Owners can remove a property from their own list, or from the list of any non-owner.
Users can remove a property from their own list.
Removing a property has the following effects:
- You will no longer receive notifications for the removed property.
- If other verified property owners remain, the only effect is to remove the property from your list; other users will not be affected.
- You will not be able to see any information about the property or access the property settings.
- Your message history for the property will be retained.
- If you are the last verified owner of a property, all users or delegated owners of the property will lose access to the property in Search Console.
Remove a property from your own list
You can either mute or permanently remove a property from your account. Both actions will have the effects listed at the top of this page.
To mute a property (owners or users)
If you mute a property, you can re-add the property yourself, and verification will automatically succeed at your previous access level (as long as at least one verified owner remains for the property).
- To mute a property, open the property settings page of that property and click Remove property.
To permanently remove a property (owners only)
Permanent removal is an option only if you are a verified owner. If you permanently remove a property, you will need to re-verify ownership (or be added by someone else) if you want access to the property again.
- Remove the access token you used to verify ownership. So, for example, if you used HTML tag verification, you must remove your tag from the site homepage; if you used domain verification, you must remove your TXT verification entry from the domain host. Be sure to remove only your own token; removing someone else's token will remove their access.
- In the Settings page, click Remove property.
Remove a property from someone else's account
Removing a property from someone else's account has the following rules and effects:
- A verified owner can remove access for any delegated owner or user.
- A delegated owner can remove access for any non-owner.
- Removing a property from someone else's account deletes their access to the property.
- In order to regain access, the removed user must be re-granted access by an owner, or else verify themselves as described in Verification.
- The removed user's verification history for the property will be deleted after 18 months.
To remove a property from someone else's account:
Re-add a removed property
If your property was only muted, you can re-add it to your list without verification (as long as the property still has at least one verified owner).
If you were a verified owner and you permanently removed it, you must add a property in the normal manner.