Delete or hide your YouTube channel

You can choose to temporarily hide content on your channel or permanently delete your channel.

Note that hiding or deleting a YouTube channel will permanently delete all Community posts, comments and replies.

How to hide or delete your YouTube channel

Hide your channel temporarily 

You can hide content from your YouTube channel and choose to re-enable it later. When you hide content, your channel name, videos, likes, subscriptions and subscribers will be made private.

All your comments and replies will be permanently deleted. Your account data on other Google properties will not be removed.

Hide your channel or your channel's content:

  1. Sign in to YouTube Studio.
  2. From the left-hand menu, select Settings .
  3. Select Channel and then Advanced Settings.
  4. At the bottom, select Remove YouTube content. Note: This will take you to a page where you can delete or hide your channel. You may be asked to enter your sign-in details.
  5. Select I want to hide my content.
  6. Select the boxes to confirm what will be hidden on your channel.
  7. Select Hide my channel.

If you want to make your content viewable to others, or if you want to upload, comment or use playlists, you can re-enable the channel.

Delete your channel permanently

Closing your YouTube channel will permanently delete your content, including videos, comments, messages, playlists and history. Note that you currently can't delete a channel on mobile devices.

Follow these steps to delete your YouTube channel:

  1. Sign in to YouTube Studio.
  2. From the left-hand menu, select Settings .
  3. Select Channel and then Advanced Settings.
  4. At the bottom, select Remove YouTube Content. If prompted, enter your sign-in details.
  5. Select I want to permanently delete my content.
  6. Select the boxes to confirm that you want to delete your channel.
  7. Select Delete my content.

The update may take some time, so you might continue to see thumbnails of your videos on the site for a short time.

Note: These steps will only delete your YouTube channel, not your Google Account that you use to sign in with. Learn how to delete your entire Google Account.

After you delete a channel, the channel URL and channel name will no longer be visible or searchable in YouTube Analytics. Data associated with the channel, such as watch time, will still be part of aggregate reports but will not be attributed to the deleted channel.

Was this helpful?
How can we improve it?