Suspend a user

You can block a user's access to your organization's Google services by suspending the user's account. If you suspend a user, it doesn't delete the user's profile or data, such as documents. However, the user can no longer sign in to the account. Any shared documents or other assets remain accessible to collaborators.

Note: To suspend a user, you or your organization must also remove the user’s access to the business email address used to sign in to their team-managed G Suite account. Users who still have access to their business email addresses can regain access to their G Suite accounts.

Before suspending a user, you can transfer ownership of their files to another team member. If the suspension is permanent, (for example, the user is leaving the company) you should transfer file ownership because the user's unshared files can’t be accessed after suspension.

To suspend a user:

  1. Sign in to your team Admin console.
  2. Click Nav icon and select Manage Team to display the Team Members page.
  3. Click Settings for the team member you want to remove, and choose Remove & transfer files.
  4. (Optional) Choose a new owner for the files owned by the member you’re removing.
  5. Enter the new owner name and click Transfer.

    Important: You can only transfer files while removing a team member, not afterwards.

  6. Choose Yes to suspend access for the deleted team member.

You can reactivate a suspended member by resending an invitation to join the team. See Add or remove team members.

If you suspend a user, you're only charged for the days of that month that the user was active. For example, say you suspend a user on the fifth of the month and they were active on the first 4 days of that month. For that month, you'll be charged for 4 days for the suspended user.

Not an admin, or trying to suspend someone who's not a member of your team? Learn more.

Was this helpful?
How can we improve it?