Stop, limit, or change sharing
After you share a file, you can stop sharing a file at any time. You can also prevent someone you’ve shared with from changing or sharing your file.
Stop sharing a file
If you’re sharing a file with people, the owner or anyone with edit access can change the sharing settings for the file.
When you delete a link to a file, only you and people you share the file with directly will still have access.
If you delete a shared file that you own:
- People that can view, comment, or edit will be able to make a copy until you permanently delete it.
- To permanently delete the file, find the file in your trash and tap More Delete forever.
If you delete a shared file that you do not own:
- It will be removed from your Drive, but still accessible to other collaborators.
- To get the file back, open a link to the file. You’ll see the file in "Shared with me."
Change share settings for Google Forms
Google Forms often have different sharing options than other kinds of files.
Evan is a Docs & Drive expert and author of this help page. Leave him feedback below about the page.