“移动设备易用性”报告

“移动设备易用性”报告会显示您资源上有哪些网页在移动设备上查看时存在易用性问题。

顶级视图会显示移动设备易用性问题数量超出阈值水平的所有网页。点击某个具体问题可查看问题详情,包括受此问题影响的网页的示例列表、与如何修正此问题有关的信息,以及将修正情况告知 Google 的流程。

打开“移动设备易用性”报告

摘要网页

该图表会根据您的选择显示处于错误和/或有效状态的网页数。展示次数复选框会显示您资源的网页在移动设备上的展示次数。

报告看起来有所不同了?
您可能会发现我们的一些报告发生了变化。在某些情况下,这意味着将所有项由三个类别(有效警告无效)重新划分为两个类别(例如有效无效)。这可能还意味着,报告着陆页上的表格现在仅显示无效的项。如果您的报告看起来与上次使用时差异巨大,可以在此处了解具体变化

 

数据简介

表格可显示最多 1000 行数据。部分受影响的网页可能因以下原因而无法显示:受影响的网页数超过 1000 个、我们没有检测到相应问题、该问题是最新出现的问题、该问题发生在超过易用性得分阈值的网页上。

报告中会显示以下信息:

  • 状态:一个网页具有两种可能的状态:
    • 不易于浏览:网页不适合在移动设备上浏览
    • 易于浏览:网页适合在移动设备上浏览。
  • 网页数:包含此问题且处于“错误”状态的网页数。
网页状态的相关详情

Google 会根据内部移动设备易用性得分将网页标记为有效或错误状态。该得分根据问题的数量及其相对严重程度计算而来。

  • 不易于浏览表示网页低于最低移动设备易用性水平。如果某个网页处于“错误”状态,该网页会列在对其有影响的每个移动设备易用性问题的详情页面中。
  • 易于浏览状态表示该网页符合最低移动设备易用性水平,虽然可能仍存在一些移动设备易用性问题,这些问题不会在此报告中列入该网页的相关计数中。如果您要确认有效网页完全不存在任何移动设备易用性问题,必须使用移动设备适合性测试工具测试该网页。如要查看所有易于浏览的网页,请点击报告顶级页面上的“查看关于易用网页的数据”

该问题是何时开始发生的?

假设有一个网页被视为有效网页,但存在一个小的易用性问题。此网页随后又受到另一个问题的影响,并且后一个问题导致其易用性得分下降,被标记为错误。在这种情况下,您将在报告上看到该网页同时存在这两个问题,但是有一个问题是之前出现的。提示:网页上显示的所有问题不一定都发生在给网页分配错误状态时。

受影响网页数的相关详情

处于有效状态的网页不会计入其可能存在的任何问题对应的受影响网页数中。有效网页也不会显示在其可能存在的任何问题对应的受影响网页列表中。只有处于错误状态的网页才会被计入影响此网页的任何问题的计数中,并显示在受影响网页列表中。

示例:

假设存在包含两个网页的以下情形:

  • 网页 1 受问题 A 和 B 的影响,但被标记为“有效”,因为其移动设备易用性得分高于有效阈值。
  • 网页 2 受问题 B、C 和 D 的影响,并被标记为“错误”,因为其移动设备易用性得分低于有效阈值。

在这种情况下:

  • 问题 A 的受影响网页数为 0。
  • 问题 B、C 和 D 的受影响网页数为 1。
  • 显示为受问题 B 影响的网页:网页 2。

排定问题的优先级并予以修正

  1. 在摘要报告页面上,问题会按验证状态和受影响网页数的组合排序;我们建议您按此默认顺序解决这些问题。请先修正常见原因(例如模板有误)导致的问题,然后再修正不常见的错误实例。
  2. 查看错误总数的增多是否主要由单个错误所致:在表格中查找与之对应的单个问题的猛增现象。请阅读以下信息,了解错误类型以及如何针对错误猛增现象进行调试
  3. 在表格中选择某个行,以查看错误详情页面:
    1. 详情页面包含受影响网址的示例。该列表并非总是详尽的,因为它最多只能包含 1,000 行,并且可能不包含最近发现的与这种错误相关的某些个案。
    2. 选择了解详情以获取阐述正确语法的官方文档。
    3. 在表格中选择一个受影响的网址即可打开包含详细信息的面板,其中包括移动设备易用性问题数,以及用于针对该网页编入索引的版本运行“检查网址”工具检查链接,和用于在该网页上运行移动设备适合性测试测试实际版本链接。您可能会发现,虽然某个错误已在实际网页中得到修正,却因自修正以来网页未被重新抓取而仍被列在“移动设备易用性”报告中;如果遇到这种情况,请在修正此问题的所有实例后请求验证。
  4. 在您的网站上修复此问题的所有个案,测试修复效果,并确保所做的修复已在网上生效。
  5. 返回到问题详情页面,然后点击“验证并告知 Google 已解决”按钮以启动验证流程。我们无法立即执行此流程。请参阅关于验证以了解验证流程。
  6. 继续修正错误。

分享报告

您只需点击这个网页上的分享 按钮,即可分享涵盖范围报告或增强选项报告中的问题详情。通过此链接,分享对象将只能访问当前问题详情页面以及该问题的验证记录页面,而无法访问您的资源中的其他网页,也无法对您的资源或帐号执行任何操作。您可以随时通过停止分享这个网页而撤销链接。

导出报告数据

许多报告都提供了导出按钮 以便您导出报告数据。系统会导出图表数据和表格数据。在报告中显示为“~”或“-”(不存在/不是数字)的值将在下载的数据中显示为零。

针对错误猛增现象进行调试

确定猛增现象是否是因一组网页从一种严重程度过渡到另一种严重程度所致:

  1. 如果您发现了猛增现象,请在另一种状态(错误或有效)下查找对应的下降现象。
  2. 如果您找到了对应的下降现象,请确认这两种现象是出自相同的网址。
  3. 如果相应网址从一种状态过渡到了另一种状态,请确定这种情况是由于您做出了什么更改导致的。

错误猛增现象的最常见原因是,在您网站上的许多网页所使用的模板中引入了错误。

错误

以下错误可能会出现在“移动设备易用性”报告中:

使用了不兼容的插件

该网页包含了大多数移动浏览器不支持的插件(例如 Flash)。

修正方法:建议您采用广受支持的新型网络技术(例如 HTML5)重新设计您的网页。详细了解网页动画指南

未设置视口

您的网页未定义 viewport 属性,该属性用于指示浏览器如何根据屏幕尺寸调整网页大小及缩放网页。

修正方法:由于网站访问者使用的设备各异且屏幕尺寸也各不相同(从大型的桌面设备显示器到平板电脑和小型智能手机),因此您应使用 meta viewport 标记为网页指定视口。有关详情,请参阅自适应设计基础知识

视口未设为“device-width”

网页的 viewport 属性已定义为固定宽度,也就是说,该网页无法针对不同的屏幕尺寸进行调整。

修正方法:为网页采用自适应设计,并将视口设为能匹配设备宽度且能相应地缩放。了解如何正确设置视口

内容宽度超过了屏幕显示范围

需要横向滚动屏幕才能查看网页上的文字和图片。如果网页在 CSS 声明中使用了绝对值,或者网页使用的图片要在特定的浏览器宽度(例如 980 像素)下才能实现最佳显示效果,就会发生这种情况。

修正方法:确保为网页的 CSS 元素使用相对宽度值和位置值,并确保图片可以缩放。有关详情,请参阅调整内容大小,使其适合视口

文字太小,无法阅读

网页上有相当一部分文字相对网页宽度来说太小了。这会使用户在移动设备上很难看清楚这些文字。请查看设备的测试屏幕截图,尝试找出存在问题的文字。

修正方法:为网页指定一个视口,并将所有字体大小设为可在视口内适当地进行缩放,使文字在设备屏幕上可见。详细了解关于字体大小的最佳实践

可点击元素之间的距离太近

由于触控元素(例如按钮和导航链接)之间的距离太近,移动设备用户在用手指点按所需元素时,很容易就按到相邻的元素。

修正方法:查看测试屏幕截图,找到所有按钮、链接和其他触摸目标。确保触摸目标之间的距离不低于平均指尖宽度,或者指尖不会覆盖多个链接目标。如需详细了解,请参阅易于点击的点按目标

验证

修正网站上的错误后,请告知 Google 重新抓取修正后的网页。展开下面的部分即可查看详细信息。

验证修正效果

在修正了网站上某个具体问题的所有个案后,您可以请求 Google 确认您的修正效果。如果所有已知个案都修正了,问题表格中该问题的数量就会变成零,并且该问题会移动到表格底部。

为什么要进行验证

告知 Google 您已经修正了特定问题状态或类别下的所有问题,会带来以下好处:

  • 如果 Google 确认您已修正所有网址上的相应问题,或者如果 Google 发现该问题还有未修正的个案,系统都会向您发送电子邮件。
  • 您可以跟踪 Google 确认修正效果的进度,并查看所有排队等待检查的网页的日志和每个网址的修正状态。

有时候可能没必要修正和验证网站上的特定问题,例如,被 robots.txt 屏蔽的网址可能是被刻意屏蔽的。请自行判断是否要解决某个问题。

您也可以只修正问题而不请求验证;无论您是否明确请求验证修正效果,Google 都会在抓取包含已知问题的网页时更新问题个案数。

开始验证

如需告知 Search Console 您已修正某个问题,请执行以下操作:

  1. 修正相应问题在您网站上出现的所有个案。如果您修正时漏掉了某个个案,当 Google 发现仍有未修正的个案时,就会停止验证。
  2. 打开您已修正的问题的详情页面。在报告的问题列表中,点击相应问题。
  3. 点击验证修复验证成功或失败之前,请勿再次点击“验证修复”。详细了解 Google 如何检查您的修正效果
  4. 您可以监控验证进度验证过程通常最多需要大约两周时间,但在某些情况下可能需要更长时间,请您耐心等待。验证成功或失败后,您会收到通知。
  5. 如果验证失败,您可以点击问题详情页面上的查看详情,查看导致验证失败的网址。请修正此网页,确认已修正所有处于待处理状态的网址,并重新开始验证

在什么情况下,网址或内容中的问题会被视为“已修正”?

只要满足了以下条件中的任何一项,网址或内容中的问题就会被标记为“已修正”:

  • 系统在抓取该网址时发现,网页中已没有该问题。对于 AMP 标记错误,这可能表示您已修正相应标记,或者此标记已移除(如果此标记不是必需标记)。在尝试验证时,系统会将此状态标记为“已通过”
  • 如果 Google 因故无法访问该网页(例如网页被移除、带有“noindex”标记、要求进行身份验证等),系统会认为该网址的问题已得到修正。在尝试验证时,系统会将其归类为“其他”状态。

问题生命周期

问题的生命周期从系统在您网站上第一次检测到该问题的任何个案时开始,到该问题的最后一个个案被标记为已从您的网站中消失时的 90 天后结束。如果 90 天过去了,该问题并没有再次出现,系统就会从问题表格中移除该问题。

“首次检测到此问题时的日期”是指系统在该问题的生命周期中首次检测到该问题时的日期,这一日期并不会变化。因此:

  • 如果某个问题的所有个案都已修正,但 15 天后又出现了该问题的新个案,那么该问题就会被标记为“待解决”,并且“首次检测到此问题时的日期”将仍是原来的日期。
  • 如果某个问题的最后一个个案已修正,但 91 天后又出现了相同的问题,在这种情况下,由于之前的问题已被关闭,因此系统就会将此问题记录为新问题,并会将“首次检测到此问题时的日期”设为新的检测日期。
验证流程

在您针对某个问题点击验证修复后,系统即会启动验证流程。以下是对验证流程的概述。此流程可能需要花费几天甚至更长的时间,我们会通过电子邮件向您发送进度通知。

  1. 当您点击验证修复后,Search Console 会立即抽查几个网页。
    • 如果检测到其中任何网页目前存在这些问题,系统便会结束验证流程,并且验证状态将保持不变。
    • 如果系统在所抽查的网页中没有发现当前错误,就会继续进行验证,并会将验证状态更改为“已开始”。如果在验证过程中发现了其他不相关的问题,系统会将这些问题计入其他问题类型,并继续验证。
  2. Search Console 会按照已知受该问题影响的网址的列表进行检查。只有包含该问题的已知个案的具体网址(而非整个网站)会被加入到等待重新抓取的队列中。Search Console 会在验证记录(可从问题的详情页面内查看)中记录已检查过的所有网址。
  3. 在检查网址时:
    1. 如果系统没有发现该问题,个案验证状态会更改为“已通过”。如果这是验证开始后检查的第一个个案,问题验证状态会更改为“未发现问题”。
    2. 如果相应网址已无法访问,个案验证状态会更改为“其他”(此状态并不表示存在错误)。
    3. 如果个案仍然存在,问题状态会更改为“失败”,并且验证会结束。如果出现问题的网页是由 Google 通过常规抓取发现的新网页,系统会将其视为现有问题的新个案。
  4. 在针对该问题检查加入队列的网址时,如果发现此问题已得到修正,问题状态会更改为“已通过”。但是,即使所有个案均已修正,问题的严重程度标签也不会改变(“错误”“警告”),而只是受影响的网页数改变了(0 个)。

即使您从未点击“开始验证”,Google 也可能会检测到相应问题的个案已得到修正。如果 Google 在常规抓取过程中检测到某个问题的所有个案都已得到修正,便会在报告中将该问题的数量更改为 0。

重新验证

⚠️ 请等到当前的验证周期结束后再请求新的验证周期(即使您已在当前周期内修正了一些问题)。

如需重新开始失败的验证,请执行以下操作:

  1. 找到验证失败的问题的验证日志:打开验证失败的问题的详情页面,然后点击查看详情
  2. 点击开始新的验证
  3. 对于标记为待处理失败的所有网址,以及自上次尝试验证后通过正常抓取发现的此问题新个案,系统将重新开始验证。系统不会重新检查标记为已通过其他的网址。
  4. 验证过程通常最多需要大约两周时间,但在某些情况下可能需要更长时间,请您耐心等待。

查看验证进度

如需查看当前验证请求的进度,请执行以下操作(如果没有正在处理中的验证,可查看上一个请求的历史记录):

  1. 打开问题的详情页面。点击主报告页面中的“问题”行以打开问题详情页面。
    • 验证请求状态会显示在“问题详情”页面以及“详情”表格的验证行中。
  2. 点击查看详情,打开相应请求的验证详情页面。
    • 表格中会显示相应请求中包含的每个网址的个案状态
    • 个案状态适用于您所检查的特定问题。一个网页上可以有一个问题标记为“已通过”,而其他问题标记为失败待处理其他
    • 在 AMP 报告和“索引涵盖范围”报告中,验证历史记录页面中的条目按网址分组。
    • 对于“移动设备易用性”报告和“富媒体搜索结果”报告,这些项则根据由网址和结构化数据项(取决于相应项的 Name 值)构成的组合进行分组。
验证请求状态

对于给定的问题,系统可能会显示以下验证状态:

  • 未启动:此问题的一个或多个个案从未出现在此问题的验证请求中。
    后续步骤
    1. 点击该问题以了解错误详情。使用“AMP 测试”工具检查各个网页,以查看实际网页上的错误示例。(如果“AMP 测试”工具没有显示网页上存在该错误,则是因为在 Google 发现该错误并生成这份问题报告之后,您已在实际网页上修正了该错误。)
    2. 点击详情页面上的了解详情,以查看相应问题的详细信息。
    3. 点击表格中的示例网址行,以获取与相应错误有关的详细信息。
    4. 修正您的网页,然后点击验证修复开始验证验证过程通常最多大约需要两周时间,但在某些情况下可能需要更长时间,所以请耐心等待。
  • 已开始:您已启动验证尝试,并且系统尚未发现相应问题的其他个案。
    后续步骤:Google 会在验证过程中向您发送通知;如有必要,还会在通知中告诉您需要执行什么操作。
  • 未发现问题:您已启动验证尝试,并且系统发现目前已检查的所有问题个案都已修正。
    后续步骤:您暂且无需执行任何操作,但在验证过程中,Google 会向您发送通知,告诉您需要执行什么操作。
  • 已通过:该问题的所有已知个案都已消失(或是受影响的网址已无法访问)。如需使系统显示此状态,您必须先点击验证修复(如果您从未请求验证,但问题个案都消失了,则状态将变为“不适用”)
    后续步骤:您无需再执行任何操作。
  • 不适用:虽然您从未启动验证尝试,但 Google 发现该问题在所有网址上都已修正。
    后续步骤:您无需再执行任何操作。
  • 失败:在您点击验证之后,仍包含该问题的网页的数量达到了一定的阈值。
    后续步骤:修正问题并重新开始验证
个案验证状态

在收到验证请求之后,系统会为具体问题的每个个案分配下列验证状态之一:

  • 待处理:已加入待验证队列。Google 上次检查时,该问题个案仍存在。
  • 已通过:[并非适用于所有报告] Google 已检查该问题个案,结果发现它已不复存在。只有当您针对这一问题个案明确点击了验证后,系统才会显示此状态。
  • 失败:Google 已检查该问题个案,并且发现该个案仍存在。只有当您针对这一问题个案明确点击了验证后,系统才会显示此状态。
  • 其他:[并非适用于所有报告] Google 无法访问该个案的托管网址,或者无法再在相应网页上找到此项内容(针对结构化数据)。此状态被视为等同于“已通过”状态。

请注意,同一网址中的不同问题可能会有不同的状态;例如,如果某个网页中既有问题 X 又有问题 Y,那么就可能会出现以下情况:问题 X 的验证状态是“已通过”,而同一网页上的问题 Y 的验证状态却是待处理

该内容对您有帮助吗?
您有什么改进建议?

需要更多帮助?

请尝试以下步骤:

true
初次使用 Search Console?

以前从未使用过 Search Console?无论您是彻头彻尾的新手,还是搜索引擎优化 (SEO) 专家,抑或是网站开发者,都可从这里开始使用它。

搜索
清除搜索查询
关闭搜索框
Google 应用
主菜单
搜索支持中心
true
83844
false
false

Mobile Usability report

The Mobile Usability report shows which pages in your property have usability problems when viewed on mobile devices.

The top level view shows all pages with more than a threshold level of mobile usability issues. Click a specific issue to see issue details, including a sample list of pages affected by that issue, information about how to fix it, and a process to notify Google about your fixes.

OPEN MOBILE USABLITY REPORT

Summary page

The chart shows the number of pages in error and/or valid state, depending on your selection. The Impressions checkbox shows page impressions of your property from mobile devices. 

About the data

The tables can show up to 1,000 rows of data. Some affected pages might not be shown because you have more than 1,000 affected pages, because we didn't detect the issue, because the issue is very new, or because the issue occurs on a page that is above the threshold usability score.

The following information is shown in the report:

  • Status: A page has two possible states:
    • Error: The page is not mobile friendly
    • Valid: The page is mobile friendly.
  • Pages: The count of pages in Error state with this issue.
Details about page status

Google marks a page valid or error depending on an internal mobile usability score. This score is a calculated according to the number of issues and their relative severity.

  • Error means that the page is below a minimum mobile usability level. If a page is in Error state, it will be listed in the details page for every mobile usability issue that affects it.
  • Valid state means that the page meets a minimum mobile usability level, although it might still have some mobile usability issues, which won't be attributed to the page in this report. If you want to confirm that a valid page is entirely free of mobile usability issues, you must test it using the Mobile-Friendly Test tool.

 When did this issue start?

Imagine a page that is considered valid, but it has a minor usability issue. This page is then affected by another issue that affects the usability score enough to cause the page to be marked as error. In this case, you will see both issues appear at the same time for the page, however one issue appeared some time ago. Takeaway: all issues shown on a page did not necessarily occur at the time when the page was assigned the error state.

Details about affected page count

Pages in valid state are not included in the affected page count for any issues that they might have. Valid pages are also not shown in the affected pages list for any issues that they might have. Only pages in error state are counted for any issues affecting that page, and shown in the affected pages list.

Example:

Imagine this scenario with two pages:

  • Page 1 is affected by issues A and B, but is marked as Valid, because its mobile usability score is above the valid threshold.
  • Page 2 is affected by issues B, C, and D is marked as Error, because its mobile usability score is below the valid threshold.

In this scenario:

  • Affected page count for issue A is zero.
  • Affected page count for issue B, C, and D are 1.
  • Pages shown as affected by issue B: Page 2.

Prioritize and fix issues

  1. On the summary report page, issues are sorted by a combination of validation state and the count of affected pages; we recommend that you address them in this default order. Fix common causes first (such as a bad template), then fix less common instances.
  2. See if any increase in the total error count is caused mostly by a single error: look for a corresponding spike in a single issue in the table. See information below about error types and debugging error spikes.
  3. Select a row in the table to see the error details page:
    1. The details page includes a sample of affected URLs. The list is not always complete, because it is limited to 1,000 rows, and might not include very recently discovered instances of this error.
    2. select Learn more to get official documentation about the proper syntax.
    3. Select an affected URL in the table to open a panel with more information, including a count of mobile usability issues, and an Inspect link to run the Inspect URL tool against the indexed version of this page, and a Test live version link to run the Mobile Friendly Test on this page. It is possible that an error has been fixed in the live page but is still listed in the Mobile Usability report because the page was not recrawled since the fix; if so, request validation after you have fixed all instances of this issue.
  4. Fix all instances of the issue on your site, test your fix, and ensure that your fixes are live on the web.
  5. Return to the issue details page and click the "Validate & Update Google" button to begin the validation process. This process is not immediate. See About validation to understand the validation process.
  6. Continue fixing errors.

Sharing the report

You can share issue details by clicking the Share button on the page. This link grants access only to the current page, plus any validation history pages for this issue, to anyone with the link. It does not grant access to other pages for your resource, or enable the shared user to perform any actions on your property or account. You can revoke the link at any time by disabling sharing for this page.

Debugging error spikes

Determine if a spike caused by a group of pages moving from one severity to another:

  1. If you see a spike, look for a corresponding drop in another state (error or valid).
  2. If you find a corresponding drop, confirm that they are the same URLs.
  3. If the URLs moved from one state to another, determine what you changed to cause this.

The most common reason for a spike in errors is adding an error to a template used by many pages on your site.

Errors

The following errors can appear in the Mobile Usability report:

Uses incompatible plugins

The page includes plugins, such as Flash, that are not supported by most mobile browsers We recommend redesigning your page using modern, broadly-supported web technologies, such as HTML5. Read more about web animation guidelines.

Viewport not set

Your page does not define a viewport property, which tells browsers how to adjust the page’s dimension and scaling to suit the screen size. Because visitors to your site use a variety of devices with varying screen sizes—from large desktop monitors, to tablets and small smartphones—your pages should specify a viewport using the meta viewport tag. Learn more in Responsive Web Design Basics.

Viewport not set to "device-width"

Your page defines a fixed-width viewport property, which means that it can't adjust for different screen sizes. To fix this error, adopt a responsive design for your site’s pages, and set the viewport to match the device’s width and scale accordingly. Read how to correctly Set the Viewport.

Content wider than screen

This report indicates pages where horizontal scrolling is necessary to see words and images on the page. This happens when pages use absolute values in CSS declarations, or use images designed to look best at a specific browser width (such as 980px). To fix this error, make sure the pages use relative width and position values for CSS elements, and make sure images can scale as well. Read more in Size Content to Viewport.

Text too small to read

This report identifies pages where the font size for the page is too small to be legible and would require mobile visitors to “pinch to zoom” in order to read. After specifying a viewport for your web pages, set your font sizes to scale properly within the viewport. Read more about font size best practices in Use Legible Font Sizes.

Clickable elements too close together

This report shows the URLs for sites where touch elements, such as buttons and navigational links, are so close to each other that a mobile user cannot easily tap a desired element with their finger without also tapping a neighboring element. To fix these errors, make sure to correctly size and space buttons and navigational links to be suitable for your mobile visitors. Read more in Size Tap Targets Appropriately.

Validation

After you fix errors on your site, tell Google to recrawl your fixed pages. Expand the section below for details.

About validation

After you fix all instances of a specific issue on your site, you can ask Google to validate your changes. If all known instances are gone, the issue is marked as fixed in the status table and dropped to the bottom of the table. Search Console tracks the validation state of the issue as a whole, as well as the state of each instance of the issue. When all instances of the issue are gone, the issue is considered fixed. (For actual states recorded, see Issue validation state and Instance validation state.)

More about issue lifetime...

An issue's lifetime extends from the first time any instance of that issue was detected on your site until 90 days after the last instance was marked as gone from your site. If ninety days pass without any recurrences, the issue is removed from the report history.

The issue's first detected date is the first time the issue was detected during the issue's lifetime, and does not change. Therefore:

  • If all instances of an issue are fixed, but a new instance of the issue occurs 15 days later, the issue is marked as open, and "first detected" date remains the original date.
  • If the same issue occurs 91 days after the last instance was fixed, the previous issue was closed, and so this is recorded as a new issue, with the first detected date set to "today".

Basic validation flow

Here is an overview of the validation process after you click Validate Fix for an issue. This process can take several days, and you will receive progress notifications by email.

  1. When you click Validate Fix, Search Console immediately checks a few pages.
    • If the current instance exists in any of these pages, validation ends, and the validation state remains unchanged.
    • If the sample pages do not have the current error, validation continues with state Started. If validation finds other unrelated issues, these issues are counted against that other issue type and validation continues.
  2. Search Console works through the list of known URLs affected by this issue. Only URLs with known instances of this issue are queued for recrawling, not the whole site. Search Console keeps a record of all URLs checked in the validation history, which can be reached from the issue details page.
  3. When a URL is checked:
    1. If the issue is not found, the instance validation state changes to Passing. If this is the first instance checked after validation has started, the issue validation state changes to Looking good.
    2. If the URL is no longer reachable, the instance validation state changes to Other (which is not an error state).
    3. If the instance is still present, issue state changes to Failed and validation ends. If this is a new page discovered by normal crawling, it is considered another instance of this existing issue.
  4. When all error and warning URLs have been checked and the issue count is 0, the issue state changes to Passed. Important: Even when the number of affected pages drops to 0 and issue state changes to Passed, the original severity label will still be shown (Error or Warning).

Even if you never click "start validation" Google can detect fixed instances of an issue. If Google detects that all instances of an issue have been fixed during its regular crawl, it will change the issue state to "N/A" on the report.

When is an issue considered "fixed" for a URL or item?

An issue is marked as fixed for a URL or item when either of the following conditions are met:

  • When the URL is crawled and the issue is no longer found on the page. For an AMP tag error, this can mean that you either fixed the tag or that the tag has been removed (if the tag is not required). During a validation attempt, it will be considered as "passed."
  • If the page is not available to Google for any reason (page removed, marked noindex, requires authentication, and so on), the issue will be considered as fixed for that URL. During a validation attempt, it is counted in the "other" validation state.

Revalidation

When you click Revalidate for a failed validation, validation restarts for all failed instances, plus any new instances of this issue discovered through normal crawling.

You should wait for a validation cycle to complete before requesting another cycle, even if you have fixed some issues during the current cycle.

Instances that have passed validation (marked Passed) or are no longer reachable (marked Other) are not checked again, and are removed from the history when you click Revalidate.

Validation history

You can see the progress of a validation request by clicking the validation details link in the issue details page.

Entries in the validation history page are grouped by URL for the AMP report and Index Status report. In the Mobile Usability and Rich Result reports, items are grouped by the combination of URL + structured data item (as determined by the item's Name value). The validation state applies to the specific issue that you are examining. You can have one issue labeled "Passed" on a page, but other issues labeled "Failed", "Pending," or "Other".

Issue validation state

The following validation states apply to a given issue:

  • Not started: There are one or more pages with an instance of this issue that you have never begun a validation attempt for. Next steps:
    1. Click into the issue to learn the details of the error. Inspect the individual pages to see examples of the error on the live page using the AMP Test. (If the AMP Test does not show the error on the page, it is because you fixed the error on the live page after Google found the error and generated this issue report.)
    2. Click "Learn more" on the details page to see the details of the rule that was violated.
    3. Click an example URL row in the table to get details on that specific error.
    4. Fix your pages and then click Validate fix to have Google recrawl your pages. Google will notify you about the progress of the validation. Validation takes anywhere from a few days up to about two weeks, so please be patient. 
  • Started:  You have begun a validation attempt and no remaining instances of the issue have been found yet. Next step: Google will send notifications as validation proceeds, telling you what to do, if necessary.
  • Looking good: You started a validation attempt, and all issue instances that have been checked so far have been fixed. Next step: Nothing to do, but Google will send notifications as validation proceeds, telling you what to do.
  • Passed: All known instances of the issue are gone (or the affected URL is no longer available). You must have clicked "Validate fix" to get to this state (if instances disappeared without you requesting validation, state would change to N/A). Next step: Nothing more to do.
  • N/A: Google found that the issue was fixed on all URLs, even though you never started a validation attempt. Next step: Nothing more to do.
  • Failed: A certain threshold of pages still contain this issue, after you clicked "Validate." Next steps: Fix the issue and revalidate.

Instance validation state

After validation has been requested, every known issue instance is assigned one of the following validation states for a specific issue (states Passed and Other not used in Index Status report):

  • Pending validation: Queued for validation. The last time Google looked, this issue instance existed.
  • Passed: Google checked for the issue instance and it no longer exists. Can reach this state only if you explicitly clicked Validate for this issue instance.
  • Failed: Google checked for the issue instance and it's still there. Can reach this state only if you explicitly clicked Validate for this issue instance.
  • Other: Google couldn't reach the URL hosting the instance, or (for structured data) couldn't find the item on the page any more. Considered equivalent to Passed.

Note that the same URL can have different states for different issues; For example, if a single page has both issue X and issue Y, issue X can be in validation state Passed and issue Y on the same page can be in validation state Pending.

 

Known issues

The following are known issues in this beta version of the new Search Console. No need to report them to us, but we'd love your feedback on any other features or issues you spot. Use the Feedback mechanism built into the navigation bar.

  • Property sets are not yet supported.
Was this article helpful?
How can we improve it?