网址检查工具

网址检查工具简介

网址检查工具可提供与特定网页被 Google 编入索引的版本有关的信息,其中包括 AMP 错误、结构化数据错误和索引编制问题。

常见任务:

  • 查看网址的当前索引状态:检索与网页的已被 Google 编入索引的版本相关的信息。查看 Google 可以或无法将网页编入索引的原因。
  • 检查实际网址:测试网站上的某个网页能否被编入索引。
  • 请求将网址编入索引:您可以请求 Google 抓取(或重新抓取)某个网址。
  • 查看网页的呈现版本:查看 Googlebot 看到的网页内容的屏幕截图。
  • 查看加载的资源列表、JavaScript 输出和其他信息:点击网页测试结果卡片上的“更多信息”链接,查看资源列表、网页代码以及更多信息。

 

打开网址检查工具

 

网址检查工具 - Google Search Console 培训

查看网址的当前索引状态

查看与资源中的网址相关的详细 Google 索引信息。

如需运行网址检查工具并查看网址的当前索引状态,请执行以下操作:

  1. 打开网址检查工具
  2. 输入要检查的完整网址。请注意以下几点:
    • 网址必须位于当前的资源中。当前资源以外的网址无法进行测试。如果要测试的网址位于其他资源中,并且该资源归您所有,您必须先切换资源,然后才能测试该网址。
    • AMP 网址与非 AMP 网址:您可以检查 AMP 网址和非 AMP 网址。此工具提供与网页的 AMP 版本和非 AMP 版本相关的信息。
    • 备用网页版本:如果网页有备用/重复版本,则报告还会提供规范版本的相关信息,但前提是规范版本位于您拥有的资源中。
  3. 阅读如何解读结果
  4. (可选)对实际网址运行索引编制便利性测试
  5. (可选)请求将网址编入索引

对于您拥有的每项资源,您每天可以请求检查的次数存在上限。

解读结果:编入索引的网址

重要提示:
  • 这不是一项实时测试。此工具旨在检查网页的最近被编入索引的版本,而不是网站上的实际版本。Google 会根据此工具中显示的信息评估 Google 搜索结果。自 Google 上次查看以来,您的网页可能已更改或不可用。如需测试网页的当前版本(即 Google 会看到的版本),请选择此页面上的测试实际版本按钮。
  • “此网址已显示在 Google 搜索结果中”实际上并不意味着您的网页已显示在搜索结果中。为了真正显示在搜索结果中,网页及其结构化数据必须符合质量和安全指南的要求。网址检查工具不会考虑手动操作、内容移除或临时屏蔽的网址。如需查看您的网址是否会显示在搜索结果中,请在 Google 上搜索您的网址;如果您的网址没有显示在搜索结果中,但此工具显示它已编入索引,请点击此处了解如何查明原因
  • “覆盖率”部分的“上次抓取时间”日期显示的是系统检索此处所显示信息的日期(如果系统已成功抓取网页)。

 

  1. 请阅读报告顶部的显示状态,查看该网址能否显示在 Google 搜索结果中:此网址已显示在 Google 搜索结果中表示此网址可以显示在搜索结果中,但不能保证一定会显示。“此网址未显示在 Google 搜索结果中”意味着该网址不会显示在搜索结果中。了解详情
  2. 展开覆盖率部分可查看更多详情:
    1. 发现:Google 如何找到相应网址。
    2. 抓取:Google 能否抓取相应网页、抓取该网页的时间或抓取该网址时遇到的任何障碍。如果状态不是此网址已显示在 Google 搜索结果中,则通常可以在此处找到原因。
    3. 编制索引:Google 为该网页选择的、由该网页指明的规范网址。
  3. 增强功能:如果您有结构化数据,并且该网页是 AMP 网页或具有关联的 AMP 网页,您会在“增强功能”部分看到相关详情。
  4. 如需查看请求的相关信息(包括 HTTP 请求和响应以及返回的 HTML),请点击查看被抓取的网页

 

检查结果包括以下可展开的部分:

在 Google 搜索结果中的显示情况

此卡片介绍网址是否能够显示在 Google 搜索结果中。可能出现的值如下所示:

此网址已显示在 Google 搜索结果中

  • 含义:网址已编入索引,可以显示在 Google 搜索结果中,并且未发现在网页中找到的各增强功能(结构化数据、关联的 AMP 网页等)存在任何问题。“此网址已显示在 Google 搜索结果中”实际上并不意味着您的网页会显示在搜索结果中。为了真正显示在搜索结果中,网页及其结构化数据必须符合质量和安全指南的要求。网址检查工具不会考虑手动操作、内容移除或临时屏蔽的网址。如需查看您的网址是否会显示在搜索结果中,请在 Google 上搜索您的网址;如果您的网址没有显示在搜索结果中,但此工具显示它已编入索引,请点击此处了解如何查明原因
  • 后续步骤:通常无需执行任何操作,不过您可以浏览索引涵盖范围或增强功能部分的详细信息,看看 Google 对您的网页有何了解。
如果使用“移除网址”工具暂时屏蔽了某个网址,则网址检查工具会将该网址报告为“此网址已显示在 Google 搜索结果中”,并显示索引涵盖范围状态“已抓取”。这并不意味着您的网址会显示在搜索结果中。如需查看您的网址是否仍然处于被屏蔽状态,请访问“移除网址”工具或在 Google 上搜索您的网址。

网址已显示在 Google 搜索结果中,但存在问题

  • 含义:网址已编入索引,并且可以显示在 Google 搜索结果中,但有些问题可能会导致它无法在搜索结果中采用您应用于网页的增强功能。这可能意味着关联的 AMP 网页存在问题,或网页上的富媒体搜索结果(例如食谱或招聘信息)的结构化数据存在格式错误。

  • 后续步骤:阅读报告中的警告或错误信息,并尝试解决所述的问题。

此网址未显示在 Google 搜索结果中:编入索引时出错了

此网址未显示在 Google 搜索结果中

  • 含义:此网址不会显示在 Google 搜索结果中,但我们认为这是您的本意。最常见的原因包括网页受密码保护、网页被 noindex 指令屏蔽了,或网页是规范网页的备用版本(备用版网页不会被编入索引)。
  • 后续步骤:阅读“索引涵盖范围”部分中的详细信息,详细了解相关原因。下面列举了几个可能的原因:
    • 如果“用户声明的规范网址”和“Google 选择的规范网址”的值不同,则表明此网址是一组相似的网页中的一个,并且 Google 已选择将同一网页的另一个版本编入索引。此时可能不需要执行任何操作,不过您可以考虑移除明确的规范网页标记,或考虑需要使用其他网页作为规范网页的原因。
    • 如果存在非预期的 noindex 或 robots.txt 屏蔽规则(参阅下方的索引涵盖范围详情部分),您必须移除相应屏蔽规则,以便 Google 访问您的网站。
    • 有关其他索引涵盖范围原因,请参阅包含值与可能的修正说明的列表

Google 无法识别此网址:如果显示的索引涵盖范围状态为“Google 无法识别此网址”,则表示 Google 之前未检测到相应网址,或发现相应网页是已正确标记但无法抓取的备用网页,因此尚未将其编入索引。如需解决,请检查实际版本、修正您可能会发现的所有问题并提交网页以供编入索引(提示:如果相应网页是已正确标记但无法抓取的备用网页,在您检查规范网页时,系统会列出这个网页,并显示存在抓取错误)。

此网址是备用版本

  • 含义:此网址是同一网页的一组备用版本中的一个。该群组中的网页包含 AMP/规范网页对或桌面版/移动版网页对。您可以在索引涵盖范围下的 Google 选择的规范网址值中查看编入索引的网址。
  • 后续步骤:通常无需执行任何操作,不过您可以检查 Google 选择的规范网址,确保其指向预期网页。
覆盖率

此部分将介绍网址的索引状态,以及此网址索引编入过程的详细信息。系统可根据索引涵盖范围状态提供以下信息:

发现

索引涵盖范围状态
对“在 Google 搜索结果中的显示情况”标签的进一步详细说明,解释了网址已显示在或未显示在 Google 搜索结果中的原因。此状态的值包括“成功”、“警告”、“失败”或“已排除”。请参阅包含可能的值与修正说明的列表,以及 Google 无法识别此网址
站点地图
任何指向相应网址的已知站点地图。注意:这仅包括使用站点地图报告提交的站点地图,或在相应网站的 robots.txt 文件中列出的站点地图。系统不会列出通过其他方式发现的站点地图。对于规模较大的网站或新网站,最好提供站点地图,以便 Google 知道要抓取哪些网页查看已知问题
引荐来源网页
Google 可能会用于发现此网址的网页。引荐来源网页可能会直接链接到此网址,也可能是链接到此网址的网页的祖父级或曾祖父级网页。如果此值不存在,并不表示没有引荐来源网页,只是说明网址检查工具可能暂时无法获取相应信息。如果您看到“目前未报告的其他来源或许能识别此网址”,说明 Google 是通过站点地图或引荐来源网页以外的其他方式发现的此网址,但此工具目前无法获取相应的引荐来源信息。
上次抓取时间
Google 上次抓取此网页的时间(您的当地时间)。此工具中显示的所有信息均源自上次抓取的版本。
是否允许抓取?
表明您的网站是允许 Google 抓取(访问)网页,还是通过 robots.txt 规则屏蔽了 Google。如果您并不想屏蔽 Google,应取消 robots.txt 屏蔽设置。请注意,这与允许编入索引不同,后者是由“是否允许编入索引?”的值提供的。
网页抓取
Google 能否从您的服务器中获取相应网页。如果不允许进行抓取,则此字段会始终显示失败。如果允许进行抓取,则网页抓取仍有可能因各种原因而失败。请参阅抓取失败的原因说明。“是否允许抓取”表明您是否想让网页可供访问;“网页抓取”则表示在允许抓取的情况下,Google 能否访问此网页。
是否允许编入索引?
您的网页是否明确禁止编入索引。如果禁止编入索引,系统会说明原因,并且相应网页不会显示在 Google 搜索结果中。重要提示:如果您的网页已被 robots.txt 屏蔽(参阅“是否允许抓取”),则“是否允许编入索引”将始终为“是”,因为 Google 无法看到 noindex 指令,所以也就无法遵从该指令。在这种情况下,您的网页可能会显示在搜索结果中。
用户声明的规范网址
您声明的规范网址(如果相应网页明确声明了规范网址)。您可以通过多种方式声明规范网址:<link rel="canonical"> 标记、HTTP 标头、站点地图或一些其他方法。如果您的网页是一组相似或重复网页中的其中一个,建议您明确声明规范网址。我们无法保证 Google 一定会选择此网址,但我们会考虑这一点。对于 AMP 网页,规范网址应该是非 AMP 版本(除非此网址自身即是规范 AMP 网址)。
Google 选择的规范网址

当 Google 在您的网站上发现相似或重复的网页时,Google 选择作为规范(权威)网址的网页。Google 可能会选择用户声明的规范网址,但有时 Google 可能会选择自己认为能更好地代表规范网址的其他网址。如果网页没有备用版本,则 Google 选择的规范网址便是被检查的网址。如果您此时发现了预期之外的网页,请考虑明确声明规范版本

规范网址并不一定是搜索结果中显示的网址:例如,如果某个网页既有桌面规范版本也有移动版本,那么 Google 很可能会根据当前所用设备显示相应的网址。

请注意,此值可能会比我们索引中的值晚几个小时更新。

如果相应网页不是规范网址,您可通过选择检查来检查 Google 选择的规范网址(前提是该网址必须位于您管理的资源中)。

增强选项(AMP、招聘信息等)

此部分会说明在上次将您的网址编入索引时,Google 在相应网址上检测到的所有搜索增强功能。如果网址无法编入索引,或未检测到任何增强选项,则此部分将为空。

此工具目前还无法将所有可能的增强选项全部显示出来。以下是此工具支持的增强选项:

在移动设备上的易用性

了解在移动设备上能否轻松浏览您的网页。并非所有网页都经过移动设备易用性测试。

可能有以下几种认定结果:

  • 网页不适合在移动设备上浏览:由于存在一些问题,网页在移动设备上无法达到理想效果。查看潜在错误的说明
  • 网页适合在移动设备上浏览:网页在移动设备上应该能够达到理想效果。更多详细信息。
  • 没有可用数据:由于某种原因,我们无法获取相应网页或测试该网页的移动设备适合性。请稍后重试。

点击认定结果行可详细了解此网址的移动设备易用性状况。

AMP

如果网页链接到了 AMP 版本,您便可以查看与此版本有关的信息,只需在报告中选择相应的行即可。您可以利用这些信息来查找特定于 AMP 的索引编入问题和其他问题,并对问题进行排查。

此处显示的详细信息适用于当前网页所引用的 AMP 版本;这些信息不适用于当前网页。

除了标准 AMP 错误之外,您还可能会看到与 Google 相关的 AMP 错误

如需查看网站中受特定问题影响的其他网页,请选择问题说明行,然后选择打开报告

使用网址检查工具作为 AMP 检查的网址网页可能会出现以下可能的状态:

  • AMP 网页有效/网络故事有效:AMP 网页有效且已编入索引。
  • AMP 网页无效/网络故事无效:AMP 网页中存在错误,导致系统无法将其编入索引。
  • AMP 网页未编入索引/网络故事未编入索引(已编入索引的版本)或 AMP 网页无法编入索引/网络故事无法编入索引(检查实际版本):网页已被阻止编入索引,通常是由 robots.txt 规则noindex 指令导致的。
  • AMP 网页有效且有警告/网络故事有效且有警告:AMP 网页可以被编入索引,但存在一些问题,可能会导致网页无法使用部分功能,或者使用的是已弃用并且将来可能会失效的标记或属性。
  • 不是 AMP 网页:检查的网页不是 AMP 网页。

各种富媒体搜索结果类型

您可以查看与在网页上发现的任何富媒体搜索结果类型(结构化数据)相关的信息,其中包括在相应网址中发现的有效项个数、各项的说明,以及与发现的任何警告或错误有关的详细信息。以下为支持的富媒体搜索结果类型:

这里不包含我的富媒体搜索结果!此工具目前尚不支持部分富媒体搜索结果类型。不受支持的类型可能会存在于网页中且处于有效状态,也可能会显示在搜索结果中,但不会显示在此工具中。

检查实际网址

您可以测试您的资源中的实际网址,看看它们是否能够被 Google 编入索引。这将对实际网页运行测试,以获取与已编入索引的网址类似的信息。当您想要对照当前编入索引的版本测试相应网页中的更改时,此方法就会非常有用。

测试实际网址以发现可能的索引编制错误:

  1. 检查已编入索引的网址注意:即使网页尚未编入索引,或未能成功编入索引,您也可以检查,但前提是用户不必输入任何登录信息就能通过互联网访问该网页。
  2. 点击索引结果页上的测试实际网址
  3. 参阅解读实际版本测试结果,了解您所看到的内容。
  4. 您可通过选择此页面上的 Google 索引测试实际版本,在索引版本测试结果和实际版本测试结果之间切换。
  5. 若想重新测试实际版本,请选择此页面上的 重新加载(重新加载)按钮。
  6. 若想查看网页的详细信息(包括屏幕截图和 HTTP 响应标头),请选择查看被抓取的网页

对于每项资源,您每天都可检查实际版本,但会受到每日检查次数上限的制约。

解读结果:测试实际版本

重要提示:
  • 这是一项实时测试。此工具会实时抓取并检查网址。实时测试中显示的信息可能不同于对已编入索引的网址进行测试时显示的信息,原因如下所述。
  • 实时测试不会检查相应网址在任何站点地图或任何引荐来源网页中是否存在。
  • 由于以下原因,实际网址中的可编入索引状态可能与已编入索引的网址上的索引涵盖范围状态不同:
    • 您更改或更正了实际网址中的内容,例如移除(或添加)noindex 标记或 robots.txt 屏蔽指令,并且这些更改还未编入索引。检查索引版本测试结果和实际版本测试结果的差异,或检查您网站上的网页版本记录,找出索引版本和实际版本之间的不同之处。
    • 实时测试仅支持索引版本报告中的部分索引状态。索引版本测试报告中的某些状态未经过测试,或在实际版本测试中没有意义,并且在实际版本测试中会有不同的报告结果。请参阅“可编入索引”部分中的详细信息,了解不支持的状态。

有效的测试结果是否意味着我的网页可编入索引?

不是。此测试仅能确认 Googlebot 可以访问您的网页以将其编入索引。即使您在实际版本测试中得到有效或警告的结果,您的网页仍然需要满足其他条件才能编入索引。例如:

  • 网页不受制于手动操作或法律问题。
  • 网页不能与另一个已编入索引的网页重复,它必须是唯一的或被选为一组类似网页的规范版本。
  • 网页必须有足够高的质量,以保证能够编入索引。

 

检查结果包括以下可展开的部分:

是否有可能编入 Google 索引?
顶部的卡片提供了对实际网址能否被编入索引的一般性评估。肯定的结果并不能保证相应网址会显示在搜索结果中。为了显示在搜索结果中,相应网页及其结构化数据必须符合质量和安全指南的要求。网址检查工具不会考虑手动操作、内容移除或临时屏蔽的网址

可能出现的值如下所示:

网址可编入 Google 索引

  • 含义:网址未被阻止,并且没有任何可检测到的错误会阻止网页被完整地编入索引。如果 Google 将该网址编入索引,则它可以显示在 Google 搜索结果中,前提是该网址符合质量和安全指南的要求,并且不存在手动操作、内容移除或临时阻止网址方面的限制。
  • 后续步骤:如果网页与编入索引的版本不同,您可以选择页面上的按钮来请求编入索引。或者,您也可以提交站点地图,或等待 Google 自行抓取相应网页。

网址可编入 Google 索引,但存在一些问题

  • 含义:网址可以编入 Google 索引,但有些问题可能会阻止它与您尝试实现的增强功能一起显示。这可能意味着关联的 AMP 网页存在问题,或网页上的富媒体搜索结果(例如食谱或招聘信息)的结构化数据存在格式错误。

  • 后续步骤:阅读报告中的警告或错误信息,并尝试解决所述的问题。

网址无法编入 Google 索引

  • 含义:由于存在严重的问题,网址无法显示在 Google 搜索结果中。
  • 后续步骤:阅读“可否编入索引”部分的详细信息,深入了解原因。

此网址是备用版本

  • 含义:网址不会被视为此网页的规范版本,因此未编入索引,但这不是错误。
  • 后续步骤:可能不会执行任何操作。Google 拥有此网页的规范网址,应将其编入索引。当前索引信息将在涵盖范围 > Google 选择的规范网址中显示规范网址。
可否编入索引

报告的这一部分会说明网页是否可被 Google 编入索引。不过,肯定的结果并不能保证该网页会显示在搜索结果中。为了显示在搜索结果中,该网页及其结构化数据还必须符合质量和安全指南的要求。网址检查工具不会考虑手动操作、内容移除或临时屏蔽的网址

如需关于各种资源的说明,请参阅索引版本中的资源说明

 

编入索引的测试结果与实际版本测试结果之间的差异

在索引版本测试报告中显示的所有“可否编入索引”值并非都能显示在实际版本测试报告中。下面列出了不支持的状态及其说明。

索引版本测试报告中的状态 为何未在实际版本测试报告中显示
提交的网址… 任何以“提交的网址”开头的状态都无法在实际版本测试报告中显示,因为仅当用户使用站点地图提交相应页面时才会显示这些状态,而站点地图信息不适用于实际版本测试。
  • 已提交,且已编入索引
  • 已编入索引,但未在站点地图中提交
系统会显示“网址可编入索引”的等效状态。
已编入索引,尽管遭到 robots.txt 屏蔽 短语“已编入索引”不适用于实际版本测试。如果相应网址被阻止,则系统将显示相应的错误,即“已被 robots.txt 阻止”。
已发现,目前未编入索引 不适用于实际版本测试。
已抓取,未编入索引 不适用于实际版本测试。

“重复网页”状态:

  • 备用网页(有适当的规范化标记)
  • 网址已作为备用版本编入索引
  • 重复网页(无规范标记)
  • Google 选择的规范网页与用户指定的不同
  • 网址已提交,但未被选为规范网址
Google 掌握的规范版本信息不能在实际版本测试中使用,Google 也不知道有任何重复网页。如果用户声明了规范化网页,则该信息将会显示。

查看呈现的网页

您可以查看所呈现网页的屏幕截图,该截图显示了 Googlebot 看到的网页样貌。这有助于确认该网页的所有元素是否均存在并按您的预期显示。如果与您的预期存在差异,则可能是由禁止 Googlebot 抓取的资源造成的。

屏幕截图仅适用于实际网址测试,而不适用于已编入索引的网址。网页必须可供访问才能生成屏幕截图。如果您的网页设有防火墙,您可以使用隧道向网址检查工具呈现该网页

如需查看呈现的网页,请执行以下操作:

  1. 检查您网站的首页
  2. 点击索引结果页上的测试实际网址
  3. 点击网页认定结果卡片上的查看被测试的网页,打开更多信息面板。如果此选项不可用,通常是因为无法访问该网页以进行实际版本测试。
  4. 转到屏幕截图标签页。

请求(重新)编入索引

您可以请求 Google 将已检查过的网址编入索引。编入索引可能需要长达 1-2 周的时间;您可以使用此工具查看进度。

要请求将网址编入索引,请执行以下操作:

  1. 检查网页网址
  2. 点击该网址的检查结果页上的请求编入索引。系统随即会快速检查该网页是否存在会直接影响索引编制的错误,如果该网页通过了这项检查,则会被提交到索引编制队列中。如果网页在实际版本测试中被视为不可编入索引,您便无法请求编入索引。

如需请求将许多新网页或更新过的网页编入索引,最好的选择是提交站点地图,并将更新过的网页标记为 <lastmod>

 

已知问题
  • 在少数情况下,我们不会为在站点地图中提交的网页生成站点地图报告。我们正在努力解决此问题。
该内容对您有帮助吗?
您有什么改进建议?

URL Inspection Tool

About the URL Inspection tool

The URL Inspection tool provides information about Google's indexed version of a specific page. Information includes AMP errors, structured data errors, and indexing issues.

You can also test the live URL in real time to detect possible indexing errors on the page.


Inspect an indexed URL

The URL must be in the current property.

To inspect an indexed URL in your property:

  1. Enter the complete URL in the search bar at the top of any page in Search Console. A few notes:
    • The URL must be in the current property. URLs outside the current property cannot be tested. If you own that other property, you must switch properties to test the URL.
    • AMP vs non-AMP URLs: You can inspect both AMP and non-AMP URLs. The tool provides information about the corresponding AMP or non-AMP version of the page.
    • Alternate page versions: If the page has alternate versions, for example if it uses hreflang to point to alternate language versions, or if you (or Google) decide that there are alternate/duplicate versions of the page, the tool also provides information about the canonical version, if it is in a property that you own.
  2. Read how to understand the results.

Understanding the results: Indexed URL

Important notes:
  • This is not a live test. This tool describes the most recently indexed version of a page, not the live version on the web. The information shown in the tool is used by Google to evaluate Search results. Your page may have changed or become unavailable since Google last saw it. To test the current version of the page as Google would see it, select the Live Test button on the page.
  • The "Last crawl" date under Index coverage, shows the date when the information shown here was retrieved (if the page was successfully crawled).
  • "URL is on Google" doesn't actually mean that your page is appearing in Search results. Actual appearance in Search results requires that the page and its structured data conform to quality and security guidelines. The URL Inspection tool doesn't take into account manual actions, content removals, or temporarily blocked URLs. To see if your URL is appearing, search for your URL on Google; if your URL is missing but this tool says it was indexed, here's how to find out why.

 

The inspection results include the following expandable sections:

Presence on Google

This card describes whether or not the URL can appear in Google Search results. The following values are possible:

URL is on Google

  • What it means: The URL has been indexed, can appear in Google Search results, and no problems were found with any enhancements found in the page (structured data, linked AMP pages, and so on).
  • What to do next: Typically nothing, although you can explore what Google knows about your page by navigating into the details of the index coverage or enhancement sections.
If an URL is temporarily blocked using the Remove URLs tool, the URL Inspection tool will report the URL as "URL is on Google," with Index coverage status "Crawled". This does not mean that your URL is appearing in Search results. To see if your URL is still blocked, visit the Remove URLs tool or search for your URL on Google.

URL is on Google, but has issues

  • What it means: The URL has been indexed and can appear in Google Search results, but there are some problems that might prevent it from appearing with the enhancements that you applied to the page. This might mean a problem with an associated AMP page, or malformed structured data for a rich result (such as a recipe or job posting) on the page.

  • What to do next: Read the warnings or errors information in the report and try to fix the problems described.

URL is not on Google: Indexing errors

  • What it means: There was at least one critical error that prevented the URL from being indexed, and it cannot appear in Google Search until those issues are fixed.
  • What to do next: Expand the Index coverage section to see details about the indexing attempt. See the list of index coverage errors and possible fix steps.

URL is not on Google

  • What it means: This URL won't appear in Google Search results, but we think that was your intention. Most common reasons include a password-protected page, a noindex directive, or that this is an alternate version of a canonical page (alternate version pages are not indexed).
  • What to do next: Read the details in the Index coverage section to learn more about the reason. A few possible reasons:
    • If the "User-declared canonical" and "Google-selected canonical" values are different, this means that this URL is one of a set of similar pages, and Google has chosen to index another version of the same page. There's probably no need to do anything here, though you might consider removing your explicit canonical tag, or considering why you need another page as canonical.
    • If there is a noindex or robots.txt blockage that you didn't expect (see the Index coverage details section below), you must remove that blockage to allow Google to access your site.
    • For other index coverage reasons, read the list of values and possible fix instructions.

URL is unknown to Google: If the index coverage status "URL is unknown to Google" appears, it means that Google hasn't indexed the URL either because it hasn't seen the URL before, or because it has found it as a properly marked alternate page, but it can't be crawled. To fix, run a live inspection, fix any issues you might see, and submit the page for indexing. (Hint: if this is a properly marked but uncrawlable alternate page, if you inspect the canonical page you will see this page listed, with a crawl error.

URL is an alt version

  • What it means: This URL is one of a set of alternate versions of the same page. Pages in this group include AMP/canonical pairs or desktop version/mobile version page pairs. You can see the indexed URL in the Google-selected canonical value under Index coverage.
  • What to do: Generally there is nothing to do, though you might check the Google-selected canonical to make sure it is an expected page.
Index coverage

This section describes the index status of the URL and the details of the indexing process for this URL. The following information can be provided, depending on the index coverage status:

Index coverage status
A more detailed description of the Presence on Google label, explaining why the URL is or isn't on Google. This is a success, warning, failure, or excluded value. See the list of values and possible fix instructions. See URL is unknown to Google.
Sitemaps
Any known sitemaps that point to this URL. Note: This includes only sitemaps submitted using the Sitemaps report or listed in the robots.txt for this site. Sitemaps discovered through other means won't be listed. For larger or new sites, it is a good practice to provide a sitemap to help Google know which pages to crawl.
Referring page
A page that Google possibly used to discover this URL. The referring page might directly link to this URL, or it might be a grandparent or great-grandparent of a page that links to this URL. If this value is absent it doesn't mean that no referring page exists, just that this information might not be available to the URL Inspection tool at this time. If you see "URL might be known from other sources that are currently not reported", it means that Google found this URL through some means other than a sitemap or referring page, but the referring information currently isn't available to this tool.
Last crawl
The last time this page was crawled by Google, in your local time. All information shown in this tool is derived from this last crawled version.
Crawl allowed?
Indicates whether your page allowed Google to crawl (visit) the page or blocked it with a robot.txt rule. If you did not intend to block Google, you should remove the robots.txt block. Note that this is not the same as allowing indexing, which is given by the "Indexing allowed?" value.
Page fetch
Whether or not Google could actually get the page from your server. If crawling is not allowed, this field will always show a failure. If crawling is allowed, page fetch might still fail for various reasons. See explanations of fetch failures. Crawl allowed is an indication of whether you want the page to be reachable; page fetch is whether Google could actually reach it, if allowed.
Indexing allowed?
Whether or not your page explicitly disallowed indexing. If indexing is disallowed, the reason is explained, and the page won't appear in Google Search results. IMPORTANT If your page is blocked by robots.txt (see "Crawl allowed"), then "Indexing allowed" will always be "Yes" because Google can't see and respect the noindex directive. In that case, your page might appear in Search results.
User-declared canonical
Your declared canonical URL, if the page explicitly declares one. You can declare a canonical URL in several ways: a <link rel="canonical"> tag, an HTTP header, a sitemap, or a few other methods. If your page is one of a set of similar or duplicate pages, we recommend explicitly declaring the canonical URL. For AMP pages, this should be the non-AMP version (unless it is a self-canonical AMP).
Google-selected canonical

The page that Google selected as the canonical (authoritative) URL, when it found similar or duplicate pages on your site. If you declared a canonical URL, Google might select the same URL, but sometimes Google might choose another URL that it considers a better canonical example. You can't guarantee the Google-selected canonical for a URL, but you can suggest one. If the page has no alternate versions, the Google-selected canonical is the inspected URL. If you find an unexpected page here, consider explicitly declaring a canonical version. This will only be shown if you have permissions on the property that the canonical belongs to.

The canonical URL is not always the one shown in Search results: for example, if a page has a desktop canonical and a mobile version, mobile searches will probably show the mobile page URL.

Note that this value can be a few hours behind the value in our index.

If the page is not the canonical URL, you can inspect the Google-selected canonical URL by selecting Inspect. If the canonical URL is not in a property that you can view, this information will not be shown.

Enhancements (AMP, Jobs, and more)

This section describes any Search enhancements detected by Google on your URL the last time it was indexed. If the URL could not be indexed, or no enhancements were detected, this section will be empty.

This tool does not yet show all possible enhancements. Here are the enhancements supported by this tool:

Mobile Usability

Discover whether your page will be easily viewed on a mobile device.

The following verdicts are possible:

  • Page is not mobile friendly: The page won't work well on a mobile device because of a few issues.
  • Page is mobile friendly: The page should probably work well on a mobile device. More details.
  • No data available: For some reason we couldn't retrieve the page or test its mobile-friendliness. Please wait a bit and try again.

You can see a description of the possible errors here.

To see which other pages on your site are affected by an issue, select the issue row, then select Open Report.

AMP

If the page has a linked AMP version, you can see information about it by selecting the row in the report. Use this information to help find and troubleshoot AMP-specific indexing and other issues.

Details shown here apply to the AMP version referenced by the current page; they do not apply to the current page.

In addition to standard AMP errors, you might see these Google-specific AMP errors.

To see other pages on your site affected by a specific issue, select the issue description row, then select Open Report.

Various rich result types

You can see information about any rich result types (structured data) found on the page. Information includes the number of valid items found on the URL, descriptions of each item, and details about any warnings or errors found. The following rich result types are supported: 

My rich result isn't here! Not all rich result types are supported by the tool yet. Unsupported types might be present and valid on the page, and can appear in Search results, but won't appear in the tool. To see index information about additional rich result types, use the Rich Cards report (more comprehensive) or the Structured Data report (most comprehensive).

Inspect a live URL

You can test a live URL in your property to see whether it is capable of being indexed by Google. This will run a test against the live page for information similar to the indexed URL. It is useful when you want to test changes in the page against the currently indexed version of the page.

To test a live URL for potential indexing errors:

  1. Enter the URL in the search bar to inspect the indexed page. If the page hasn't been indexed yet, that's fine.

  2. Select Live Test to test the live version of the page. See understanding the live test results.
  3. You can toggle between the live test results and the indexed results by selecting Google Index or Live Test on the page.
  4. To rerun a live test, select the Reload (reload) button on the page, or start a new inspection.

Understanding the results: Live test

Important notes:
  • This is a live test. This tool fetches and examines the URL in real time. The information shown in the live test can differ from the indexed URL for reasons described below.
  • The live test does not check for the presence of the URL in any sitemaps or any referring pages.
  • The Indexable status in the live URL can be different from the Index coverage status on the indexed URL for these reasons:
    • You have changed or fixed something in the live URL, such as removing (or adding) a noindex tag or a robots.txt block, and the changes were not yet indexed. Examine the difference in the Indexed and Live tests, or check the page version history on your site to discover the differences between the indexed version and the live version.
    • The live test does not support all the index states in the indexed version report. Some states in the indexed report aren't tested or don't make sense in a live test, and will be reported differently in the live test. See the indexable section details to learn the unsupported states.

Does a valid result mean that my page will be indexed?

No. This test only confirms that Googlebot can access your page for indexing. Even if you get a valid or warning verdict in the live test, your page must still fulfill other conditions in order to be indexed. For instance:

  • The page cannot be subject to any manual actions or legal issues.
  • The page cannot be a duplicate of another indexed page; it must either be unique, or selected as the canonical version of a set of similar pages.
  • The page quality must be high enough to warrant indexing.

 

The inspection results include the following expandable sections:

Potentially availability on Google?
The top card gives a general evaluation of whether or not the live URL has the ability to be indexed. A positive result is not a guarantee that it will appear in Search results. Search results requires that the page and its structured data conform to quality and security guidelines. The URL Inspection tool doesn't take into account manual actions, content removals, or temporarily blocked URLs.

The following values are possible:

URL is available to Google

  • What it means: The URL isn't blocked and doesn't have any detectable errors to prevent full indexing. If Google indexes the URL it can appear in Google Search results, provided that it conforms to quality and security guidelines, and is not subject to manual actions, content removals, or temporarily blocked URLs.
  • What to do next: If the page is different from the indexed version, you can request indexing by selecting the button on the page. Alternatively you could submit a sitemap, or wait for it to be crawled naturally.

URL is available to Google, but has issues

  • What it means: The URL can be indexed by Google, but there are some problems that might prevent it from appearing with the enhancements that you tried to implement. This might mean a problem with an associated AMP page, or malformed structured data for a rich result (such as a recipe or job posting) on the page.

  • What to do next: Read the warnings or errors information in the report and try to fix the problems described.

URL is not available to Google

  • What it means: This URL can't appear in Google Search results due to a critical issue.
  • What to do next: Read the details in the Availability section to learn more about the reason.
Availability

This section of the report describes whether the page can be indexed by Google. However, a positive result is no guarantee that it will appear in search results. Appearance in Search results additionally requires that the page and its structured data conform to quality and security guidelines. The URL Inspection tool doesn't take into account manual actions, content removals, or temporarily blocked URLs.

For an explanation of the various properties, see the property descriptions in the indexed version.

 

Differences between indexed test and live test results

Not all availability values shown in the indexed report are possible in the live report. Here is a list of unsupported states with explanations.

Indexed report status Why not shown in live test
Submitted URL .... Any status that starts with "Submitted URL" cannot be shown in a live test, as these states are only shown when the user submitted the page using a sitemap, and sitemap information is not available in a live test.
  • Submitted and indexed
  • Indexed, not submitted in sitemap
The equivalent status "URL can be indexed" is shown.
Indexed, though blocked by robots.txt The phrase "Indexed" is not applicable in a live test. If blocked, the corresponding error "Blocked by robots.txt" will be shown.
Discovered, currently not indexed Not applicable to a live test.
Crawled, not indexed Not applicable to a live test.

"Duplicate page" statuses:

  • Alternate page with proper canonical tag
  • URL indexed as an alt version
  • Duplicate page without canonical tag
  • Google chose different canonical than user
  • Submitted URL not selected as canonical
Google's canonical information is not available in a live test, nor is any knowledge of duplicate pages. If the user declares a canonical page, that information is available.

Request (re)indexing

You can request that an inspected URL be crawled by Google. Indexing can take up to a week or two; you can check the progress using this tool.

To request indexing, select Request indexing on the report. If the page passes a quick check to test for immediate indexing errors, it will be submitted to the indexing queue.

If the page is considered to be non-indexable in the live test, you cannot request indexing.

Was this article helpful?
How can we improve it?