Move or delete your data

You might need to move or delete data from your G Suite (team-managed) account in the event of an account transition, a domain transition (for example, a new owner for the domain), or if you’re leaving your organization.

In an account transition, after an administrator verifies ownership of the domain where your account is hosted, you'll get an email and have 5 days (known as the waiting period) before the administrator has access to your account. If you decide you don't want your administrator to control the data that you've created in your Google Account when it is converted to a domain-managed G Suite account, you can move your data during the waiting period. You have a couple of options to do this:

  • If you want to move data in between two different Google Accounts, see Moving product data.
  • If you want to create an archive of your data for later reuse, you can use Takeout. Once you've created an archive, you can choose to delete some or all of your data (see below for details).

Note that the following data is not saved in a Takeout:

  • Shared drive files — To save Shared drive files, either download the files individually, or move the files to your own or another team member's My Drive, then use Takeout.
  • Chats conducted in chat rooms — Only direct message chats are saved.

If you choose to delete your account and all of your data, deleting your Google Account affects all products associated with that account (for example, Docs, Blogger, AdSense), and it affects each product differently. Before deleting your Google Account, review the data associated with your account on the Google dashboard.

Read up on specific information about other products that you're using. We specifically recommend that you review the file deletion and recovery policy for Google Drive. If you delete shared files (or delete the account that owns the shared files), anyone who is not an owner of the files immediately loses access. You may want to transfer ownership of any shared files before you delete your account.

Delete your Google Account
  1. Sign in to the Google Accounts homepage. (If you forgot your password, you can reset it).
  2. In the "Account preferences" section, select Delete your account or services.
  3. Choose Delete Google Account and data.
  4. Review what you’re deleting and check both boxes at the bottom of the page.
  5. Choose Delete Account.

Note: If you delete your account, you won't have access to your data. We recommend you download your data before deleting your account.

Permanently delete files and folders you own

If you want to permanently delete a file or folder you own, you can delete an individual file or empty your entire trash to delete all files you’ve removed. Once a file has been deleted, anyone you’ve shared the file with loses access to the file as well.

Delete an individual file

If you want to delete a single file from your trash:

  1. Sign in to Drive at drive.google.com.
  2. On the left side, go to the Trash section.
  3. Select the file you want to delete.
  4. At the top, click Delete forever.

Empty the trash

Before emptying the trash, check to see if there are any files in the trash that you don’t want to delete. Once you’ve done that, to permanently delete all files in your trash:

  1. Sign in to Drive at drive.google.com.
  2. On the left side, go to the Trash section.
  3. Click Trash at the top.
  4. Select Empty trash.
Was this helpful?
How can we improve it?