Monitor your ads and keywords

If you want to succeed with Google Ads, you'll need to regularly review and refine your account's performance. In particular, you'll want to monitor the status and progress of both your ads and their keywords.

Tip: Keep in mind that the performance of your ads and keywords can fluctuate. Web traffic varies from day to day, and this normal fluctuation may affect the performance of your campaign. In addition, current events can have the potential to dramatically influence the number of impressions and clicks you receive.

View your ad performance

  1. In your Google Ads account, go to the page menu on the left and click Ads & assets.
  2. Click Ads from the dropdown menu.

On the “Ads” page, you can review the following details about your ad performance:

  • Status: Shows the eligibility and approval status of your ads. For example, an ad with an “Eligible” status complies with Google Ads policies and may be shown to all audiences. Learn What your ad statuses mean.
  • CTR (Clickthrough rate): Shows how often customers click your ad after it’s served to them. A high CTR indicates that customers find your ads helpful. Generally, a CTR under 1% on the Search Network indicates that your ads aren’t targeted to a relevant audience. Learn how to Write successful text ads.
  • Avg. CPC (cost-per-click): Shows the average cost each time a potential customer clicks on your ad. Google divides the total cost of all of your clicks by the number of clicks to determine your Avg. CPC. For example, if your ad receives 2 clicks, one that costs $0.20 USD and one that costs $0.40 USD, your Avg. CPC is $0.30 USD.

View your keyword performance

  1. In your Google Ads account, go to the page menu on the left and click Keywords.
  2. Select the appropriate keyword option from the dropdown menu.
    • You can choose from Search keywords, Negative keywords, Search terms, Local competitive search terms, or Auction insights.

On the “Keywords” page, you can review the following details about your keyword performance:

  • Status: Shows the eligibility and approval status of your keywords. For example, a keyword with an “Eligible” status complies with Google Ads policies and may trigger ads. You can hover over each keyword’s status to learn about performance details like Quality Score.
  • CTR (Clickthrough rate): Shows how often customers click your ad after it’s served to them. A high CTR indicates that customers find your ads helpful. Generally, a CTR under 1% on the Search Network indicates that your keywords can be improved. You can remove or refine keywords with a low CTR and add more specific or targeted keywords in Google Ads.
  • Quality Score: Shows how your ad quality compares to other advertisers. Quality Scores are measured on a scale from 1–10 and based on your Expected CTR, Ad relevance, and Landing page experience.
    • Note: The Quality Score column is disabled in new accounts. To view these metrics, click the columns icon A picture of the Google Ads columns icon on the “Keywords” page, then select Modify columns. In the “Attributes settings”, click Quality Score, then click Apply. Learn more About Quality Score.

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