成效報表

這份報表會顯示一些重要指標,提供各項數據和資訊,協助您瞭解自己的網站在 Google 搜尋結果中的成效,包括:出現頻率、在搜尋結果中的平均排名、點閱率和與您的結果相關的任何特殊功能 (例如複合式搜尋結果)。您可以運用這些資訊提升網站的搜尋成效,舉例來說:

  • 查看特定時間內的搜尋流量變動、流量來源,以及哪些搜尋字詞最常帶出您的網站。
  • 瞭解哪些搜尋活動來自於智慧型手機的使用者,並藉此改善行動裝置的曝光效果。
  • 查看哪些網頁獲得的 Google 搜尋結果點閱率最高 (和最低)。

 

開啟成效報表

設定報表

這份報表的預設畫面會顯示您網頁過去 3 個月內來自 Google 搜尋結果的點擊次數。

  • 如想選擇要查看的指標,請選取圖表上方的分頁標籤。指標是指報表顯示的各項統計數字,例如點擊次數、曝光次數、排名、點閱率。
  • 如想選擇要顯示的維度,請選取表格中的資料分組分頁標籤。維度定義了資料的分組方式,例如根據網頁網址、國家/地區、查詢字串等維度進行分組。
  • (選用) 如要篩選資料,請新增或變更篩選器。
  • (選用) 比較維度群組:例如比較巴西和中國的搜尋結果,或是比較圖片資料和網頁資料。

 

共用報告

點選網頁上的 [共用] 按鈕即可共用問題詳細資料。這個連結只會將目前網頁 (以及這個問題的所有驗證記錄網頁) 的存取權授予知道連結的使用者,而不會授予其他資源網頁的存取權,也不會讓共用對象對您的資源或帳戶執行任何動作。如要撤銷連結,您隨時可以停用這個網頁的共用設定。

 

解讀圖表

圖表會根據您選取的分頁顯示您資源的點擊總數、曝光總數、平均點閱率以及平均排名。圖表中顯示的資料都是資源匯總資料。如要查看指標類型的說明以及計算方式,請參閱「瞭解指標」一節。

除非您依照網頁或搜尋外觀進行篩選,否則圖表資料一律都是資源匯總資料

圖表上會顯示每個指標的「總數」,圖表顯示的總數可能會與表格顯示的總數有所差異。

如要瞭解各項統計數字,請參閱維度指標關於資料等各節內容。

解讀表格

表格會顯示依查詢、網頁或國家/地區等指定維度進行分組的資料。

除非您依照網頁或搜尋外觀篩選或檢視結果,否則表格顯示的資料一律是資源匯總資料

基於各種原因,圖表顯示的總數可能會與表格顯示的總數有所差異。

如要瞭解各項統計數字,請參閱維度指標關於資料等各節內容。

報表表格為何消失了?

在某些情況下,如果表格中的資訊原本就已存在於圖表中,那麼報表就會省略該表格。舉例來說,如果您在依國家/地區分組的表格中顯示點擊次數,然後比較美國和英國,會得到下方的表格:

國家/地區 美國點擊次數 英國點擊次數
美國               1,000 0
英國 0           1,000

由於這個表格所提供的都是圖表中已顯示的資訊,因此系統不會再另外顯示這個表格。

維度與篩選器

您可以依照下列維度將資料分組及進行篩選。如要將資料分組,請選取表格上方的維度分頁標籤;如要篩選資料,請參閱這裡

查詢

代表使用者在 Google 上搜尋的查詢字串,系統只會顯示在結果中傳回您網站的搜尋查詢。

匿名查詢

為保護使用者查詢的隱私權,有極少數查詢不會顯示在這些結果中,這類查詢稱為「匿名查詢」。表格一律會忽略匿名查詢,不過只有在您依查詢篩選資料時,圖表總數才會忽略匿名查詢 (無論查詢是否包含特定字串)。

如果您的網站有大量匿名查詢,經過篩選 (包含以下字詞的查詢:<某個字串>) 和未經篩選 (不含以下字詞的查詢:<某個字串>) 的結果總數可能會有明顯差距,這是因為系統會忽略匿名查詢。

當您依查詢進行分組或篩選時,報表資料為資源匯總資料

依查詢進行「篩選」時,表格或圖表皆可能會缺少長尾資料;而依查詢進行「分組」時,則只有表格可能會缺少長尾資料。大型網站的資料最有可能出現這種情形。

如果您找不到最近曾看過的搜尋查詢,請確認您是否新增了會隱藏搜尋結果的篩選器。

常見的應用方式

  • 查看預期關鍵字的查詢清單。 如果沒有顯示預期的關鍵字,即表示您的網站上與這些關鍵字相關的實用內容可能並不多。如果出現了非預期的字詞 (例如「壯陽」或「賭場」),很可能是因為您的網站已遭到入侵
  • 找出曝光次數高但點閱率低的查詢。您可以參考這些查詢來決定該如何改善網站的標題和摘要,進而符合使用者的興趣。
  • 尋找含品牌或不含品牌的查詢總數。 您可以根據使用者在搜尋時是否加入特定字串 (例如品牌名稱),查看有多少查詢顯示您的網站。由於匿名查詢不會列入計算,而且依查詢進行篩選時會去掉長尾資料,因此您只能大約估算此數值。含品牌的查詢百分比計算方式如下:
    (包含「某個值」的查詢數)
    (不含「某個值」的查詢數) + (包含「某個值」的查詢數)
網頁

搜尋結果在經過任何「略過重新導向」(請參閱下方說明) 後所連結的最終到達網址。

這份報表中的大部分成效資料都歸於相關網頁的標準網址而非重複網址。換句話說,如果使用者在搜尋結果中點選重複網址,系統會將該點擊次數歸給標準網址,而非使用者實際造訪的網址。因此,即使網站記錄顯示使用者是透過 Google 搜尋上的重複網址造訪某個網頁,在成效報表中,該重複網址的點擊次數仍可能為零次。您可以使用網址檢查工具取得網頁的標準網址。

系統仍可能將少量點擊次數和曝光次數歸給實際造訪的網址 (而非標準網址),例如行動搜尋結果中的某些知識面板連結,以及某些 hreflang 結果

如果您分別擁有桌面版、行動版或 AMP 網頁,可以嘗試判定重複網頁的實際流量,做法是依據裝置 (針對桌面版和行動版) 或 AMP 搜尋外觀篩選資料,以取得實際點擊網址的流量。

 

如選擇網頁維度,表格會提供網頁匯總資料,而非資源匯總資料;但無論選擇何種維度,圖表都只會提供資源匯總資料。

依網頁進行分組時,表格可能會缺少長尾資料。大型網站的資料最有可能出現這種情形。

略過重新導向:Google 在搜尋結果中顯示的網址與連結的實際網址可能會有所不同。舉例來說,假設某個網站有兩個不同版本的網頁:電腦使用者適用的 example.com/mypage 和行動裝置使用者適用的 m.example.com/mypage。電腦版和行動版的 Google 搜尋結果可能都會顯示電腦版網址,但 <a> 連結目標則會有所差異,需視使用者是透過電腦或行動裝置執行搜尋而定。基準連結在電腦上會直接指向電腦版網頁,在行動裝置上則會指向行動版網頁,這稱為「略過重新導向」
國家/地區

搜尋的來源國家/地區,例如加拿大或墨西哥。

裝置

使用者用來執行搜尋的裝置類型:桌上型電腦、平板電腦或手機。如果您分別為不同裝置類型提供不同資源 (例如行動版網址 m.example.com 和電腦版網址 example.com),那麼您必須使用網域資源才能比較各項指標。

搜尋類型

使用者執行的 Google 搜尋類型:網頁搜尋 (預設)、圖片搜尋、影片搜尋等等。

由於不同搜尋類型的結果網頁版面配置截然不同,因此我們無法支援依搜尋類型分組。舉例來說,在圖片搜尋結果中排名第 30 的項目可能位於搜尋結果的第 1 頁,但在網頁搜尋中,排名第 30 的項目則可能位於第 3 頁。

依搜尋類型各別儲存資料

系統會按照搜尋類型,分別儲存特定網址的點擊次數、曝光次數和排名等所有資料。舉例來說,圖片會顯示於網頁搜尋結果和圖片搜尋結果中,但系統會依照網頁搜尋和圖片搜尋分別記錄該張圖片的點擊次數、曝光次數和排名資料。

以 example.com/aboutme.html 網頁放置的圖片為例,各項資料顯示如下:

搜尋類型 曝光次數 點擊次數 排名
圖片 20 10 23
網頁 30 30   7
搜尋外觀

代表特定搜尋結果功能,例如複合式搜尋結果類型或 AMP 網頁。

系統支援的搜尋外觀類型包括:

依搜尋外觀進行維度分組或篩選時,表格只會提供網頁匯總資料,不會提供資源匯總資料,而圖表則仍然會依資源將資料分組。

篩選功能清單只會針對具有曝光次數的類型顯示篩選選項;舉例來說,如果您沒有 AMP 結果,篩選功能清單就不會顯示 AMP 選項。

單一工作階段中找到的某個網頁可能提供多個搜尋外觀功能,但在每種功能類型中只會計為一次曝光。舉例來說,同一筆查詢傳回的網頁可能同時提供複合式結果和搜尋結果連結。

已篩選點擊次數

如果您依搜尋結果功能進行篩選,我們「無法」保證指定網址所有的點擊次數都計入篩選的功能類型連結中,這是因為點擊次數會指派給網址,而不是 (網址 + 功能)。不過我們「可以」保證使用者在點選該網址的連結時,「會」在同一組搜尋結果中看到含有這個網址和功能的連結。

示例:如果使用者在 Google 搜尋「新車」,結果顯示標準結果連結和 AMP 連結皆指向「白先生的汽車經銷公司」上的同一個網頁,則點選任一連結都會計入同一網址的點擊次數中。隔天白先生 (網站的擁有者) 開啟網站的搜尋分析時,如果依據網頁為結果分組和依據 AMP 功能進行篩選,則無論使用者點選的是 AMP 連結或標準連結,系統列出的網址點擊次數都是 1 次。

指標

如要選擇要顯示的指標,請在報表中切換至適當分頁。

您可以查看下列指標:

  • 點擊次數:透過 Google 搜尋結果將使用者導向您資源的點擊次數。瞭解詳情
  • 曝光次數:在 Google 搜尋結果中,向使用者顯示可前往您網站的連結數量。只要使用者造訪了這些結果網頁,即使該結果並未捲動至畫面中,系統還是會將其計入曝光次數;不過,如果使用者只查看了第 1 頁,而該結果位於第 2 頁,則不會計入曝光次數。該數量是由系統根據資源或網頁匯總而得。請注意,如果是可以無限捲動的結果頁面 (例如圖片搜尋頁面),則該項目必須捲動至畫面當中才會計入曝光次數。瞭解詳情
  • CTR - 點閱率:將點擊次數除以曝光次數後所得到的數字。如果資料列中未提供曝光次數,CTR 會以破折號 (-) 顯示,因為 CTR 的除數為零。
  • 平均排名:您網站「最高」排名結果的平均排名。舉例來說,如果您網站的 3 個排名結果分別為第 2、第 4 和第 6,報表中的排名即為第 2。如果第二次查詢傳回的排名為第 3、第 5 和第 9,那麼您的平均排名即為 (2 + 3)/2 = 2.5。如果資料列中未提供曝光次數,這部份會以破折號 (-) 顯示,因為這個排名不存在。瞭解詳情
  • 排名 [僅顯示於表格中]:表格中的排名值代表該資料列的項目於搜尋結果中的平均排名。舉例來說,依照查詢分組時,排名是指特定查詢的搜尋結果平均排名。如要瞭解這個值的計算方式,請參閱上方的平均排名

篩選資料

您可以依據多種維度篩選資料。舉例來說,如果您依查詢為資料分組,即可新增「country='USA' AND device='Mobile'」篩選器。

如何新增篩選器:

  • 在頁面中找到現有的類型和日期篩選器,按一下旁邊的 [+ 新增] 標籤。

如何移除篩選器:

  • 按一下現有篩選器旁邊的 取消。您無法移除搜尋類型或日期篩選器。

如何修改篩選器:

  • 按一下篩選器並重設值。

依查詢或網址篩選資料可能會影響總數

比較資料

您可以比較任一群組維度中的兩個精確值 (無論是否為目前選取的群組)。舉例來說,如果您依查詢分組,即可比較本週與上週的點擊次數,或是比較來自美國和法國的點擊次數。依網頁或搜尋外觀比較可能會變更點閱率、曝光次數和點擊次數的指標計算結果。如果您比較的是單一指標的值,結果表格可能會顯示「差距」欄,以便比較每一列的值。

實用的比較方式:

  • 您可依差距大小排序,以查看和前一週相較之下有重大變化的查詢字詞。
  • 比較行動版網站的總搜尋數據和電腦版網站上的行動裝置搜尋數據。如果您分別提供行動版網站與一般網站 (例如 m.example.com 和 www.example.com),而且做好了相關設定,系統將針對您的行動版網站,額外顯示許多種行動裝置搜尋數據。您可以為各個網站開啟個別的「搜尋分析」報表,並比較電腦版網站 (www.example.com) 上的行動裝置搜尋數據以及行動版網站 (m.example.com) 上的所有搜尋數據。
您可以一次只比較一個維度 (例如日期、查詢等) 中的資料。如果您在其他群組維度中加入新的比較方式,那麼現有的比較方式將會遭到移除。舉例來說,如果您要比較本週和上週的點擊次數 (日期),那麼您新增美國和日本之間的比較範圍 (國家/地區) 後,日期範圍就會重設為預設值。

如果您在比較兩個群組時,發現某個值在其中一個群組中鮮少出現,但在另一個群組中並非如此,系統就會針對鮮少出現該資料值的群組,在相對應的資料列中顯示「~」符號,指出這個數字不適用。舉例來說,如果您要比較德國和泰國的查詢曝光次數,在「Deutsche Bundesbank」結果列中,德國部分會顯示曝光次數的數值,而泰國部分會顯示「~」(不適用)。這是因為泰國的曝光次數落在結果列末端。這個數字不一定是零,但是落在該群組清單的末端。不過,如果您是以少數值為篩選標準 (在這個範例中為「Deutsche Bundesbank」),系統就會在這兩個維度中顯示資料值。

關於資料

搜尋分析報表會針對個別資源獨立計算資料,這表示系統會分別計算下列網址的資料:

  • https://example.com/
  • http://example.com/
  • http://m.example.com/

不過,如果您使用網域資源,系統會將同一個網域的所有資料結合 (包含 http 和 https 網址)。

點擊次數、曝光次數和排名如何計算?

如要進一步瞭解點擊次數、曝光次數和排名的計算方式,請參閱這篇文章

資料不一致

您可能會在 Search Console 中看到一些資料不一致的情形。

圖表顯示的總數與表格顯示的總數有出入

如果圖表顯示的總數與表格顯示的總數有所差異,可能是出於下列原因:

圖表顯示的總數較高:

  • 表格最多只能顯示 1,000 列資料,因此部分資料列可能不會顯示。
  • 依網頁或查詢篩選時,「相符」和「不相符」的資料總數合計起來或許不會等於未經篩選的總數。舉例來說,將包含「老鼠」一詞的查詢數和不含「老鼠」一詞的查詢數相加,可能不會等於未套用篩選器的查詢總數,這是因為系統在計算時忽略了匿名查詢,且這些資料由於服務限制而無法完整顯示。
  • 按照查詢檢視資料時,表格會忽略匿名 (罕見) 搜尋結果。

表格顯示的總數較高:

  • 依網頁或搜尋外觀進行分組時,表格顯示的總數會根據網址分組,但圖表顯示的總數仍是以資源分組。因此,如果某個資源在單次搜尋中多次出現,在圖表中是計為 1 個搜尋結果,但在表格中會被視為多個搜尋結果。
  • 某些搜尋外觀是其他搜尋外觀的子類別。舉例來說,人才招聘是複合式搜尋結果的子類別,所以同一筆搜尋結果會同時計入這兩個資料列。

Search Console 和其他工具的資料有出入

Search Console 的資料與其他工具所顯示的資料並不一定完全相同,可能的原因如下:

  • 為保護使用者隱私權,「搜尋分析」不會顯示所有資料。 舉例來說,我們可能不會追蹤某些查詢次數很少的關鍵字,或是包含個人或機密資訊的查詢字詞。
  • 我們處理來源資料時 (例如刪除來自漫遊器的重複內容和瀏覽資料),偶爾會造成您的統計資料與其他來源列出的統計資料不同,不過差異應該不會太大。
  • 不同的工具對於「關鍵字」的定義不盡相同。 舉例來說,Google AdWords 的關鍵字工具會顯示 Google 在整個網路上搜尋某個關鍵字得到的結果總數,而「搜尋分析」只會顯示在 Google 搜尋結果中傳回您網頁的關鍵字搜尋。
  • 從我們開始統計資料到網站管理員真正看到資料的這段期間,可能會有一段時間差。 雖然我們會定期發佈資料,但資料的收集作業是持續進行的。不過,資料通常會在 2-3 天後上線。
  • 時區的影響。 成效報表會根據加州當地時間追蹤每天的資料,而系統也會根據加州當地時間標示每天的資料。如果您的其他系統使用不同的時區,您每天看到的數據就會有所差異。舉例來說,Google Analytics (分析) 顯示的是網站管理員的本地時區。
  • 有些工具 (例如 Google Analytics (分析)) 只會針對已在瀏覽器中啟用 JavaScript 的使用者進行流量追蹤。
  • 沒有下載的資料/下載的資料不是數值。下載報表資料時,報表中所有顯示為 ~ 或 - (無資料/非數字) 的值,在下載的資料中一律代表零。

比較資源匯總資料和網頁匯總資料

圖表中顯示的所有資料都是資源匯總資料;表格中顯示的所有資料也都是資源匯總資料,但依照網頁或搜尋外觀分組的情況除外。

依資源匯總資料時,提供這些資料的網站即包含搜尋結果連結目標的標準網址

  • 曝光次數:如果某個資源在依資源匯總時於搜尋結果網頁中出現兩次,會計為一次曝光;如果依網頁或搜尋外觀分組,則每個不重複網頁的曝光次數都會分開計算。
  • 點擊次數:如果某個資源在依資源分組時於搜尋結果中出現兩次,且使用者在點選其中一個連結後,又回來點選了另一個連結,由於最終的目的地是相同網站,因此視為一次點擊。
  • 排名:依資源匯總時,系統會將您的資源在搜尋結果中的最高排名列入報表;而在依網頁或搜尋外觀分組時,系統則會將網頁在搜尋結果中的最高排名列入報表。
  • 點閱率:由於計算方式不同,如果搜尋結果中出現同一網站的多個網頁,那麼依資源匯總時的點閱率和平均排名會較高。舉例來說,如果搜尋「適合孩子的有趣寵物」只會傳回下列三個結果,而這些結果都來自相同資源,且使用者以同樣的頻率點選這些結果:
Google 搜尋結果 依資源匯總的指標 依網頁匯總的指標
  1. www.petstore.example.com/monkeys
  2. www.petstore.example.com/ponies
  3. www.petstore.example.com/unicorns

點閱率:100%
這是網站點擊次數的加總統計數據

點閱率:33%
顯示 3 個網頁,每個網頁的點閱次數為 1/3

平均排名:1
網站在搜尋結果中的最高排名
平均排名:2
(1 + 2 + 3) / 3 = 2

 

已知問題

以下是 Search Console 中的已知問題,您不必向我們回報,但如果您發現了其他問題,或對任何功能有意見,歡迎使用報告導覽列中內建的「意見回饋」機制告訴我們。

  • 圖表目前只會顯示資源匯總資料,不會顯示網址匯總資料 (這是一項功能)!

 

這對您有幫助嗎?
我們應如何改進呢?

Performance report

New Search Console Beta experience

The Performance report shows important metrics about how your site performs in Google Search results: how often it comes up; average position in search results; click through rate; and any special features (such as rich results) associated with your results. Use this information to improve your site’s search performance, for example:

  • See how your search traffic changes over time, where it’s coming from, and what search queries are most likely to show your site.
  • Learn which queries are made on smartphones, and use this to improve your mobile targeting.
  • See which pages have the highest (and lowest) click-through rate from Google search results.

 

OPEN THE PERFORMANCE REPORT

How to read the report

The default view of the report shows the click count on your pages in Google Search results for the past three months.

  • Choose which metrics to see (clicks, impressions, and so on) by selecting one or more metrics to show in the report. See Metric types.
  • Change how data are grouped (by query, page, country, and so on) by selecting a grouping property tab. See Reading the table.
  • Filter your data by clicking "Add new" as described in Filtering your data.
  • Compare groups (for example, compare clicks from Brazil to clicks from China) by clicking the Compare button. You can compare values in only one grouping dimension (query, page, and so on). See Comparing your data.

 

Sharing the report

You can share issue details by clicking the Share button on the page. This link grants access only to the current page, plus any validation history pages for this issue, to anyone with the link. It does not grant access to other pages for your resource, or enable the shared user to perform any actions on your property or account. You can revoke the link at any time by disabling sharing for this page.

 

Reading the chart

The chart shows total clicks, total impressions, average CTR (click through rate), and average position for your entire site. All data on the chart is aggregated by site. See "Understand the metrics" for explanations of these metric types and how they are calculated.

Reading the table

The table shows data grouped by the selected tab. Click a grouping tab to change how your your data is grouped. Here more information about each group type:

Queries

Group results by query strings that users searched for on Google. Only searches that returned your site will be included. Very rare queries are not shown in these results to protect the privacy of the user making the query.

Common uses:

  • Review the Query list for expected keywords. If keywords that you expect to see don't appear, your site might not have enough useful content relevant to those keywords. If unexpected words (like "Viagra" or "casino") appear, it's likely that your site has been hacked.
  • Find queries with high impressions and low CTR. These queries can help identify where you can improve your  titles and snippets to satisfy your user’s interests.
Pages
Group results by individual page on your property that were returned by search results. Grouping by page will provide data by page rather than by site in the table only; the graph will still aggregate by site.
Countries

Group results by the country where the search came from; for example, Canada or Mexico.

Note that the country filter is limited to the top 20 countries driving traffic to your property. If you need to filter by a country not on the dropdown list, group your query by countries, then click the row of the country that you want, which will filter results by that country.

Devices
Group results by the device making the search; for example, desktop, tablet, or mobile. If you have separate mobile and desktop sites, for example m.example.com and www.example.com, the metrics for each site will be shown in a separate report for each property. If you don't have a separate mobile version of your website—for example, you dynamically detect the user agent and adjust the site layout accordingly in a single site—you must group by device to compare the clicks and impressions you get from mobile devices compared to clicks and impressions from desktop users.
Search Type

Filter or compare by search type, which is the type of Google search run by the user: web search (the default search results), image search, video search, and so on.

Grouping by search type is not supported because the results page layout is very different for different search types. For example, position 30 in image search results might be on the first result page, but position 30 in web search would be on page three.

Data is stored separately by search type

For a given URL, all click, impression, and position data is stored separately for each search type. So, for instance, an image can appear in both web results and image results, but the click, impression, and position data for that image are recorded separately for web searches and image searches.

As an example, given an image hosted on the page example.com/aboutme.html, you might have this data:

Search type Impressions Clicks Position
Image 20 10 23
Web 30 30   7

 

Search Appearance [Not always shown]
The Search Appearance option appears only if there are impressions for at least one search result feature listed here. Otherwise this grouping option will not be visible.


Group results by special search result feature: for example, results containing a job posting rich result, or results appearing in an AMP page.

Group or filter by the following search appearance features:

More information

Grouping or filtering by search appearance will aggregate data by page rather than by property in the table only; data in the graph will still be grouped by site.

The filter feature list only shows filter options for which you have impressions; if you have no AMP results, you will not see AMP in the filter list.

The same page can have multiple search appearance features in a single query, but only one impression is counted for each feature type. For example, a page can have both a rich result and a search result link in one query.

Filtered click counts

If you filter by search result feature, it is not guaranteed that all clicks for a given URL were on a link of that filtered feature type; however it is guaranteed that the user saw a link with this URL and feature in the same set of results where she clicked a link with that URL. This is because clicks are assigned to a URL, not to a (URL + feature).

For example: A user searches Google for "monkey pants" and the results show both a standard result link and an AMP link pointing to the same page on Larry's House of Monkey Pants. A click on either link will count toward the same URL, of course. The next day, Larry (owner, proprieter, and webmaster of Larry's Warehouse of Monkey Pants) opens Search Analytics for his site, groups results by page, filters by AMP feature, and sees that URL listed with 1 click, no matter whether the user clicked the AMP link or the standard link.

About the table data

  • The totals for each metric are shown on the page. Note that these totals might be larger than the totaled values in the table, because the report shows a maximum of 1,000 rows, but the total might include more data than that, and rare queries are omitted.
  • Very rare queries (queries submitted by only one or a few people) are omitted for user privacy reasons.

Why did the report table disappear?

In certain cases where the table does not add any additional information to the chart, the table is omitted from the report. For example, if you show click counts in a table grouped by country, and compare USA to UK, you would get a table like this:

Country USA clicks UK clicks
USA               1,000 0
UK 0           1,000

This table provides no information that the graph doesn't already show, so it is omitted.

Understand the metrics

The following metrics are available:

  • Clicks - Count of clicks from a Google search result that landed the user on your property. Learn more.
  • Impressions - How many links to your site a user saw on Google search results. Impressions are counted when the user visits that page of results, even if the result was not scrolled into view. However, if a user views only page 1 but the result is on page 2, the impression is not counted. The count is aggregated by site or page. Note that infinitely scrolling result pages (image search) the impression might require the item to be scrolled into view. Learn more.
  • CTR - Click-through rate: the click count divided by the impression count. If a row of data has no impressions, the CTR will be shown as a dash (-) because CTR would be division by zero.
  • Average position - The average position of the topmost result from your site. So, for example, if your site has three results at positions 2, 4, and 6, the position is reported as 2. If a second query returned results at positions 3, 5, and 9, your average position would be (2 + 3)/2 = 2.5. If a row of data has no impressions, the position will be shown as a dash (-), because the position doesn't exist. Learn more.
  • Position [Only in the table] - The position value in the table represents the average position in search results for the item in that specific row. For example, when grouping by query, the position is the average position for the given query in search results. See the average position above to learn how the value is calculated.

Filtering your data

You can filter data by multiple dimensions. For example, if you are currently grouping data by query, you can add the filters "country='USA' AND device='Mobile'".

To add a filter:

  • Click the dropdown under a dimension to specify a filter,
    OR
  • Click a row on the table below the chart to filter by the selected grouping value.

To clear a filter:

  • Click the appropriate filter dropdown under the dimension chooser and select Reset.
    OR
  • Click the X next to the filter.

The countries filter dropdown is limited to the top 20 countries driving traffic to your site; to filter by a country not on the list, group results by country and click the row for the country to filter by.

Comparing data trends

You can compare data between two exact values in any one grouping dimension, whether or not it is the currently selected grouping. For example, when grouped by Query you can compare clicks between this week and last week, or between clicks from USA and France. Comparing by page or search appearance can change the metric calculation for CTR, impressions, and clicks. When comparing values for a single metric, the results table will display a "difference" column to compare values in each row.

Some useful comparisons:

  • Sort by difference to see queries with significant change from the previous week.
  • Compare total searches on your mobile site to mobile searches on your desktop site. If you have both mobile and non-mobile versions of your site (m.example.com and www.example.com), and your sites are configured correctly, you should see many more mobile searches on your mobile site. Open a separate Search Analytics report for each site and compare searches from mobile devices on your desktop site (www.example.com) to all searches on your mobile site (m.example.com).
You can compare data in only one dimension at a time (Dates, Queries, and so on). Adding a new comparison in another grouping dimension will remove the existing comparison. For example, if you are comparing clicks for this week versus last week (Date), then add a comparison between US and Japan (Country), the date range will reset to the default.

If you compare two groups, and a value is very rare in one group but not rare in the other group, the rare group will show ~ for that row to indicate that the number is not available. For example, if you compare query impressions between Germany and Thailand, the result row for "Deutsche Bundesbank" will probably show an impression number for Germany, and a ~ (not available) for Thailand. This is because the impression count for Thailand is at the end of a very long tail of results. It does not necessarily mean zero, but it is far down the list for that group. However, if you filter by the rare value (in this example "Deutsche Bundesbank"), you should see data values for both dimensions.

About the data

Search analytics counts data independently for each unique property. That is, data are counted separately for each of the following destinations:

  • https://example.com
  • http://example.com
  • http://m.example.com

How are clicks, impressions, and position calculated?

Read details about how clicks, impressions, and position are counted and calculated here

Data discrepancies

Search Console data can differ slightly from the data displayed in other tools. Possible reasons for this include the following:

  • To protect user privacy, Search Analytics doesn't show all data. For example, we might not track some queries that are made a very small number of times or those that contain personal or sensitive information.
  • Some processing of our source data might cause these stats to differ from stats listed in other sources (for example, to eliminate duplicates and visits from robots). However, these changes should not be significant.
  • Some tools define "keywords" differently. For example, the Keywords tool in Google AdWords displays the total number of Google searches for that keyword across the web. Search Analytics shows only those keyword searches that returned your pages in Google search results.
  • There can be a lag between when the numbers are calculated and when they are visible to webmasters. Although data gets published in intervals, we continually collect it. Normally, however, collected data should be available in 2-3 days.
  • Time zones matter. Search Analytics tracks daily data according to Pacific Daylight Time (PDT). If your other systems use different time zones, your daily views may not match exactly. For example, Google Analytics shows time in the webmaster’s local time zone.
  • Some tools, such as Google Analytics, track traffic only from users who have enabled JavaScript in their browser.
  • Downloaded data unavailable/not a number values. If you download the data in the report, any values shown as ~ or - (not available/not a number) on the report will be zeros in the downloaded data.

Aggregating data by site vs by page

All data on the chart is aggregated by site. All data in the table is aggregated by site except when grouped by page or site appearance.

When aggregating data by site, the site credited with the data is the actual target of the search results link, which might not be the same as the displayed URL, as determined by Google's skip redirect behavior.

  • For impressions, if a site appears twice on a search results page when aggregating by site, it counts as a single impression; if grouping by page or search appearance, each unique page is counted separately.
  • For clicks, if a site appears twice in search results when grouped by site, and the user clicks on one link, backs up, then clicks the other link, it counts as a single click, since the final destination is the same site.
  • For position, when aggregating by site, the topmost position of your property in search results is reported; when grouped by page or search appearance, the topmost position of the page in search results is reported.
  • For click through rate, because of the different accounting methods, the click-through rate and average position are higher when aggregating by site if multiple pages from the same site appear in the search results. For example, imagine that search results for "fun pets for children" returns only the following three results, all from the same site, and that users click each of them with equal frequency:
Google Search Results Metrics Aggregated by Site Metrics Aggregated by Page
  1. www.petstore.example.com/monkeys
  2. www.petstore.example.com/ponies
  3. www.petstore.example.com/unicorns

Click-through rate: 100%
All clicks for a site are combined

Click-through rate: 33%
3 pages shown, 1/3 of clicks to each page

Average position: 1
Highest position from the site in the results
Average position: 2
(1 + 2 + 3) / 3 = 2

 

Known issues

The following are known issues in this beta version of the new Search Console. No need to report them to us, but we'd love your feedback on any other features or issues you spot. Use the Feedback mechanism built into the report in the navigation bar.

  • The graph now only shows data aggregated by site, never by URL. (This is a feature!)
  • The Search Console APIs don't yet support 16 months of data, but it will soon.
  • The mobile experience is still a work in progress.
  • Property sets are not yet supported.
  • This report does not yet show data for Android apps.

Was this article helpful?
How can we improve it?