Pretranslating your documents

When you upload a document into Google Translator Toolkit, we automatically 'pretranslate' your document as follows:

  1. We divide your document into segments, usually sentences, headers, or bullets.
  2. We search all available translation databases for previous human translations of each segment.
  3. If any previous human translations of the segment exist, we pick the highest-ranked search result and 'pretranslate' the segment with that translation.
  4. If no previous human translation of the segment exists, we use machine translation to produce an 'automatic translation' for the segment, without intervention from human translators.

We realize for some translators, pre-filling with machine translation may actually slow, not speed up, the translation process. In such cases, you can change your settings to pre-fill the segment with the source text, so you can type over the source text instead of making corrections to automatic translation.

For now, machine translation is only available in the following languages:
*Afrikaans, Albanian, Arabic, Belarusian, Bulgarian, Catalan, Chinese (Traditional - Hong Kong/Macau), Chinese (Simplified), Chinese (Traditional), Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, English (Australia), English (Canadian), English (India), English (Ireland), English (Singapore), English (South Africa), English (UK), Estonian, Filipino, Finnish, French, French (Switzerland), Galician, German, German (Austria), German (Switzerland), Greek, Hebrew, Hindi, Hungarian, Icelandic, Indonesian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Latvian, Lithuanian, Macedonian, Malay, Maltese, Norwegian, Norwegian (Bokmål), Persian, Polish, Portuguese, Portuguese (Brazil), Portuguese (Portugal), Romanian, Russian, Serbian, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish, Spanish (Argentina), Spanish (Bolivia), Spanish (Chile), Spanish (Colombia), Spanish (Costa Rica), Spanish (Dominican Republic), Spanish (Ecuador), Spanish (El Salvador), Spanish (Guatemala), Spanish (Honduras), Spanish (Latin America), Spanish (Mexico), Spanish (Nicaragua), Spanish (Panama), Spanish (Paraguay), Spanish (Peru), Spanish (Puerto Rico), Spanish (United States), Spanish (Uruguay), Spanish (Venezuela), Swahili, Swedish, Tagalog, Thai, Turkish, Ukrainian, Vietnamese, Welsh, and Yiddish

Was this article helpful?