Add someone by phone to a video meeting

This feature is currently supported from specific countries for calls to the U.S. and Canada using a web browser on your computerCalls to other countries are not yet supported. 

People in the same domain as the event organizer can invite others to join a video meeting by phone. Phone participants count toward a meeting’s user limit and any regular call charges apply.

Your G Suite administrator needs to turn on this feature. If you can’t add someone by phone, contact your admin for help. Who’s my admin?

  1. If you’re starting a video meeting, under Add others, click Add someone by phone.
  2. If you’re already in a video meeting, open the meeting details and click Add someone by phone.
  3. Select the country you’re calling to add the country code to the call.
  4. Enter the phone number for the person you want to call and click Call Call.
  5. (Optional) To enter additional numbers, such as an extension, click Dial Dialto open the keypad.

The person joins the meeting when they answer the phone. To hang up, expand the participant list, select the phone number, click Down Arrow and then End Call End call. You can also select Dial Dial  to reopen the keypad and enter additional numbers, if necessary.

Related topics

Supported countries

This feature is currently supported from the following countries for calls to the U.S. and Canada using a web browser on your computer. Calls to other countries are not yet supported.

  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Bahrain
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Belize
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • Bulgaria
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czechia
  • Denmark
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • El Salvador
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Georgia
  • Germany
  • Ghana
  • Greece
  • Guatemala
  • Hong Kong
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Iraq
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • India (no India to India calls)
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kuwait
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malaysia
  • Malta
  • Mauritius
  • Moldova
  • Nepal
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Nigeria
  • Norway
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Panama
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Paraguay
  • Philippines
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Qatar
  • Romania
  • Serbia
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • South Africa
  • Spain
  • Sri Lanka
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Turkey
  • Ukraine
  • United Kingdom
  • United States
  • Uruguay
  • Uzbekistan
  • Venezuela 
Was this article helpful?
How can we improve it?