Change your language setting for Docs, Sheets, and Slides

Change your language

If Google Docs, Sheets, or Slides is appearing in a language you don't understand or don't want to use, you can change the language.

  1. Open the Docs, Sheets, or Slides home screen.
  2. Click the Menu in the top-left corner of your screen.
  3. Click the Settings icon.
  4. On the Settings page, click the drop-down menu next to Language.
  5. Select the language you want to use.
  6. Click Save.

Language options

Here are the languages that you can choose from in Google Doc, Sheets, and Slides:

Afrikaans, Amharic, Arabic, Armenian, Azerbaijani, Basque, Bengali, Bulgarian, Catalan, Chinese (Hong Kong), Chinese (Simplified), Chinese (Traditional), Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, English (UK), Estonian, Farsi, Filipino, Finnish, French, French (Canada), Galician, Georgian, German, Greek, Gujarati, Hebrew, Hindi, Hungarian, Icelandic, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Kannada, Khmer, Korean, Lao, Latvian, Lithuanian, Malay, Malayalam, Marathi, Mongolian, Nepali, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese (Portugal), Portuguese (Brazil), Romanian, Russian, Serbian, Sinhala, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish, Spanish (Latin America), Swedish, Tamil, Telugu, Thai, Turkish, Ukranian, Urdu, Vietnamese, and Zulu.

To make sure that your language selection doesn’t change, you may need to enable cookies. If you use Google Chrome, learn how to allow cookies. If you use another browser, follow the instructions in your browser's help center to allow cookies:

Mary is a Docs & Drive expert and author of this help page. Leave her feedback below about the page.

Was this article helpful?