Setting your default language

You can use Google+ in any of the following languages:

  • Afrikaans
  • Amharic
  • Arabic
  • Basque
  • Bengali
  • Bulgarian
  • Catalan
  • Chinese (China)
  • Chinese (Hong Kong)
  • Chinese (Taiwan)
  • Croatian
  • Czech
  • Danish
  • Dutch
  • English (UK)
  • Estonian
  • Filipino
  • Finnish
  • French
  • French (Canada)
  • Galician
  • German
  • Greek
  • Gujarati
  • Hebrew
  • Hindi
  • Hungarian
  • Icelandic
  • Indonesian
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Kannada
  • Korean
  • Latvian
  • Lithuanian
  • Malay
  • Malayalam
  • Marathi
  • Norwegian
  • Persian
  • Polish
  • Portuguese (Brazil)
  • Portuguese (Portugal)
  • Romanian
  • Russian
  • Serbian
  • Slovak
  • Slovenian
  • Spanish
  • Spanish (Lat. Am.)
  • Swahili
  • Swedish
  • Tamil
  • Telugu
  • Thai
  • Turkish
  • Ukrainian
  • Urdu
  • Vietnamese
  • Zulu

The language preferences you set will apply to all Google properties. Since Google products aren't available in all languages, you can select languages in the order of which you most prefer to use. These preferences apply to all Google products, not just Google+. For example, let's say Nadia's native tongue is Indonesian, but she also speaks Persian. She sets her preferences to display Indonesian for all properties, or to display Persian if Indonesian isn't available. And since Nadia is a particularly ambitious woman, she sets her third language preference to Spanish, so that if Indonesian and Persian are unavailable, she'll be encouraged to learn a new language, and solidify her polyglot status.

To set your language preferences for Google products:

  1. Sign in to Google+ new window.
  2. Click your full name or email address in the Google bar.
  3. Click Account.
  4. Click Language on the left.
  5. Choose languages in order of your viewing preference.
If you change your default language, the names of your circles, including your default circles, won't change. You can always just edit your circle names.