Turn new Sites on or off for users
This article is for administrators of the new Google Sites (Publish button at the top right). Get administrator help for the classic Google Sites.
As a G Suite administrator, you can enable or disable people’s ability to create and edit sites.
Note: To enable new Sites, Drive must also be turned on for the required organizational units.
Before you begin: To apply the setting for certain users: Put their accounts in an organizational unit (to set by department) or put them in a configuration group (to set for users across or within departments).
From the Admin console Home page, go to AppsG SuiteSites.
- Click New Sites.
You can select an organizational unit or group for this feature only if you have G Suite Enterprise, Business, Education, Nonprofits, or Drive Enterprise edition. (Compare G Suite editions.)
- Under Site creation, select an option:
- Users can create and edit sites
- Users cannot create and edit sites
- Click Save. If you configured an organizational unit or group, you might be able to Inherit/Override an organization or Unset a group.
- Verify that Drive is turned on for the same organizational units that will use new Sites.
- (Optional) Revise the sharing and publishing settings in Drive.
Changes typically take effect in minutes, but can take up to 24 hours. For details, see How changes propagate to Google services.
If the Sites service is turned off:
- All users can view the Sites menu option in their browser, but receive an error message when trying to access or edit a site project file.
- Site project files aren’t deleted, but they can’t be accessed. If Sites is turned back on, people can access their site project files.
- Users can't see a published site on another domain, even if the site is set as "Anyone on the web can find and view." Users will see this error:
"We are sorry, but you do not have access to this service. Please contact your domain administrator for access."
Administrators will see this error:
"We are sorry, but you do not have access to this service. Please log in to your Admin Console to enable this service."
This means that if Drive is turned off, Sites are also unavailable for editing, but users’ site data is not deleted.
- People in your organization cannot view published sites if Drive or Sites is turned off (they can only view published Sites if logged out of their work or school account). People outside your organization can still view published sites.
- Site project files can’t be accessed. If Drive is turned back on, people can access their site project files again.