Understand locations and edit them

Your photo may have a location if:

  • Your device saves your location.
  • You added a location.
  • Google Photos might estimate a location using information such as your Google Location History, which is stored in your Google Account, or landmarks detected in your photo such as the Eiffel Tower.

Add or edit a location

Currently, you can’t add or edit a location on your Android phone, but you can do it on your desktop. At the top, tap Computer.

Share a photo with a location

These situations will only happen if you don’t stop people from seeing the location of your photos. Learn how to change your settings below.

  • If you add a location to a photo, then shared it to someone on Google Photos, you will also share the location.
  • If you share a photo with a location that was estimated by Google Photos, the location will not be shared.
  • If you changed a location that was estimated by your device, and then shared that photo on Google Photos, it will show the edited location.
  • If you changed a location that was saved by your camera’s GPS, and then shared that photo to other apps or downloaded it, it may show the original location saved by your camera’s GPS.

Remove a location from a photo

You can remove locations that were estimated by Google Photos.

  1.  On your Android phone or tablet, open the Google Photos app Photos.
  2. Open a photo or video.
  3. Next to the location, click More and then Info.
  4. Select 'No location'.

 Stop people from seeing the location of your photos

When you share a photo using a link, the location of your photo may be shared if you added it or if it was estimated by your device. 

  1. On your Android phone or tablet, open the Google Photos app Photos.
  2. Tap Menu Menu and then Settings and then Remove geolocation. Anything that you share using a link won’t have a location.

Note:

  • If you share a photo or video in a different way, for example, downloading and emailing it to someone, it may still have the location.
  • If you’ve already shared the photo or video using a link before you changed this setting, it will still show the location.

The location may still show if you:

  • Already shared the photo, video or album with a link before you changed your settings.
  • Share a photo or video differently, like downloading and emailing it to someone. The original location saved by your device will then show without any edits that you may have made in Google Photos. 
Was this helpful?
How can we improve it?