If you downgrade your organization’s Google Workspace edition to one that doesn’t include Vault, or if you cancel your subscription entirely, you might lose data if you don’t preserve the data first.
When you downgrade or cancel:
- All retention rules and holds are disabled—Without the protection of retention rules and holds, data is subject to standard deletion processes. Data deleted more than 30 days ago can be immediately purged from all Google systems. Purged data can't be recovered.
- Your Vault settings are deleted—Thirty days after you downgrade or cancel, all retention rules, matters, and holds are deleted. If you buy Vault again more than 30 days after you downgraded or canceled, you must configure it as if you’re a new customer.
- Your Vault audit data is deleted—Your audit data is deleted approximately 30 days after you cancel Vault. Audit data is a log of all the actions taken by Vault users, such as searching data and setting retention rules.
Before you downgrade or cancel
- Export your organization’s data with the Data Export Tool. The export includes data that’s deleted but preserved by a Vault retention rule or hold.
- Export your organization’s Vault audit data from the Vault audit report.
- Determine if you need to implement email and chat message retention for your organization.
You can’t save your Vault settings, including retention rules and holds. However, if you buy Vault again within 30 days, your Vault settings and audit data are reinstated.
|Vault licenses included||Vault add-on licenses available|