Block someone

Block someone

On desktop

  1. Open Google+ and use the search bar at the top of the page to find their profile.
  2. Click the down arrow  next to their name.
  3. Select Report/block [person's name].
  4. Click the checkbox next to Block [person's name].
  5. Click Done in the lower-right corner.

On mobile

  • On Android: Go to their profile > Menu   > Block
  • On iOS: Go to their profile > Settings  > Block

You can block someone while editing your circles, in Hangouts, in Helpouts, or when reporting their content for violating our User Content and Conduct Policies. Hangouts On Air are live video Hangouts, which are broadcast via YouTube. If the host invites people you've blocked to a Hangout On Air, you may see video of each other participating in the Hangout and you may see each other's names, profile pictures, and questions or other content.

What happens when you block someone

The following are the results of blocking someone. Keep in mind that the limits placed upon the person you've blocked are only enforced when they're logged in. For instance, if someone you've blocked is signed in, they won't be able to see your public posts, but if they aren't signed in, they may be able to see those posts. When you block someone:
  • You won't see their content in your stream (even though you'll remain in their circles).
  • They'll be removed from any circles of yours that they appear in.
  • They'll be removed from your extended circles, even if you have mutual connections.
  • They won't be able to add new comments to your content. 
  • They won't be able to see your comments on other people's posts.
  • They won't be able to view any of your posts that you share after blocking them.
  • They won't be able to mention you in posts or comments.

When you block someone, we won't proactively notify them (unless you block them from within a video call). But since blocking someone limits the interactions that person can have with you, they may figure out that they've been blocked.

See people you've blocked

To see the list of people you've blocked, follow these steps:

  1. Open Google+. Place your cursor in the top left corner for the Google+ main menu.
  2. Click  People.
  3. Click Your circles at the top of the page.
  4. Click Actions in the left corner.
  5. Select View blocked.

Blocking and Communities

Communities in Google+ are shared spaces for users to gather and have conversations around common interests. Communities have owners and moderators: users who are responsible for managing these shared spaces so that everyone has a positive experience.

If you join a community that is managed by someone you've blocked, you will not see content they share. However, the person you've blocked, as a moderator, will be able to view and moderate the content you share in that community. They will not be able to +1 your comments or posts, nor will they be able to comment or reshare your posts or photos. As always, people you've blocked will not be able to see or interact with Google+ content you share outside of the community.

If you own or moderate a community and someone you've blocked is a member of that community, the content they share in that community will be hidden with the option to view the content for moderation purposes. You will not be able to +1 their comments or posts, nor will you be able to reshare or comment on their posts or photos.

Blocking and Hangouts

Visit our Hangouts Help Center to learn about blocking in Hangouts

Blocking and Helpouts

Visit our Helpouts Help Center to learn about blocking in Helpouts.