If you really want to succeed with Google Ads, you'll need to regularly review and refine your account's performance. In particular, you'll want to monitor the status and progress of both your ads and their keywords. This article explains where to find and how to interpret performance data in your account.
View your ad performance
- In your Google Ads account, click the Campaigns icon .
- Click the Campaigns drop-down in the section menu.
- Click Ads.
On the 'Ads' page, you can review the following details about your ad performance:
- Status: Shows the eligibility and approval status of your ads. For example, an ad with an 'Eligible' status complies with Google Ads policies and may be shown to all audiences. Learn what your ad statuses mean.
- CTR (click-through rate): Shows how often customers click your ad after it’s served to them. A high CTR indicates that customers find your ads helpful. Generally, a CTR under 1% on the search network indicates that your ads aren’t targeted to a relevant audience. Learn how to write successful text ads.
- Avg. CPC (cost-per-click): Shows the average cost each time a potential customer clicks on your ad. Google divides the total cost of all your clicks by the number of clicks to determine your avg. CPC. For example, if your ad receives 2 clicks, one that costs $0.20 USD and one that costs $0.40 USD, your avg. CPC is $0.30 USD.
View your keyword performance
- In your Google Ads account, click the Campaigns icon .
- Click the Audiences, keywords and content drop-down in the section menu.
- Click Search keywords.
On the 'Search keywords' page, you can review the following details about your keyword performance:
- Status: Shows the eligibility and approval status of your keywords. For example, a keyword with an 'Eligible' status complies with Google Ads policies and may trigger ads. You can hover over each keyword’s status to learn about performance details like Quality Score.
- CTR (click-through rate): Shows how often customers click your ad after it’s served to them. A high CTR indicates that customers find your ads helpful. Generally, a CTR under 1% on the search network indicates that your keywords can be improved. You can remove or refine keywords with a low CTR and add more specific or targeted keywords in Google Ads.
- Quality Score: Shows how your ad quality compares to other advertisers. Quality Scores are measured on a scale from 1–10 and are based on your expected CTR, Ad Relevance and landing page experience.
- Note: The Quality Score column is disabled in new accounts. To view these metrics, click the columns icon on the 'Search keywords' page, then select Modify columns. In the 'Attributes settings', click Quality Score, then click Apply. Learn more about Quality Score.
Tip
Keep in mind that the performance of your ads or keywords can fluctuate. Web traffic varies from day to day, and this normal fluctuation may affect the performance of your campaign. In addition, current events can have the potential to dramatically influence the number of impressions and clicks that you receive.