Starting September 1, 2021, classic Sites will not be viewable by others. Learn how to convert to new Sites today.

What will happen if I don’t convert my classic site to a new site

Important: If you use a Google Account through school or work, learn more about your transition timeline.

Starting September 1, 2021, classic Sites will no longer be viewable by anyone. If you want your websites to continue to be viewable by others, you must convert and publish your classic Sites to the new Google Sites experience before September 1, 2021.

If you take no action, starting September 1, 2021, your classic Sites will automatically be:

  • Downloaded as a Takeout archive and saved to your Google Drive.
  • Replaced with a draft in the new Google Sites experience for you to review and publish.
  • Moved to “Deleted Sites” in classic Sites and permanently deleted after 30 days.

Your site will remain accessible (but not editable) until we begin the automatic migration process for your site, which may be anytime after September 1, 2021. We expect it will take up to 90 days to complete the automatic migration for all remaining classic sites.

Tip: The latest version of your classic site will be automatically converted to a new site, even if you previously converted your classic site. During an automatic migration, you will not be able to convert your classic site, delete your classic site, or cancel an in-progress conversion of your classic site. Any changes you make to your classic Site’s sharing permissions after September 1 may not be factored into automigration.

What will happen after automatic migration

Your classic site will be converted to a draft new site shared by all owners and editors of the classic site. Your draft site will be unpublished by default, but you can publish it when you are ready so other site viewers can view it. Your classic site will also be archived as a Takeout export, which will be downloaded to each site owner’s Google Drive. Then, your classic site will be deleted:

  • You’ll need to publish the new site after it is converted to make it accessible to site viewers.
  • If your classic site has a custom domain, it will transfer to the new site. But, the new site won’t resolve to the custom domain until you publish it.
  • The archived version of your classic site will be a Takeout export downloaded to each site owner’s Google Drive. The exported site won’t count toward Google account storage limits. If one owner deletes their version of the export, other owners’ versions will remain unchanged.
  • The original classic site will appear in “Deleted Sites” on the classic Sites homepage. It will indicate that it was deleted by Google. You’ll be able to permanently delete your classic site. If you do not permanently delete it before 30 days, your classic site will be permanently deleted automatically.

Who will own the converted new site draft

While a classic site could have multiple owners, new sites always have one owner. Only some site owners may be eligible to become owners. In some cases, no owner may be eligible.

If classic sites are converted in bulk

If you initiate the conversion of multiple classic Sites to new Sites, you’ll become the owner of the converted sites.

If a classic site has multiple owners

The owner who most recently edited the classic site will become the sole owner of the new site, if eligible. All other owners of the classic site will become editors of the new site. All editors of the classic site will remain editors of the new site.

If a classic site is owned only by a group

Before September 1, 2021, make sure you add at least one individual as an owner. This will ensure your site is converted or archived before being deleted. A classic site owned only by a group is not eligible to be converted or archived.

If a classic site is owned only by an account that is disabled

Before September 1, 2021, make sure you add at least one owner who has an active account. This will ensure your site is converted before being deleted. A classic site owned only by an account that's disabled will not be converted to new Sites, but will be archived in the owner’s disabled account before being deleted.

If a classic site is managed by a Google Workspace domain or user

If a classic site belongs to a Google Workspace domain, then only an owner with an account belonging to the Google Workspace domain is eligible to become the owner of the new site and to receive the archive of the classic site.

If there is at least one owner with an account belonging to the Google Workspace domain, any other owner of the classic site will become an editor of the new site, but will not receive a Takeout export.

Tip: You can check if your site is managed by a Google Workspace account by checking its Sites URL. If the URL includes a domain name after “sites.google.com,” then it is a Google Workspace site. Examples of Google Workspace sites would be sites.google.com/my-domain.com/my-site and sites.google.com/a/my-domain.com/my-site, where the site is managed by my-domain.com.

Was this helpful?
How can we improve it?
Search
Clear search
Close search
Google apps
Main menu
Search Help Center
true
70
false