Change “Back up & sync” settings

Check how and when your photos and videos are saved to your Google Account.

  1. Open the Google Photos app on your mobile device .
  2. At the top left, touch the menu icon .
  3. Select Settings > Back up & sync.
  4. If "Back up & sync" is on, you'll see these options:

Settings on Android & iOS

Choose a Google Account

Touch your account name to change which Google Account to save your photos and videos to.

Upload size

Choose between 2 storage sizes:

High quality

  • Unlimited free storage
  • Regular cameras: Recommended for phones or point-and-shoot cameras that are 16 megapixels (MP) or less.
  • Uses: Good for typical printing and sharing.
  • Size: Save high-quality photos and videos while reducing size.

Original

  • Limited free storage: Uses your Google Account's 15 GB of free storage. Check my storage
  • DSLR cameras: Recommended if you take photos with a DSLR camera and want to maintain the exact original quality.
  • Uses: Recommended for printing large banners or to store your original files.
  • Size: Store your photos and videos exactly as you captured them.
"Back up photos" or "Photos back up using cellular data"

Choose whether you want to back up your photos using your mobile network (rather than just WI-Fi).

Charges from your service provider may apply if you upload using your mobile network.

"Back up videos" or "Videos back up using cellular data"

Choose whether you want to back up your videos using your mobile network (rather than just WI-Fi).

Charges from your service provider may apply if you upload using your mobile network.

Settings only on Android

Choose folders to back up...

Back up folders on your phone or tablet, like photos you've downloaded, screenshots you've taken, or photos saved by other apps.

Roaming

Roaming allows photos and videos to upload while you're roaming on a mobile data network.

Charges from your service provider may apply if you turn this on.

While charging only

Turning this on can help you manage your device's battery life when using back up & sync. "While charging only" means that your photos and videos will only be uploaded when your device is connected to an external power source.

Back up all

Touch "Back up all" to upload your photos and videos according to the preferences you've set. For example, if you have "Back up photos" set to run only when you're connected to Wi-Fi, your photos will begin backing up only when your device is connected to Wi-Fi.

Andrea is a Photos expert and author of this help page. Help her improve this article by leaving feedback below.

How helpful is this article:

Feedback recorded. Thanks!
  • Not at all helpful
  • Not very helpful
  • Somewhat helpful
  • Very helpful
  • Extremely helpful