You can hide or delete the history of a direct message conversation.
- Hide conversation—Removes your copy of a conversation from your Hangouts Chat view. It doesn't remove the conversation from other participants views.
- Delete conversation—Permanently deletes your copy of a conversation's history. It doesn't delete the conversation from other participants history.
Direct message conversations you delete in Hangouts Chat are also deleted in classic Hangouts, and the other way around. Conversations you previously deleted in classic Hangouts, before conversations could be deleted in Chat, are not deleted in Chat.
Hide a direct message conversation
You can hide a direct message conversation from your Chat view, including group conversations with 2 or more people.
- Tap the person's name or group.
- At the top, tap Down arrow Hide conversation.
If you hide a chat and then chat with that person or group again, your chat history reappears (if it's turned on).
Delete a direct message conversation
You can delete all your history of a conversation you had with someone. You can't delete your history for group conversations with 2 or more people.
- Tap the person's name.
- At the top, tap Down arrow Delete conversation.
- At the confirmation message, tap Delete.
To delete only a single message you sent, learn how to delete a message.