Search
Clear search
Close search
Google apps
Main menu

Change sharing options

After you share photos, videos or albums in Google Photos, you can change who can see them at any time.

Let people see an album

  1. Open an album that you've created.
  2. At the top right, select More .
  3. Select Sharing options.
  4. Next to 'Share', turn the switch on or off.
  5. Copy the link that appears and send it to people.

Note: Anyone who has the link will be able to see the album and anyone who's joined the album.

Stop sharing an album

If you turn off 'Share':

  • No one will be able to see your album.
  • All comments and any photos that have been added by other people will be removed.
Note: If the person you've shared with has downloaded or copied photos or videos that you shared, deleting your shared link will not delete those downloads or copies.

Let people add photos to an album

When you share an album, this will be on by default.

  1. Open an album that you've created.
  2. At the top-right, select More .
  3. Select Sharing options.
  4. Next to 'Collaborate', turn the switch on or off. (If you can't see this, turn on 'Share' first.)

When this setting is on, anyone who has the link will be able to add to and see your album. If someone joins or adds photos to your album, you'll see their profile photo at the top of the album.

Stop people from adding photos

You can't stop individual people from adding items, but you can stop everyone from adding items.

Tip: To stop letting people see your album, turn off Share.

Turn commenting on or off

When you share an album, commenting will be on by default. To change this setting:

  1. Open an album that you've created.
  2. At the top-right, select More .
  3. Select Sharing options.
  4. Next to 'Comment', turn the switch on or off.

Stop people from commenting

If you turn commenting off, existing comments will still be shown unless you delete them.

To see or delete all of the comments that you've made, go to the activity log.

Remove an invite or leave an album

You can remove an invitation or leave an album at any time, depending on how you were invited.

If you were invited by phone number or email address

  1. Select More .
  2. Select Sharing options.
  3. Select Remove invite.

If you were invited through Google Photos

  1. Select More 
  2. Select Sharing options.
  3. Select Leave album.

Block someone on Google Photos

Learn how to block someone on Google Photos.

Brenna is a Google Photos expert and wrote this page. Help her improve it by leaving feedback below.

Was this article helpful?
How can we improve it?