Archive or delete a class

This page is for teachers

When you’re done teaching a class, you can archive it. When a class is archived, it’s archived for all teachers and students in that class. If you don’t archive classes, they still appear on your Classroom homepage and on students’ homepages.

You can restore an archived class if you want to use it again, or delete it if you’ll never use it again.

Teachers and co-teachers can archive a class, but only the primary teacher can delete a class. Students can’t archive or delete a class.

Note: To delete a class, you need to archive it first.

When you archive a class
  • It’s placed in a separate area to preserve the class materials, student work, and posts. You won’t see it with your active classes on the homepage.
  • You and your students can view an archived class. To use the class again, you have to restore it.
  • You and your students can still access any class materials in Google Drive. That includes any attachments for assignments or other student work.
  • Students can’t unenroll from a class that has been archived. This can limit how they can manage the classes they’re done taking.

Archive or restore a class

Archive a class
  1. Tap Classroom Classroom.
  2. On the class card, tap More More and then Archive.

    Archive

  3. Tap Archive to confirm.
View an archived class
This feature is only available in the computer version of Classroom. To see the instructions, click Computer.
Restore an archived class

When you restore an archived class, you see the class card again with your current classes and you can update the class.

  1. Tap Classroom Classroom.
  2. Tap Menu Menu and then Archived classes.

Note: If you haven’t archived any classes, this option won’t be in the menu.

  1. On the class card, tap More More and then Restore.
  2. Tap Restore to confirm.

Delete a class

Warning: There's no way to undo deleting a class. If you tap Delete, you no longer have access to any class posts or comments. However, you and your students can still access your class files in the class Drive folder.

When you decide you’ll never use a class again, you can delete it permanently. To delete a class, you must first archive it, then delete it. You and your students can still access your class files in the class Drive folder.

Note: Only the primary teacher of a class can delete it. Co-teachers can’t delete a class.

If you’re changing the classes you teach or leaving your school, you can transfer a class you own to a co-teacher in the class. For instructions, see Transfer ownership of a class.

Delete an archived class
  1. Tap Classroom Classroom.
  2. Tap Menu Menu and then Archived classes.
  3. On the class card, tap More More and then Delete.
  4. Tap Delete to confirm.
Was this article helpful?
How can we improve it?