搜尋
清除搜尋內容
關閉搜尋框
Google 應用程式
主選單

搜尋分析報表

搜尋分析報表可顯示您的網站出現在 Google 搜尋結果中的頻率。您可以依類別 (例如搜尋查詢、日期或裝置) 來篩選資料及為資料分組,並運用結果來改善網站的搜尋結果排名:

  • 查看特定時間內的搜尋流量變動、流量來源,以及哪些搜尋查詢最常顯示您的網站。
  • 瞭解哪些搜尋來是透過智慧型手機執行,並藉此改善指定行動裝置的成效。
  • 查看哪些網頁獲得來自 Google 搜尋結果的最高 (和最低) 點閱率。

開啟搜尋分析報表

如何讀取報表

報表的預設視圖會顯示您網站在過去 4 週內來自 Google 搜尋結果的點擊次數。

  • 如要變更顯示的指標,請在報表頂端選取一個或多個指標核取方塊 (例如點擊次數或曝光次數)。請參閱選擇要顯示的指標
  • 如要變更資料的分組方式,請選取分組屬性 (例如 [查詢] 或 [網頁])。請參閱為資料分組
  • 如要篩選資料,請在群組類型下方的下拉式選單中選取篩選器 (如篩選資料中所述)。
  • 如要比較不同的群組的值 (例如比較來自巴西和中國的點擊次數),請在分組選項下方的下拉式選單中選擇 [比較]。您可以一次比較任一群組類別中的不同值。請參閱比較資料

選擇要顯示的指標

您可以顯示下列指標:

  • 點擊次數 - 從 Google 搜尋結果頁面將使用者導向至您網站的點擊次數。
  • 曝光次數 - 在 Google 搜尋結果中,向使用者顯示的可前往您網站的連結數量 (即使使用者並未將畫面捲動至該連結)。不過,如果使用者只查看了第 1 頁,而該連結位於第 2 頁,則不計入曝光次數。該數量是由系統根據網站或網頁匯總而得。如果頁面可供無限捲動 (例如圖片搜尋),則該項目必須捲動至畫面當中才能計入曝光次數。
  • CTR - 點閱率:將點擊次數除以曝光次數後所得到的數字。如果資料列中未提供曝光次數,CTR 會以破折號 (-) 顯示,因為 CTR 的除數為零。
  • 排名 - 您網站的「最高」排名結果的平均排名。舉例來說,如果您網站的 3 個排名結果分別為第 2、第 4 和第 6,報表中的排名即為第 2。如果第二次查詢傳回的排名為第 3、第 5 和第 9,那麼您的平均排名即為 (2 + 3)/2 = 2.5。如果資料列中未提供曝光次數,這部份會以破折號 (-) 顯示,因為這個排名不存在。

點擊次數、曝光次數、排名和點閱率的值會視您根據網站或網頁匯總結果而有所變化。

為資料分組

如要變更表格中的資料分組方式,請在報表頂端選取群組類別。舉例來說,選擇 [查詢] 即可依搜尋查詢字詞為資料分組,選擇 [網頁] 則會依搜尋結果傳回的標準網頁而分類。

查詢

依使用者在 Google 上搜尋的查詢字串來為結果分組,其中只會包括傳回您網站的搜尋。為保護使用者查詢的隱私權,有極少數的查詢不會顯示在這些結果中。

常用功能

  • 查看預期關鍵字的查詢清單。 如果沒有顯示預期的關鍵字,即表示您的網站上與這些關鍵字相關的實用內容可能並不多。如果出現了非預期的字詞 (例如「壯陽」或「賭場」),很可能是因為您的網站已遭到入侵
  • 找出曝光次數高但點閱率低的查詢。這些查詢可協助您瞭解如何改善網站內容,進而符合使用者的興趣。
網頁
依搜尋結果所傳回的網站個別網頁來為結果分組。依網頁分組可能會變更點閱率、曝光次數和點擊次數的指標計算結果
國家/地區

依搜尋來源的國家/地區 (例如加拿大或墨西哥) 來為結果分組。

國家/地區篩選器僅提供資源曝光次數排名前 20 位的國家/地區。如果您需要使用下拉式選單中未列出的國家/地區進行篩選,請依國家/地區將查詢分組,然後點選您想要使用的國家/地區列,即可查看依該國家/地區進行篩選的結果。

裝置
依執行搜尋的裝置 (例如桌上型電腦、平板電腦或手機) 來為結果分組。如果您分別提供行動版和電腦版網站 (例如 m.example.com 和 www.example.com),那麼「搜尋分析」報表中也會分別列出各個網站的指標。如果您沒有獨立的行動版網站 (例如在單一網站中以動態方式偵測使用者代理程式,並視情況調整網站版面配置),那麼您必須依裝置分組才能比較來自行動裝置與桌上型電腦使用者的點擊次數和曝光次數。
搜尋類型 [不適用於應用程式]

依搜尋類型進行篩選或比較。搜尋類型是指使用者執行的 Google 搜尋類型,包括網頁搜尋 (預設為合併搜尋結果)、圖片搜尋、影片搜尋等。

由於不同搜尋類型的結果網頁版面配置截然不同,因此我們無法支援依搜尋類型分組。舉例來說,在圖片搜尋結果中排名第 30 的項目可能位於搜尋結果的第 1 頁,但在網頁搜尋中,排名第 30 的項目則可能位於第 3 頁。

搜尋外觀 [不一定顯示]
這裡列出的搜尋結果功能中,至少須有一項功能擁有曝光次數,系統才會顯示「搜尋外觀」選項, 否則這個分組選項就不會顯示。


依特定搜尋結果功能來為結果分組:例如含有 [安裝應用程式] 按鈕的搜尋結果,或是以 AMP 網頁顯示的搜尋結果。

您可以依照下列搜尋外觀功能進行分組或篩選:

  • 搜尋結果連結:不屬於 [安裝應用程式] 按鈕的任何搜尋連結。
  • [安裝應用程式] 按鈕:可讓使用者將應用程式安裝到裝置上的按鈕。如果裝置中沒有安裝某個應用程式,當搜尋結果頁面中至少一項結果是該應用程式網頁時,就會顯示這個功能。不過,一部裝置上的同一筆查詢中並不會同時顯示搜尋結果連結和應用程式安裝按鈕。
  • AMPAMP 結果,可能嵌入媒體庫,或是簡單的搜尋結果連結。
  • 複合式結果Rich Card複合式摘要功能 (階層連結和星號等),由結構化資料定義。

更多資訊

依搜尋外觀進行分組或篩選時,系統會依網頁 (非依資源) 匯總資料

篩選功能清單只會針對具有曝光次數的項目顯示篩選選項;舉例來說,如果您沒有 AMP 結果,篩選功能清單就不會顯示 AMP 選項。

以單筆查詢找到的某個網頁可能提供多個搜尋外觀功能,但在每種功能類型中只會計為一次曝光。舉例來說,同一筆查詢傳回的網頁可能同時提供複合式結果和搜尋結果連結。

已篩選點擊次數

如果您依照搜尋結果功能進行篩選,我們「無法」保證指定網址所有的點擊次數都計入篩選的功能類型連結中;不過我們「可以」保證使用者在點選該網址的連結時,「會」在同一組搜尋結果中看到含有這個網址和功能的連結。這是因為點擊會指派給網址,而不是 (網址 + 功能)。

唯一的例外是依安裝應用程式按鈕進行篩選的情況,因為如果應用程式並未安裝在裝置上,則該應用程式唯一的結果連結將是應用程式安裝連結。

舉例來說,如果使用者在 Google 搜尋「毛線帽」,結果顯示標準結果連結和 AMP 連結皆指向「Larry 的毛線帽之家」上的同一個網頁,則點選任一連結都會計入同一網址的點擊次數中。隔天 Larry (「Larry 的毛線帽倉庫」的擁有者、經營者和網站管理員) 開啟網站的搜尋分析時,如果他依網頁為結果分組和依 AMP 功能進行篩選,則無論使用者點選的是 AMP 連結或標準連結,系統列出的網址點擊次數都是 1 次。

日期
將您選取的時間範圍內的所選指標顯示為圖表,預設的時間範圍為 4 週。依日期分組時就不會顯示資料表格。

篩選資料

您可以篩選多個類別中的資料。舉例來說,如果您依查詢為資料分組,您即可新增「country='USA' AND device='Mobile'」篩選器。

如何新增篩選器:

  • 按一下類別下方的下拉式選單,然後指定篩選器。
  • 按一下圖表下方表格的某一列,依選取的群組值篩選結果

如何清除篩選器:

  • 在類別選擇器下方按一下合適的篩選器下拉式選單,然後選取 [重設]
  • 按一下篩選器旁的 X。

篩選器下拉式選單僅提供資源曝光次數排名前 20 位的國家/地區;如要使用未列在清單中的國家/地區進行篩選,請依國家/地區將結果分組,然後點選您想要用來篩選的國家/地區列即可。

比較資料

您可以比較任一群組類別中的兩個精確值 (無論是否為目前選取的群組)。舉例來說,如果您依查詢分組,您即可比較本週與前週的點擊次數,或是比較來自美國和法國的點擊次數。依網頁或搜尋外觀比較可能會變更點閱率、曝光次數和點擊次數的指標計算結果。請在群組類別下方的下拉式選單中選擇比較方式。如果您比較與的是單一指標的值,結果表格可能會在一欄中顯示差距,以便比較不同列中的值。

實用的比較方式:

  • 您可依差距排序來查看含有明顯新活動的查詢。
  • 比較行動版網站的總搜尋內容和電腦版網站上透過行動裝置執行的搜尋內容。如果您分別提供行動版與非行動版網站 (例如 m.example.com 和 www.example.com),且您的網站設定正確無誤,系統將顯示許多項在行動版網站上透過行動裝置執行的搜尋內容。您可以為各個網站開啟個別的「搜尋分析」報表,並比較在電腦版網站 (www.example.com) 上透過行動裝置執行的搜尋內容以及行動版網站 (m.example.com) 上的所有搜尋內容。
您可以一次比較任一類別 (例如日期、查詢等) 中的不同資料。在其他群組類別中新增比較方式將取代現有的比較方式。舉例來說,如果您要比較本週和上週的點擊次數 (日期),那麼您新增美國和日本之間的比較範圍 (國家/地區) 後,日期範圍就會重設為預設值。

如果您在比較兩個群組時,發現某個值在其中一個群組中相當低,但在另一個群組中並非如此,系統就會針對數值極低的群組,在該列中顯示「~」符號,指出這個數字不適用。舉例來說,如果您要比較德國和泰國的查詢曝光次數,在「Deutsche Bundesbank」結果列中,德國部分會顯示曝光次數的數值,而泰國部分會顯示「~」(不適用)。這是因為泰國的曝光次數落在結果列末端。這個數字不一定是零,但是落在該群組清單的末端。不過,如果您是以少數值為篩選標準 (在這個範例中為「Deutsche Bundesbank」),系統就會在這兩個類別中顯示資料值。

總計

網頁會顯示每個指標的總數。請注意,由於較長的表格底部會被截斷以節省空間,因此這些總數的值可能會大於表格中的總值。

資料表格

圖表中的資料也會顯示在網頁上的表格式表單中,這份表格最多可顯示 1,000 列,其他的資料會因空間考量被截斷。此外,少數查詢會因使用者隱私權考量而不會在表格中顯示。

報表表格為何消失了?

某些情況下,如果表格並未新增任何資訊至圖表,那麼報表就會忽略該表格。舉例來說,如果您在依國家/地區分組的表格中顯示點擊次數,然後對美國和英國進行比較,就會得到如下的表格:

    美國點擊次數 英國點擊次數
1   美國               1,000 0
2   英國 0           1,000

由於這個表格並沒有為使用者提供任何新資訊,因此已遭到忽略。

關於資料

「搜尋分析」會針對個別資源獨立計算資料,這表示系統會分別計算下列目的地的資料:

  • https://example.com
  • http://example.com
  • http://m.example.com

資料不一致

Search Console 的資料可能與其他工具所顯示的資料有所不同,可能的原因如下:

  • 為保護使用者隱私權,「搜尋分析」不會顯示所有資料。 舉例來說,我們可能不會追蹤次數很少的查詢作業,或是包含個人或機密資訊的查詢作業。
  • 我們處理來源資料時 (例如刪除來自漫遊器的重複內容和瀏覽資料),偶爾會造成您的統計資料與其他來源列出的統計資料不同。不過這些變化應該不明顯。
  • 不同的工具對於「關鍵字」的定義不盡相同。 舉例來說,Google AdWords 的關鍵字工具會顯示 Google 在整個網路上搜尋某個關鍵字得到的結果總數,而「搜尋分析」只會顯示在 Google 搜尋結果中傳回您網頁的關鍵字搜尋。
  • 從我們開始統計資料到網站管理員真正看到資料的這段期間,可能會有一段時間差。 雖然我們會定期發佈資料,但資料的收集仍持續進行。不過,資料通常會在 2-3 天後上線。
  • 時區的影響。 「搜尋分析」會根據太平洋時區 (PDT) 追蹤每天的資料,如果其他系統使用不同的時區,您每天看到的數據就會有所差異。舉例來說,Google Analytics (分析) 顯示的是網站管理員的本地時區。
  • 有些工具 (例如 Google Analytics (分析)) 只會針對已在瀏覽器中啟用 JavaScript 的使用者進行流量追蹤。
  • 沒有下載的資料/下載的資料不是數值。下載報表資料時,報表中如有顯示為 ~ 或 - (無資料/非數字) 的值,在下載的資料中一律為零。

與舊版「搜尋查詢」報表資料之間的比較

「搜尋分析」報表中的資料比舊版「搜尋查詢」報表更準確,計算方式也有所不同。以下是差異摘要:

  • 合併個別網頁的曝光次數。 舊版「搜尋查詢」報表將搜尋結果中的所有單一網頁都視為一次曝光,而新版的「搜尋分析」報表則是將導向相同網站的所有連結視為一次曝光 (除非您依網頁或搜尋外觀分組、篩選或比較)。
  • 區別搜尋資源和裝置。 舊版「搜尋查詢」報表提供依網頁、圖片、行動版和影片篩選的選項,其中「行動版」表示透過行動裝置執行的網頁搜尋。在「搜尋查詢」報表中,系統會將搜尋圖片和影片的行動版和電腦版搜尋指標結合為同一個指標,而在新版「搜尋分析」報表中,裝置類型和搜尋類型則區分為不同指標。
  • 涵蓋率與部分計算方式不同。 舊版「搜尋查詢」報表與「搜尋分析」報表對儲存資料量的門檻不同,這表示兩種報表的資料涵蓋量和總計值可能也有所差異。
  • 減少圖片點擊次數。 在導向您網頁的圖片搜尋結果中,新版「搜尋分析」報表僅計算對展開式圖片 (或 [造訪網頁] 連結) 的點擊,而舊版「搜尋查詢」報表則會計算在網頁搜尋和圖片搜尋中對圖片 (無論是否為展開式圖片) 的任何點擊。這表示新版報表中的點擊次數會減少,但是也更有意義。
  • 根據完整網域合併資料。 如果您在同一個網域中有多個主機 (例如 www.example.com 和 example.com),您可能會發現每個主機的點擊次數和曝光次數都減少,原因是舊版「搜尋查詢」報表往往根據網域名稱指派點擊次數、曝光次數或其他資料,但該網域可能含有多個主機。因此,如果使用者點擊 www.example.com 的連結,點擊次數可能會同時計入 www.example.com 和 example.com 帳戶。為避免這種重複計算的情形,新版「搜尋分析」報表現在會將所有點擊次數、曝光次數和其他搜尋資料指派至單一的完整主機名稱,於是 www.example.com 的點擊次數或曝光次數就只會計入 www.example.com,而不會計入 m.example.com、example.com 或其他同網域下的主機。因此,您可能會發現特定帳戶的總計次數有所減少,但這並不會影響搜尋流量或使用者行為,只是變更計算方式,確保每個帳戶的資訊都能更準確。

哪些情況視為一次點擊?

當使用者因點擊行為而導向至您的資源時,即視為一次點擊。如果使用者是在搜尋結果中因點擊行為而重新導向至您的網站,則不計入點擊次數。例如:

  • 在網頁搜尋結果中點擊圖片並不視為一次點擊,只有點擊行為直接導向至網站時 (例如在圖片搜尋中點擊圖片或 [造訪網頁] 連結) 才會計入點擊次數。在網頁搜尋中點擊圖片,通常會將使用者導向至圖片搜尋中的展開式圖片,這種情況並不視為一次點擊。
  • 導向至其他搜尋內功能的點擊 (例如大多數的知識圖譜點擊) 並不會在報告中計入點擊次數。
  • Google 在搜尋結果中顯示的網址與連結的實際網址可能會有所不同。舉例來說,如果網站提供電腦版網頁 example.com/mypage 和行動版網站 m.example.com/mypage (可能會以 rel=”alternate” 標記標明),電腦版和行動版的搜尋結果中可能都會顯示電腦版網址 example.com/mypage,但基準連結則會有所差異 (視搜尋是透過電腦或行動裝置執行而定)。連結在電腦上會直接指向電腦版網頁,而在行動裝置上則會指向行動版網頁 (稱為「略過重新導向」)。系統會將將指向真實目標的連結計入曝光次數和點擊次數 (無論目標為桌面版或行動版網頁)。
  • 對於應用程式資源,如果顯示的結果連結會在使用者的裝置上開啟您的應用程式,這類點擊就會計入資源的曝光次數或點擊次數;如果顯示的連結會指向網站或「安裝應用程式」的結果,{這類點擊就不會計入點擊次數。

比較依網站匯總資料和依網頁匯總資料

如果您依網頁或搜尋外觀分組、篩選或比較資料,系統會依網頁匯總報表中的所有指標;,系統會依網站匯總所有指標。

  • 曝光次數:如果某個網站在依網站匯總時於搜尋結果中出現 2 次,則視為一次曝光;如果依網頁或搜尋外觀分組,則每個不重複網頁的曝光次數都會分開計算。
  • 點擊次數:如果某個網站在依網站分組時於搜尋結果中出現 2 次,且使用者點擊其中一個連結,然後返回前一頁並點擊另一個連結,由於最終的目的地是相同網站,因此視為一次點擊
  • 排名:依網站匯總時,系統會將您的資源在搜尋結果中的最高排名列入報表;而在依網頁或搜尋外觀分組時,系統則會將網頁在搜尋結果中的最高排名列入報表。

依網站匯總資料時,網站即為搜尋結果連結的真實目標,但經過 Google 的略過重新導向行為後,該實際目標的網址可能會與顯示的網址不同。

因計算方式不同,如果搜尋結果中出現同一網站的多個網頁,那麼依網站匯總時的點閱率和平均排名會較高。舉例來說,如果搜尋「小朋友的好寵物」只會傳回下列 3 個結果,而這些結果來自相同網站,且使用者以同樣的頻率點擊這些網站:

Google 搜尋結果 依網站匯總的指標 依網頁匯總的指標
  1. www.petstore.example.com/monkeys
  2. www.petstore.example.com/ponies
  3. www.petstore.example.com/unicorns

點閱率:100%
結合對網站的所有點擊次數

點閱率:33%
顯示 3 個網頁,每個網頁的點閱次數為 1/3

平均排名:1
網站在搜尋結果中的最高排名
平均排名:2
(1 + 2 + 3) / 3 = 2
這篇文章實用嗎?

Search
Clear search
Close search
Google apps
Main menu

Search Analytics Report

How many Google searches show your site?

The Search Analytics Report shows how often your site appears in Google search results. Filter and group data by categories such as search query, date, or device. Use the results to improve your site’s search performance, for example:

  • See how your search traffic changes over time, where it’s coming from, and what search queries are most likely to show your site.
  • Learn which queries are made on smartphones, and use this to improve your mobile targeting.
  • See which pages have the highest (and lowest) click-through rate from Google search results.

Open the Search Analytics Report

How to read the report

The default view of the report shows your site’s click count coming from Google search results for the past four weeks.

  • To change the metrics shown, select one or more metric checkboxes, such as clicks or impressions, at the top of the report. See Choosing which metrics to display.
  • To change how data are grouped, select a grouping property, such as Queries, or Pages. See Grouping your data.
  • To filter your data, select the filter dropdown below the group type as described in Filtering your data.
  • To compare different group values (for example, to compare clicks from Brazil to clicks from China), choose Compare in the dropdown under a grouping selection. You can compare values in one grouping category at a time. See Comparing your data.

Choosing which metrics to display

The following metrics are available:

  • Clicks - Count of clicks from a Google search results page that landed the user on your property. Learn more.
  • Impressions - How many links to your site a user saw on Google search results, even if the link was not scrolled into view. However, if a user views only page 1 and the link is on page 2, the impression is not counted. The count is aggregated by site or page. With infinitely scrolling pages, such as image search, the impression might require the item to be scrolled into view. Learn more.
  • CTR - Click-through rate: the click count divided by the impression count. If a row of data has no impressions, the CTR will be shown as a dash (-) because CTR would be division by zero.
  • Position - The average position of the topmost result from your site. So, for example, if your site has three results at positions 2, 4, and 6, the position is reported as 2. If a second query returned results at positions 3, 5, and 9, your average position would be (2 + 3)/2 = 2.5. If a row of data has no impressions, the position will be shown as a dash (-), because the position doesn't exist. Learn more.

Clicks, impressions, position, and CTR values change depending on whether you aggregate results by site or page.

Grouping your data

Change how your data are grouped in the table by selecting a grouping category at the top of the report; for example, choose "Queries" to group data by search query terms, or "Pages" to group by the canonical page returned by search results.

Query

Group results by query strings that users searched for on Google. Only searches that returned your site will be included. Very rare queries are not shown in these results to protect the privacy of the user making the query.

Common uses:

  • Review the Query list for expected keywords. If keywords that you expect to see don't appear, your site might not have enough useful content relevant to those keywords. If unexpected words (like "Viagra" or "casino") appear, it's likely that your site has been hacked.
  • Find queries with high impressions and low CTR. These queries can help identify where you can improve your content to satisfy your user’s interests.
Page
Group results by individual page on your property that were returned by search results. Grouping by page can change the metric calculation for CTR, impressions, and clicks.
Country

Group results by the country where the search came from; for example, Canada or Mexico.

Note that the country filter is limited to the countries with the top 20 impressions for your property. If you need to filter by a country not on the dropdown list, group your query by countries, then click the row of the country that you want, which will filter results by that country.

Device
Group results by the device making the search; for example, desktop, tablet, or mobile. If you have separate mobile and desktop sites, for example m.example.com and www.example.com, the metrics for each site will be reported separately in Search Analytics. If you don't have a separate mobile version of your website—for example, you dynamically detect the user agent and adjust the site layout accordingly in a single site—you must group by device to compare the clicks and impressions you get from mobile devices compared to clicks and impressions from desktop users.
Search Type [Not for apps]

Filter or compare by search type, which is the type of Google search run by the user: web search (the default combined search results), image search, video search, and so on.

Grouping by search type is not supported because the results page layout is very different for different search types. For example, position 30 in image search results might be on the first result page, but position 30 in web search would be on page three.

Data is stored separately by search type

For a given URL, all click, impression, and position data is stored separately for each search type. So, for instance, an image can appear in both web results and image results, but the click, impression, and position data for that image are recorded separately for web searches and image searches.

As an example, given an image hosted on the page example.com/aboutme.html, you might have this data:

Search type Impressions Clicks Position
Image 20 10 23
Web 30 30   7

 

Search Appearance [Not always shown]
The Search Appearance option appears only if there are impressions for at least one search result feature listed here. Otherwise this grouping option will not be visible.


Group results by special search result feature: for example, results containing an "install app" button, or results appearing in an AMP page.

Group or filter by the following search appearance features:

  • Search result link - Any result link that is not an "install app" button.
  • Install app button - A button that offers the user the option to install an app on the device. This feature appears in the results page on a device where at least one result is an app page in an app not installed on the device. You should never get both search result links and app install buttons in the same query on the same device.
  • AMP - AMP results, whether embedded in a gallery or as simple search result links.
  • Rich result - A rich card or rich snippet feature (breadcrumbs, stars, and so on), defined in structured data.

More information

Grouping or filtering by search appearance will aggregate data by page rather than by property.

The filter feature list only shows filter options for which you have impressions; if you have no AMP results, you will not see AMP in the filter list.

The same page can have multiple search appearance features in a single query, but only one impression is counted for each feature type. For example, a page can have both a rich result and a search result link in one query.

Filtered click counts

If you filter by search result feature, it is not guaranteed that all clicks for a given URL were on a link of that filtered feature type; however it is guaranteed that the user saw a link with this URL and feature in the same set of results where she clicked a link with that URL. This is because clicks are assigned to a URL, not to a (URL + feature).

The only exception is when filtering by install app button, because if an app is not installed on a device, the only result link for the app will be an app install link.

For example: A user searches Google for "monkey pants" and the results show both a standard result link and an AMP link pointing to the same page on Larry's House of Monkey Pants. A click on either link will count toward the same URL, of course. The next day, Larry (owner, proprieter, and webmaster of Larry's Warehouse of Monkey Pants) opens Search Analytics for his site, groups results by page, filters by AMP feature, and sees that URL listed with 1 click, no matter whether the user clicked the AMP link or the standard link.

Date
Shows a graph of your selected metrics over the selected time span. Default time span is four weeks. The data table is not shown when grouping by date.

Filtering your data

You can filter data in multiple categories. For example, if you are currently grouping data by query, you can add the filters "country='USA' AND device='Mobile'".

To add a filter:

  • Click the dropdown under a category to specify a filter,
    OR
  • Click a row on the table below the chart to filter by the selected grouping value.

To clear a filter:

  • Click the appropriate filter dropdown under the category chooser and select Reset.
    OR
  • Click the X next to the filter.

The countries filter dropdown is limited to the countries with the top 20 impressions for your property; to filter by a country not on the list, group results by country and click the row for the country to filter by.

Comparing your data

You can compare data between two exact values in any one grouping category, whether or not it is the currently selected grouping. For example, when grouped by Query you can compare clicks between this week and last week, or between clicks from USA and France. Comparing by page or search appearance can change the metric calculation for CTR, impressions, and clicks. Choose a comparison using the dropdown below a grouping category. When comparing values for a single metric, the results table will display a difference column to compare values in each row.

Some useful comparisons:

  • Sort by difference to see queries with significant new activity.
  • Compare total searches on your mobile site to mobile searches on your desktop site. If you have both mobile and non-mobile versions of your site (m.example.com and www.example.com), and your sites are configured correctly, you should see many more mobile searches on your mobile site. Open a separate Search Analytics report for each site and compare searches from mobile devices on your desktop site (www.example.com) to all searches on your mobile site (m.example.com).
You can compare data in only one category at a time (Dates, Queries, and so on). Adding a new comparison in another grouping category will remove the existing comparison. For example, if you are comparing clicks for this week versus last week (Date), then add a comparison between US and Japan (Country), the date range will reset to the default.

If you compare two groups, and a value is very rare in one group but not rare in the other group, the rare group will show ~ for that row to indicate that the number is not available. For example, if you compare query impressions between Germany and Thailand, the result row for "Deutsche Bundesbank" will probably show an impression number for Germany, and a ~ (not available) for Thailand. This is because the impression count for Thailand is at the end of a very long tail of results. It does not necessarily mean zero, but it is far down the list for that group. However, if you filter by the rare value (in this example "Deutsche Bundesbank"), you should see data values for both categories.

Totals

The totals for each metric are shown on the page. Note that these totals might be larger than the totaled values in the table, because long tables can be truncated at the bottom to conserve space.

Reading the data table

The data in the chart is also represented in tabular form on the page. This table holds a maximum of 1,000 rows; additional data is truncated for space reasons. In addition, very rare queries will be omitted for user privacy reasons.

Why did the report table disappear?

In certain cases where the table does not add any additional information to the chart, the table is omitted from the report. For example, if you show click counts in a table grouped by country, and compare USA to UK, you would get a table something like this:

    USA clicks UK clicks
1   USA               1,000 0
2   UK 0           1,000

This table provides no new information to the user, and so it is omitted.

About the data

Search analytics counts data independently for each unique property. That is, data are counted separately for each of the following destinations:

  • https://example.com
  • http://example.com
  • http://m.example.com

How are clicks, impressions, and position calculated?

Read details about how clicks, impressions, and position are counted and calculated here

Data discrepancies

Search Console data can differ slightly from the data displayed in other tools. Possible reasons for this include the following:

  • To protect user privacy, Search Analytics doesn't show all data. For example, we might not track some queries that are made a very small number of times or those that contain personal or sensitive information.
  • Some processing of our source data might cause these stats to differ from stats listed in other sources (for example, to eliminate duplicates and visits from robots). However, these changes should not be significant.
  • Some tools define "keywords" differently. For example, the Keywords tool in Google AdWords displays the total number of Google searches for that keyword across the web. Search Analytics shows only those keyword searches that returned your pages in Google search results.
  • There can be a lag between when the numbers are calculated and when they are visible to webmasters. Although data gets published in intervals, we continually collect it. Normally, however, collected data should be available in 2-3 days.
  • Time zones matter. Search Analytics tracks daily data according to Pacific Daylight Time (PDT). If your other systems use different time zones, your daily views may not match exactly. For example, Google Analytics shows time in the webmaster’s local time zone.
  • Some tools, such as Google Analytics, track traffic only from users who have enabled JavaScript in their browser.
  • Downloaded data unavailable/not a number values. If you download the data in the report, any values shown as ~ or - (not available/not a number) on the report will be zeros in the downloaded data.

Aggregating data by site vs by page

If you group, filter, or compare by page or search appearance, all metrics in the report are aggregated by page; otherwise, all metrics are aggregated by site.

  • For impressions, if a site appears twice on a search results page when aggregating by site, it counts as a single impression; if grouping by page or search appearance, each unique page is counted separately.
  • For clicks, if a site appears twice in search results when grouped by site, and the user clicks on one link, backs up, then clicks the other link, it counts as a single click, since the final destination is the same site.
  • For position, when aggregating by site, the topmost position of your property in search results is reported; when grouped by page or search appearance, the topmost position of the page in search results is reported.

When aggregating data by site, the site is the true target of the search results link, which might not be the same as the displayed URL, as determined by Google's skip redirect behavior

Because of the different accounting methods, the click-through rate and average position are higher when aggregating by site if multiple pages from the same site appear in the search results. For example, imagine that search results for "fun pets for children" returns only the following three results, all from the same site, and that users click each of them with equal frequency:

Google Search Results Metrics Aggregated by Site Metrics Aggregated by Page
  1. www.petstore.example.com/monkeys
  2. www.petstore.example.com/ponies
  3. www.petstore.example.com/unicorns

Click-through rate: 100%
All clicks for a site are combined

Click-through rate: 33%
3 pages shown, 1/3 of clicks to each page

Average position: 1
Highest position from the site in the results
Average position: 2
(1 + 2 + 3) / 3 = 2
Was this article helpful?