Stop sharing an album, commenting, & other sharing settings

After you share photos, videos, or albums in Google Photos, you can change who can see them at any time. You’ll only be able to do these if you own the album.

Stop sharing an album

You’ll prevent everyone from seeing your album. Comments and photos that have been added by other people will be removed.

  1. On your Android phone or tablet, open the Google Photos app Photos.
  2. Tap Albums.
  3. Open an album that you created.
  4. In the top right, select More More.
  5. Select Sharing options.
  6. Next to "Share," turn the switch off.

Note: If the person you shared with downloaded or copied photos or videos you shared, deleting your shared link will not delete those downloads or copies.

Stop people from adding photos to an album

When you create a shared album, anyone who has the link will automatically be able to join and add to your album. Their profile photo will appear at the top. You can change this setting and stop people from adding photos to your album.

If you turn this setting off, you’ll still see photos that other people added, unless you remove them.

  1. On your Android phone or tablet, open the Google Photos app Photos.
  2. Tap Sharing.
  3. Open a shared album that you created.
  4. In the top right, select More More.
  5. Select Sharing options.
  6. Next to "Collaborate," turn the switch off. (If you don’t see this, turn on "Share" first.)

Note: You can't stop individual people from adding items, but you can stop everyone from adding items.

Manage your likes and comments

Turn commenting and likes off

If you turn commenting off, people will not be able to like your photos as well. Existing likes and comments on your album will still show unless you delete them.

  1. On your Android phone or tablet, open the Google Photos app Photos.
  2. Tap Sharing.
  3. Open an album that you created.
  4. In the top right, select More More.
  5. Select Sharing options.
  6. Next to "Comment and likes," turn the switch off.

See all comments

To see or delete all of the comments and likes that you've made, go to the activity log.

Leave an album

When you leave an album, your photos and comments will be removed. Your face won’t appear in the album and you cannot be re-invited to the album.

  1. On your Android phone or tablet, open the Google Photos app Photos.
  2. Tap Albums.
  3. Open an album.
  4. Tap More More
  5. Select Sharing options.
  6. Tap Leave album.

Block someone on Google Photos

Learn how to block someone on Google Photos.

Share your photos

Brenna is a Google Photos expert and wrote this page. Help her improve it by leaving feedback below.

Was this article helpful?
How can we improve it?