Split your emails using Gmail Priority Inbox

When you choose the Priority Inbox setting, your emails are automatically split into three sections: important and unread, starred and everything else.  

Turn on priority inbox

  1. Open Gmail.
  2. To configure your inbox, go to the top right, then click Settings Settings and then Settings.
  3. Click the Inbox tab.
  4. In the "Inbox type" section, select Priority Inbox.
  5. Choose other inbox settings, such as which sections you want, and whether or not you want to see importance markers.
  6. At the bottom of the page, click Save changes.

Learn how emails are marked as important

Learn about importance markers in Gmail, including how importance markers are added automatically.

Clear search
Close search
Google apps
Main menu