Hide your sensitive photos & videos

You can save sensitive photos and videos to a folder protected by your device screen lock in the Google Photos app. Items in Locked Folder won’t appear in the Photos grid, memories, search or albums and won’t be available to other apps on your device that have access to your photos and videos. 

Locked Folder is protected by Google Photos’ standard encryption practices. Learn how Google Photos keeps your data private & secure.

Set up Locked Folder

Important:

  • People who have access to your Google Account password can unlock the Locked Folder.
  • If you create a Locked Folder on your mobile device and don’t turn on backup, you won’t be able to view items in the folder on the web.
  • The first time you try to move photos and videos to Locked Folder, you'll be prompted to set it up.
  1. On your computer, open photos.google.com.
  2. Click Locked Folder.
  3. Tap Set up Locked Folder.
    • Your Locked Folder password is the same as your Google Account password. You can’t use a different Locked Folder password.
  4. Follow the on-screen instructions. If your folder is empty, you’ll find "Nothing here yet."

Move photos or videos to Locked Folder

Important:

  • If you move items to Locked Folder on your computer, they'll be visible in Locked Folder on your other devices.
  • When you move photos and videos to Locked Folder, related items aren’t moved. This includes copies, edited versions, and shared photos and videos saved by others.
  1. From the Photos app, tap Photos.
  2. Select the photos and videos you want in Locked Folder.
  3. At the top, tap More More and then Move to Locked Folder.
  4. Tap Move.

Tip: To move photos and videos from Trash to Locked Folder, first restore the content from Trash.

Learn more about Locked Folder

The difference between Locked Folder & Archive

Locked Folder keeps items hidden and protected by your device screen lock or Google Account password. Archived items can still be accessible.

Locked Folder items won't show up when you search in Google Photos, while Archived items will show up.

What you can do with items in your Locked Folder

You can:

  • Move them out of Locked Folder
  • Permanently delete them
  • Find them within Locked Folder after unlocking it

What you can’t do with items in Locked Folder

To prevent accidental exposure of your sensitive photos and videos, you can’t do the following with your Locked Folder content:

  • Add items to an album or photo book
  • Edit items or revert changes made before an item was moved to Locked Folder
  • Share items in Google Photos or with other apps like Instagram or Facebook
  • Move items to Trash
  • View photos or videos that your device can't display in original format or resolution

Important:

  • If backup is off, Locked Folder items that are saved locally to your device aren't transferred in USB to USB device transfers or Cloud data transfers.
  • If backup is off, Locked Folder items are deleted if you:
    • Factory reset your device
    • Clear app data
    • Delete the Photos app
  • To keep your Locked Folder items, turn on Locked Folder backup or individually back up items in your Locked Folder.
How Locked Folder items count towards your storage quota
Locked Folder items that are backed up do count towards your storage quota. Learn more about how storage works.
Where you can access items in Locked Folder

To find items you’ve moved to Locked Folder:

  • On your computer: Click Locked Folder.
  • On your mobile device: Tap Library and then Locked.

Where you can't access items in Locked Folder

To keep your sensitive photos and videos private, items in Locked Folder:

  • Won’t appear in search results, albums, shared items or any new memories.
  • Are removed from existing memories and draft print orders.
  • Aren’t available to share through third party apps.

Important: Your sensitive photos and videos won’t be shown on Google smart displays like Nest Hub or through Chromecast, although it may take up to an hour for items to disappear.

Why you may find copies of Locked Folder items in other areas of Photos
When you move a photo or video to Locked Folder, only the original item gets moved from wherever it appears in Google Photos. After an item is moved to Locked Folder, any new copies or copies you created or edited previously stay where they are stored, including items in trash, unless you move or delete them too.
Why a sharing recipient may still have access
If a shared photo is auto saved or saved by the user you shared it with, anything you do to your version of the shared photo won't apply to the copy that’s saved by the other user. This includes any edits, deletions, or transfers to your Locked Folder.
Learn about your eligibility for Locked Folder
Locked Folder is currently unavailable on fully managed devices and for certain account types. Please reach out to your device's admin or your account’s admin for more information.

Was this helpful?

How can we improve it?
Search
Clear search
Close search
Google apps
Main menu