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Bid Simulation Reports

Bid Simulation reports give you a quick view of the overall bidding landscapes and help you determine what bids to make to be more successful. These reports present a series of simulations and their potential results, which you can download as CSV files.

This section includes the following topics:

Overview

Bid Simulation reports help you quickly determine what a high-performing bid for a particular hotel or set of hotels might be. The reports also help you evaluate the bid landscapes of opportunities and see the costs of those opportunities.

Tip: Only the last 30 days of Bid Simulation reports are available for download.

The columns in the Bid Simulation reports are divided into the following parts:

  • Bid Configurations: The first four columns define the characteristics of the bid simulation for each row. Simulations are run for combinations of the property ID, Bid Multipliers, and bid levels.
  • Simulation Results: The remaining rows display the simulation results of each bid configuration. There are three main types of simulation results:
    1. Impressions: Google estimates the number of impressions as well as the number of times the ad could appear in ad position 1 on the page (the most desirable ad position).
    2. Clicks: Google estimates the number of times end-users would click on ads and the cost of those clicks.
    3. Conversions: Google estimates the number of times an end-user would book a room and the cost of those conversions. 

The following image illustrates the sections of the Max CPC (Percent) Simulation report. Note: Reports for other bidding strategies will look slightly different.

Downloading the reports

Use the Intelligence view in the Hotel Ads Center to download Bid Simulation reports.

To download Bid Simulation reports:

  1. Open Hotel Ads Center in a browser.
  2. Select the Intelligence tab, then navigate to Bid Simulation in the left-hand navigation. Each row in the table represents a period in the past during which reports were run and stored for your viewing.
  3. Click the Download link in the Bid Simulation Report column for the row that you are interested in.

How simulated values are calculated

Bid values

The bid simulator collects and analyzes data from Hotel Ads auctions while considering information such as prices, quality score, traffic, and competition in the auction. The tool uses this information in conjunction with your historical bids and Bid Multipliers to estimate how your ads might have performed. The simulation produces a number of columns, each of which is described in more detail below.

Keep in mind that the bid simulator can provide insights into how different bids might have affected performance over the past 7 days, but it does not predict or guarantee future performance. Additionally, if your bids or Bid Multipliers have changed many times over the past 7 days, there may be more variance in the simulation.

Conversion values

Included in the simulation data is an estimated number of conversions and the value of those conversions. Because conversions rely not only on ad clicks, but also on the actions that customers take on your site, they are significantly more difficult to predict than other values. Removing, moving, or editing the conversion tracking tag could invalidate the estimates.

Don't make any major changes to your conversion tracking code for at least 2 weeks before using the bid simulators for conversion and conversion value estimates.

Report columns

The following table describes the columns in these reports:

Name Column Name Description
Bid Configuration
Property ID property_id A unique ID for the item that the simulated results apply to. This value can be one of the following:
  • hotel ID: A unique ID for the hotel as it appears in your Hotel List Feed. The simulated results in this row apply to that hotel.
  • "account_default": The simulated results in this row apply to hotels that have no group or individual bids set (the hotel uses the account's default bid settings).
  • group: Hotel Group name: The simulated results in this row apply to all hotels in that Hotel Group.
Uses Bid Multipliers bid_multipliers Whether or not Bid Multipliers used your existing Bid Multipliers. The simulator runs two scenarios: with and without Bid Multipliers. When using Bid Multipliers, the simulator uses your Bid Multipliers from the last 7 days (not included in the report).

"Yes" indicates that the simulation uses your existing multipliers when calculating the bids. "No" indicates that the simulation ignored bid multipliers when calculating the bids.

Uniform uniform Indicates the mode that the simulation ran in (whether or not the simulation used uniform bidding for account and group level bids). The meaning of the values is based on the following:
  • When Property ID = "account_default" or group:Hotel Group name (when the simulation applies to sets of hotels and not an individual hotel ID):

    The simulator runs two scenarios: one in which all bid overrides within the account or group are maintained (only bids for hotels without overrides are varied), and one where bid overrides are ignored (bids for all hotels are varied in the same way).

    • "No": Indicates that hotels with Hotel Group or individual bid settings used their own bid settings; the simulation maintained bid overrides.
    • "Yes": Indicates that hotels without Hotel Group or individual bid settings used the simulated bid settings; the simulation ignored bid overrides for all hotels in the set.
  • When Property ID = hotel ID:
    • Had no effect on simulation results for hotel-level bids.

Bid overrides are used when a hotel has a more specific bid than the simulated one. For example, if the group bid is being simulated and one of the group's hotels have an override bid, the hotel overrides the group bid and uses its own bid instead. If the "account_default" bid is being simulated and one of the hotel's groups have an override bid or the hotel itself has its own bid, then these bids will override as well.

For more information on bid overrides, see Bidding User Guide.

Simulated Bid simulated_bid_cpc_percent The amount of the simulated base bid, as a percentage of the total price of a typical itinerary for the hotel. For example, a value of 0.5 indicates that the simulated bid is .5% of the room rate [ insert image ]for a typical itinerary for this hotel.

The Bid Simulation report generates results for various bid levels, from 0.5 to 5.0, at quarter percent increments. As a result, each hotel has many simulated results rows (each bid level is also calculated with and without Bid Multipliers). This column will change depending on the type of report you download.

Simulation Results
Eligible Impressions eligible_impr The number of times an ad for this hotel could have been shown to end-users, when using the current bid configuration.

The difference between this value and the value of Actual Impressions is the number of missed opportunities that this hotel experienced.

Actual Impressions actual_impr The number of times an ad for this hotel could be shown with the current bid configuration.
Actual Impression Share actual_impr_share The percent of all impressions that the Actual Impressions value represents. A value of .5 indicates that the hotel's ad could be shown in 50% of all impressions if you used the current bid configuration.
Ad Position 1 Impressions ad_position_1_impr The number of times the ad could be shown in the first position in slot type "A" if you used the current bid configuration.
Ad Position 1 Impressions Share ad_position_1_impr_share The percent of all of the ad's impressions that the ad could be shown in the first position in slot type "A" if you used the current bid configuration. A value of .5 indicates that the hotel's ad could be shown in the first position in 50% of all impressions if you used the current bid configuration.

 

For more information, see Using First Position Bid Estimates.

Estimated Clicks clicks The estimated number of clicks your ads would have had when using the current bid configuration.
Estimated Cost of Clicks (USD) click_cost_usd The estimated cost of all clicks (in the clicks column) when using the current bid configuration.

 

To determine the average cost of each estimated click, you can simply divide click_cost_usd / clicks.

Estimated Conversions conversions The estimated number of conversions your ads would have had when using the current bid configuration.

 

This simulated data is available only to partners with conversion tracking enabled. In addition, your account must have a history of conversion tracking in order for us to provide reasonable estimations. If you do not have conversion tracking enabled or do not have enough historical conversions, then the values in this column are empty.

For information about how conversion values are calculated, see Conversion values.

Estimated Cost of Conversions (USD) converted_total_price_usd The estimated cost of all conversions (in the conversions column) when using the current bid configuration.

 

To determine the average cost of each estimated conversion, you can simply divide converted_total_price_usd / conversions.

This simulated data is available only to partners with conversion tracking enabled. In addition, your account must have a history of conversion tracking in order for us to provide reasonable estimations. If you do not have conversion tracking enabled or do not have enough historical conversions, then the values in this column are empty.

For information about how conversion values are calculated, see Conversion values.

Examples

Bid Simulation reports let you quickly see the effects of increasing bids, from .5% CPC to 5% CPC, in quarter percent increments.

By looking at different dimensions of the data, you can make informed decisions about how and where to increase your bids.

Example 1: Impression and Position Simulations

The following example highlights three bid configurations for a single property. The three highlighted configurations are for property 722 with Bid Multipliers; the highlighted bids are for bids with 2%, 3%, and 4% CPC. These examples use the 'Max CPC (Percent) Simulation' report, but you can pull the same simulation reports for ROAS or Commission bidding strategies.

Based on data with a baseline bid of 1% (in the simulated_bid_cpc_percent column) of the total price:

  • Increasing CPC to 2%: Could increase impressions by 24% and 31% in position 1 share
  • Increasing CPC to 3%: Could increase impressions by an additional 9% and position 1 share by another 22%
  • Increasing CPC to 4%: Could increase impressions by only 3% and increase position 1 share by only 4%
  • Increasing CPC to 5%: Likely results in no benefit at all

The recommended action for this example is to increase CPC to 3% and continue to monitor the bids. The most benefit might be realized by increasing the CPC to 3% for hotel 42 (when Bid Multipliers are used), but probably not much benefit beyond that.

Example 2: Click Simulations

The following example shows a report with clicks and click_cost_usd columns to highlight the changes in bid configurations on those dimensions:

In this example, you can see that as the simulated CPC increases, the number of clicks increases much more dramatically (and the cost per click increases much more gradually).

Example 3: Conversion Simulations

The following example shows a report that includes the conversions and converted_total_price_usd columns, with a calculated column on the far right:

In this example, you can see that as the simulated CPC increases, the cost per conversion goes down. For example, a CPC of 1% yields a simulated cost of $29.09. A CPC of 2% yields a simulated cost of $26.67. This represents a decrease of 9% in the cost per conversion.

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