending full budget, Minimize CPC/Minimize CPA" to get the best CPC or CPA performance possible, given how much you have to spend to exhaust your budget. Line items that use this type of automated bid strategy may not spend their entire daily budget in the first week of the flight, but will spend the flight's budget as long as the flight lasts at least 2 weeks.
- When using this strategy, Display & Video 360's primary goal will be to attempt to spend your full budget. If your budget can't be spent, Display & Video 360 will raise your line item's bid until your budget can be spent or the line item's bid is capped by the "Do not exceed average CPM of ___" field.
- Don't use this setting with impression-based budgets, since this setting won't be able to guarantee the amount of currency spent and may lead to overspending.
(App install line items only) Use "Maximize installs" (currently in beta), to optimize app install performance for your budget, or for a target cost per install. You can also limit the average CPM (see below).
Use "Meet or beat goal of ____ CPC/CPA" to meet or beat a specific performance goal. If Display & Video 360 can't both hit your performance goal and spend your line item's entire budget, the priority will be hitting your performance goal. So, watch out: If your line item's goal is overly aggressive, your line item may not be able to spend its entire budget.
Line items that use this type of automated bid strategy may experience low spend over the first 2 weeks of the line item's flight as the algorithm learns from the line item's performance. Additionally, if the performance goal is too aggressive, the line item may have difficulty spending its entire budget over the flight.
(Optional) Limit the maximum average CPMWhen you use either the "Minimize…" or "Meet or beat…" bid strategies, you can set a ceiling for the maximum average CPM that Display & Video 360 can bid in the "Do not exceed average CPM of ____" field.
- Don't use this setting if you must stay under an absolute maximum CPM at all times. Although Display & Video 360 will attempt to honor a line item's maximum average CPM over the line item's entire lifetime, a line item's average CPM may exceed this ceiling at isolated points during its flight.
- Display & Video 360 calculates maximum average CPM over a line item's entire history, not just when an automated bid strategy was active. So, if your line item had a low fixed bid early in its flight, Display & Video 360 may be able to bid more aggressively when automated bidding is turned on, while still keeping a line item's maximum average CPM underneath its ceiling, compared to a scenario where automated bidding was turned on from the very beginning.
Use "While spending full budget, Maximize quality impressions" to have Display & Video 360 prioritize buying the best impressions to increase awareness of your products.
To control what you consider a quality impression, select either:
"Completed in-view and audible" (video only) to prioritize buying impressions where the video was visible at completion of the video and the audio was audible.
"That were viewable for at least 10 seconds" (video only) to prioritize buying impressions where the video was visible for 10 seconds or more.
"Viewable" (display and video) to prioritize buying impressions where the display or video ad was viewable according to Active View.
When using this strategy, Display & Video 360's primary goal will be to attempt to spend your full budget. If your budget can't be spent, Display & Video 360 will raise your line item's bid until your budget can be spent or the line item's bid is capped by the "Do not exceed average CPM of ___" field. Don't use this setting with impression-based budgets, since this setting won't be able to guarantee the amount of currency spent and may lead to overspending.
Use "Optimize for viewable CPM bid" to have Display & Video 360 change your bid based on the probability that an impression will be viewable (powered by Active View). For example, if you set a viewable CPM goal of $2 and an impression is 40% likely to be viewable, Display & Video 360 will bid $0.80 CPM (which is 40% of $2).Never use "Optimize for viewable CPM bid" automated bidding and viewability targeting at the same time, as it will severely limit your spend.