Search
Clear search
Close search
Google apps
Main menu

Average cost-per-click (Avg. CPC): Definition

The average amount that you've been charged for a click on your ad. Average cost-per-click (avg. CPC) is calculated by dividing the total cost of your clicks by the total number of clicks.

  • Your average CPC is based on your actual cost-per-click (actual CPC), which is the actual amount you're charged for a click on your ad. Note that your average CPC might be different than your maximum cost-per-click (max. CPC), which is the highest amount that you're willing to pay for a click.
  • Here's an example of how to calculate your average CPC. Let's say your ad gets two clicks, one costing $0.20 and one costing $0.40, for a total cost is $0.60. You'd divide $0.60 (your total cost) by 2 (your total number of clicks) to get an average CPC of $0.30.
  • You can find your average CPC amounts in the "Avg. CPC" column on your Campaigns tab.
  • Just getting started and want to get an idea of the average amount you might be charged for a click? You can use Keyword Planner to get estimated average CPC amounts for your Search Network campaigns.
Was this article helpful?
How can we improve it?
Sign in to AdWords

Get account-specific help and tips by signing in with your AdWords account email address, or learn how to get started with AdWords.