Setting up distance learning? Learn how

/edu/classroom/community?hl=en
This content is likely not relevant anymore. Try searching or browse recent questions.
Why can't my students edit Google Suite files I've returned to them through Google Classroom?
1
My students work on iPads and the Google Classroom app. They also use the Google Suite apps. When I return an assignment that I've given feedback, students cannot edit the slides, docs, or sheets file. They are listed as the owner. The apps are all up-to-date. It is happening to all of my students as well as the students of my colleagues in my school. 

The students appear to be in view only mode when they are the owner and I've returned the assignment. 

This problem also occurs when a student unsubmits their work. 

Please fix this issue that seems to only happen on iPads within the Google Suite apps. I have been experiencing this problem since early 2020.
Details
Pinned
Locked
Latest Update Latest Updates (0)
Relevant Answer Relevant Answers (1)
Relevant Answer
This is the same issue I have seen for over 2 years. This is a post from last year on the same issue now going into year 3.

"Year 2 of iOS App still not always allowing students to see comments left by teachers in document.
We have had to make a video to show students how to solve a problem that has existed for years. There are other requests in this forum by me from last year with suggestions about a hard reboot. Trust me when I say, we have tried all of the routine things. Verified iOS is up to date, same for all apps, and have made sure that the human element is doing the correct steps. This is really a HUGE issue that needs to be fixed. As a Certified Google Education Trainer since 2014, I have never seen a problem languish unsolved as long as this one has to the detriment of all users and Google's Education work."

We are well past the normal iOS and App versions since this problem seems to be baked into the iOS experience. Teachers are now wishing we could use Flubaroo instead of Google Classroom as it was easier for work to be shared that way. Other teachers have students create folders to share with them and do all of the process work outside of Google Classroom. Students only turn in work to be graded via the iOS Google Classroom app. 

I wish there was a way to have this conversation remain open until it is fully resolved.
marked this as an answer
1
All Replies (5)
Educator & I.T. Admin - not a Google employee
Relevant Answer
Hello Ashley,
 
Can you verify that the iPads have the most updated version of iOS?
 
--         
Richard Napolitano
Director of Technology & Innovation
Google Certified Educator Level 2
Safety Harbor Montessori Academy
Clearwater, FL 33761
www.safetyharbormontessori.com
marked this as an answer
Relevant Answer
I have and I mentioned that in my question. This is an ongoing problem since last school year.
marked this as an answer
Google Product Expert since 2016
Relevant Answer
Ashley,
 
What version of iOS is on the devices?
 
Mark Loundy

Instructional Technology Specialist
Google Certified Educator
De Vargas Elementary School
Cupertino (Calif.) Union School District
marked this as an answer
Relevant Answer
This is the same issue I have seen for over 2 years. This is a post from last year on the same issue now going into year 3.

"Year 2 of iOS App still not always allowing students to see comments left by teachers in document.
We have had to make a video to show students how to solve a problem that has existed for years. There are other requests in this forum by me from last year with suggestions about a hard reboot. Trust me when I say, we have tried all of the routine things. Verified iOS is up to date, same for all apps, and have made sure that the human element is doing the correct steps. This is really a HUGE issue that needs to be fixed. As a Certified Google Education Trainer since 2014, I have never seen a problem languish unsolved as long as this one has to the detriment of all users and Google's Education work."

We are well past the normal iOS and App versions since this problem seems to be baked into the iOS experience. Teachers are now wishing we could use Flubaroo instead of Google Classroom as it was easier for work to be shared that way. Other teachers have students create folders to share with them and do all of the process work outside of Google Classroom. Students only turn in work to be graded via the iOS Google Classroom app. 

I wish there was a way to have this conversation remain open until it is fully resolved.
marked this as an answer
Relevant Answer
It only gets worse. Students now cannot see the To-Do list in the iOS app. I have been testing out just deleting the app and using Safari and it works great up until the student needs to do some work in the car on the way home as Safari or Chrome does not support offline use like Google Classroom. Pretty pitiful support by Google. As a 7 your Google Certified Trainer I have never seen this poorly of a response from Google. The To-Do list is a cornerstone of what makes Google Classroom so powerful so to have it not work creates a shaky structure to learn on. Yes, the student has homework assigned correctly by their teachers. Someone, please escalate this problem to the engineers!
marked this as an answer
This question is locked and replying has been disabled.
Discard post? You will lose what you have written so far.
Write a reply
10 characters required
Failed to attach file, click here to try again.
Discard post?
You will lose what you have written so far.
Personal information found

We found the following personal information in your message:

This information will be visible to anyone who visits or subscribes to notifications for this post. Are you sure you want to continue?

A problem occurred. Please try again.
Create Reply
Edit Reply
This will remove the reply from the Answers section.
Notifications are off
Your notifications are currently off and you won't receive subscription updates. To turn them on, go to Notifications preferences on your Profile page.
Report abuse
Google takes abuse of its services very seriously. We're committed to dealing with such abuse according to the laws in your country of residence. When you submit a report, we'll investigate it and take the appropriate action. We'll get back to you only if we require additional details or have more information to share.

Go to the Legal Help page to request content changes for legal reasons.

Reported post for abuse
Unable to send report.
Report post
What type of post are you reporting?
Google takes abuse of its services very seriously. We're committed to dealing with such abuse according to the laws in your country of residence. When you submit a report, we'll investigate it and take the appropriate action. We'll get back to you only if we require additional details or have more information to share.

Go to the Legal Help page to request content changes for legal reasons.

Reported post for abuse
Unable to send report.
This reply is no longer available.
/edu/classroom/threads
//accounts.google.com/ServiceLogin
You'll receive email notifications for new posts at
Unable to delete question.
Unable to update vote.
Unable to update subscription.
You have been unsubscribed
Deleted
Unable to delete reply.
Removed from Answers
Removed from Updates
Marked as Recommended Answer
Marked as Update
Removed recommendation
Undo
Unable to update reply.
Unable to update vote.
Thank you. Your response was recorded.
Unable to undo vote.
Thank you. This reply will now display in the answers section.
Link copied
Locked
Unlocked
Unable to lock
Unable to unlock
Pinned
Unpinned
Unable to pin
Unable to unpin
Marked
Unmarked
Unable to mark
Reported as off topic
Known Issue
Fixed
Marked Fixed
Unmarked Fixed
Unable to mark fixed
Unable to unmark fixed
/profile/0
false
Search
Clear search
Close search
Google apps
Main menu
Search Help Center
true
0
false