Purchase digital out-of-home inventory

Digital out-of-home (DOOH) media lets you serve media advertisements in public environments to engage audiences beyond online advertising. Expand your media mix to highly visible areas such as digital billboards, signage, and screens that appear in places of business.

You can consolidate and simplify your digital out-of-home work flow in Display & Video 360 to:

  • Discover a diverse set of digital out-of-home inventory in Marketplace through programmatic guaranteed deals or preferred deals.
  • Discover inventory within marketplace and plan your campaign using a request for proposal (RFP) based on:
    • How many times an ad will play
    • Billboard placement details
    • How many people will view the ad (provided by the publisher)
  • Build and execute campaigns using automated executions and real-time bidding (RTB) to scale up or down.
  • Efficiently reach publisher defined audiences in international markets.

Topics in this article

About digital out-of-home impressions

Digital out-of-home publishers measure impressions by using an impression multiplier which uses a publisher estimate for the number of viewers for each ad. The impression multiplier determines the publisher impressions and publisher cost per mile (CPM).

The publisher impressions are different from served impressions, which show the number of times an ad was shown on a screen. Since Display & Video 360 shows both publisher impressions and served impressions, make sure that you're looking at publisher impressions for digital out-of-home campaigns.

  • Publisher impressions: The publisher’s estimated number of viewers per digital out of home ad.

    Example

    When an advertiser negotiates to buy an ad unit from a publisher for a billboard on Time Square, the publisher estimates that an average 500 people will see each impression.
     
    To calculate using this estimate as the impression multiplier:
    5 impressions x 500 impression multiplier = 2500 publisher impressions
  • Publisher CPM: The cost per thousand impressions is calculated using the publisher impressions.

    Example

    If 5 served impressions (2500 publisher impressions) cost $25, the publisher CPM would be calculated as:

    $25 / 2500 publisher impressions x 1000 = $10 publisher CPM

Available digital out-of-home inventory sellers

The following digital out-of-home inventory sellers are available on Display & Video 360. 

Note
Marketplace doesn't display all available publishers. You may have to negotiate the deal offline, then import the deal to continue your deal negotiation workflow in Display & Video 360.

Exchange

Deal types supported

Creative formats 

Hivestack

Non-Programmatic Guaranteed deals only
  • Display
  • Video

Intersection

Non-Programmatic Guaranteed deals only
  • Display
  • Video
Magnite Non-Programmatic Guaranteed deals only
  • Display
  • Video

Broadsign (via Magnite)

Non-Programmatic Guaranteed deals only
  • Video

Place Exchange

Non-Programmatic Guaranteed deals only
  • Display
  • Video
Ströer Non-Programmatic Guaranteed deals only
  • Video

VIOOH

Non-Programmatic Guaranteed deals only
  • Display
  • Video

Vistar

Non-Programmatic Guaranteed deals only
  • Display
  • Video

Buy digital out-of-home inventory

You can explore and negotiate a diverse range of digital out-of-home inventory by negotiating offline with the seller or exploring available digital out-of-home sellers on Marketplace.

Negotiating digital out-of-home deals offline with the seller

You can import DOOH deals you've negotiated offline into Display & Video 360 using their deal or order ID:

  • Deal ID: A unique identifier generated by the exchange or inventory seller. Contact the seller if you don’t already know your deal ID.

Importing a deal lets you to continue your workflow in your Display & Video 360 advertiser account, where you can accept your deal. To learn more about how to import a negotiation, go to Negotiate a deal.

Exchanges integrated through the seller API are able to automatically sync their deals and details to create an inventory source for you in Display & Video 360. Learn more About synced deals.

Buy digital out-of-home inventory through Marketplace

You can explore available digital out-of-home inventory through Marketplace. The available products vary per publisher. Digital out of home inventory are negotiated using publisher impressions and publisher CPMs

Important

You're charged the full cost of the programmatic guaranteed DOOH deal once the deal ends. 

You can check the number of impressions served and compare it to the number of impressions you negotiated by generating a standard report 7 days after the deal end date. 

If the deal underdelivers, you'll automatically get a refund for undelivered impressions within 7 days of the deal end date.

Send a request for proposal

To buy digital out-of-home inventory, you’ll need to send a request for proposal (RFP):

Choose your DOOH inventory publisher

  1. Go to the partner or advertiser level.
  2. Go to Inventory and then Marketplace.
  3. Choose the Out of home tab to find publishers for digital out of home inventory. 
    • (Optional) You can use the Filter to help refine your search by: product, location, venue, creative type, and orientation.
  4. In the Publisher column: Select the publisher link to view an overview of their inventory summary.
  5. Select Request proposal to view their available products. 
  6. Under Products
    • Choose a product by selecting Request proposal or
    • Choose select all to select custom locations
  7. Under the Ad units tab: Select Ad units from the list or view them on a map by selecting the map icon on the top-right of the table. The map view lets you geographically visualize and plan where you want to show your ads.
    • (Optional) You can turn on the Selected ad units tab to verify the coverage of your selected ad units.
  8. When you’re done, select Next.

Enter details for your RFP

  1. Enter an RFP name and the CC emails you want to include in the negotiation.
Note: Any emails included in the RFP have access to the details you’ve entered.
  1. Enter the media agency name. 
  2. Advertiser: Enter your advertiser name. You can use your Display & Video 360 advertiser name or enter a custom name. 
  3. Enter your Budget information. 
  4. Enter the Start date and End date.
  5. (Optional) Under Day and time: You can select the day of the week and a time frame you want your ads to display on the venue.
  6. Placements: Confirm the ad units you’ve selected are correct. You can choose to Edit selection to make changes.
  7. You can view the creative type and creative specifications that’s compatible with the product you’re negotiating in the RFP.
    • The publisher sets the creative specifications depending on where the DOOH inventory is placed. Contact the publisher for more details about the creative requirements for the venue.
  8. When you’re done, select Send.

After you complete your RFP, the publisher reviews your request. You can view your pending negotiations under Inventory > Negotiations. When the publisher comments on or accepts your negotiation, the negotiation status updates to "Action required”.  

The publisher may accept the deal or only parts of the deal. Contact the publisher to verify the details before accepting the negotiation. After reviewing the details with the publisher, you can choose to accept, propose changes, or review changes to the negotiation.

Assign digital out of home inventory to line items

You can assign your new inventory to your insertion orders and line items by choosing digital out of home as the insertion order or line item type.

Learn more about how to manage and assign your programmatic guaranteed deals on Manage your deals.

To pause a programmatic DOOH deal, you must contact the publisher directly to stop serving the creative. Pausing the insertion order or campaign in Display & Video 360 won't stop the deal from spending.

Reporting

To view metrics that include publisher impressions, you can use the predefined view for digital out of home. Alternatively, you can view publisher impressions by expanding the Delivery column. 

To view digital out of home metrics for your campaigns: 

  1. Go to Campaign.
  2. From the Predefined views, use the drop arrow to select Digital out of home.

You can also generate a standard report for your digital out of home campaigns using the following dimensions and metrics. For a full list, see dimensions and metrics.

  • Dimensions:
    • Advertiser
    • Campaign
    • Insertion order
    • Line item
    • Creative
    • Date
  • Metrics:
    • Publisher impressions
    • Publisher CPM
Billboard type and media name are dimensions that may be available for some sellers. If you require geographical reporting, contact the seller to check availability.

Considerations

Creatives

  • You won’t be able to edit a creative: Once a creative has been assigned to an insertion order or line item, editing it would result in the publisher review becoming invalid. This can delay your ad delivery.
  • Creative dimensions: For video line items, only use one dimension per line item per deal ID. Line items will still serve if this is not honored but there may be edge cases where the creative dimensions may be mismatched for a specific screen depending on the supplier.  
  • Creative restrictions: DOOH inventory can reach many people at once in public settings where sensitive content may need to be moderated. Our supply partners must adhere to local laws on what may be shown on various screens. Display & Video also categorizes creatives with sensitive labels. If your creative has been classified as sensitive and the line item is not bidding, it may be because it has been deemed to be too sensitive for DOOH. Even creatives with an ‘Approved’ status may not serve for DOOH if the creative has also flagged as sensitive for certain sensitive categories. Learn more about creative review 
  • Only Display & Video 360 creatives are supported: Only static display images and standard videos are supported. HTML5, dynamic, and other high impact formats for DOOH are not supported. 

Delivery

  • Ad delivery: May take an average of 24 hours to deliver.  

Targeting

  • The availability of the following targeting methods varies depending on the seller. Work with the seller for details:
    • Geo-targeting: Lets you to target based on location. Built-in geo-targeting in Display & Video 360 requires that the seller sends the correct IP address of the screen in the bid request. 
    • Day parting: Lets you to enter a date and time range for your ad to display.
  • Target only within the deal assignment: Additional targeting outside the deal assignment may result in delivery issues.

Troubleshooter

  • Deal troubleshooter is unavailable for digital out-of-home campaigns. 

Measurement

  • The DOOH publishers with inventory available in Display & Video 360 work with reputable third-party vendors or marketing analytics firms like Geopath that use industry accepted measurements.
  • Google doesn't get any user-specific measurement data from suppliers. Only aggregated impression multipliers on a per screen basis to relay the success of the campaign to buyers. 
  • Display & Video 360 performs extensive exchange and publisher checks to maintain a high standard for publisher impression methodology but is not responsible for and doesn't perform any measurement directly. 
  • Display & Video 360 suppliers are subject to legal and policy-based obligations to abide by all local laws for creative placement and user consent for measurement if applicable. 
  • Make sure to work directly with the supplier to understand their measurement methodology and deal terms before executing your DOOH inventory.

Advertisers are advised to seek third-party data sources and verification services for DOOH.

  • The multiplier factor is an estimation, from the publisher, on the viewer foot traffic volume. 
  • The ad creative delivery event is reported by the publisher. Traditional impression measurement on user devices is not applicable to DOOH. 

Frequently asked questions

Why can't I see a specific ad unit while creating an RFP

Suppliers control which products and units are shown. If you don’t see a unit you negotiated with the supplier, contact the supplier to confirm inventory availability.

Why can't I see any spend?

Confirm the following:

  • It has been at least 24 hours since set up. Ramp up time may be delayed and take up to 24 hours to see delivery.
  • The correct creative duration is targeted. For example, the creatives targeted are 15-second videos and the creatives in the line item are also 15 seconds. 
  • The creative has not been changed mid flight.
  • The creative is approved and not tagged with sensitive categories labels. If rejected, it will not serve.
  • Check with the supplier to see if they are seeing bid responses.

Where is my deal in the Negotiations tab?

Confirm the SSP has accepted the RFP. Sometimes they may not be aware that the RFP has been sent. If the supplier has not accepted the RFP, work with the supplier to accept the RFP. Provide your partner ID and advertiser ID to the supplier to troubleshoot.

Why does my deal appear to be underpacing?

In the Performance view, CPM is based on served impressions rather than publisher impressions. Use the Digital Out of Home view to see DOOH-centric metrics based on publisher impressions and publisher CPM. Intelligence Panel recommendations aren’t applicable for DOOH.

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