Change your language settings

You can view Gmail in many different languages.

Change your language

  1. Open Gmail.
  2. Click the gear in the top right.
  3. Select Settings.
  4. At the top of the page, select a language from the "Gmail display language" drop-down menu in the "Language" section.
  5. Click Save Changes at the bottom of the page.

The Gmail interface will appear in the language of your choice after you click Save Changes. Remember, your Gmail's display language doesn't affect the language in which your messages are sent and received.

Available display languages

Choose from any of the following languages:

Afrikaans, Amharic, Arabic, Armenian, Azerbaijani, Basque, Bengali, Bulgarian, Burmese, Catalan, Cherokee, Chinese (Hong Kong), Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, Estonian, Finnish, French, French (Canada), Galician, German, Georgian, Greek, Gujarati, Hebrew, Hindi, Hungarian, Icelandic, Indonesian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Kannada, Khmer, Korean, Lao, Latvian, Lithuanian, Malay, Malayalam, Marathi, Mongolian, Nepali, Norwegian, Persian, Polish, Portuguese (Brazil and Portugal), Romanian, Russian, Serbian, Simplified Chinese, Sinhala, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish, Spanish (Latin America), Swahili, Swedish, Tagalog, Tamil, Telugu, Thai, Traditional Chinese, Turkish, UK English, US English, Ukrainian, Urdu, Vietnamese, Welsh, or Zulu.

Some of the features available in the English setting may not be available when you select another language setting. We're working hard to make all of Gmail's features available in every language setting, so thanks for your patience.

Vivian is a Gmail expert and the author of this help page. Leave her feedback about this help page.

Was this article helpful?
Watch video tutorials

To get the latest tips, tricks, and how-to's, subscribe to our YouTube Channel.