Delete a user from your organization

This page is for G Suite administrators who manage user accounts for a company, school, or other group, or for Cloud Identity administrators. If you want to delete your own personal Google Account, go here instead.

When a user leaves your organization, you can delete their account. As an administrator, you can transfer files and data owned by the user. Files that the user does not own are not affected. If you do not transfer the content to another user, the content is deleted.

If you delete a user

If you delete a user, they cannot access any of your organization’s G Suite services and the following data is deleted:

  • G Suite data—All file types, Gmail, and calendar data (except for shared calendars).
  • Sites pages—Except for pages created by the user in classic Sites. As an admin, you can delete the classic Sites pages. See Edit classic Sites at your domain.
  • Google Vault—All the user's Vault data is deleted after 30 days, regardless of any retention settings or holds that might be in effect. Data that’s in a deleted state can be recovered for up to 20 days only. Deleted data can be expunged immediately. See Google Vault FAQ.
  • Google Play—The user's Google Play developer account. You can transfer some apps to another developer account. For details, see Transfer apps to a different developer account.
  • Google Cloud Platform (GCP)—The user cannot access GCP resources. The user's Identity and Access Management (IAM) policy bindings remain on the associated resources for up to 30 days. If the user is not a member of a GCP organization, any projects become orphaned. For details, see Suspended vs Orphaned Projects.
  • Brand Account assets—Any assets owned solely by one user, such as YouTube channels. If there are other owners, the assets are transferred to another owner’s G Suite account. If the user is the sole owner, consider choosing a new owner before you delete the user. For details, see Manage your Brand Account.
  • YouTube videos and other non-core services content—Content in the user's non-core services, such as YouTube videos and Blogger blogs.
  • Cloud Identity—All data for that user.
  • Classroom—If you delete a G Suite for Education account, the teacher or student can’t access Classroom or Drive.
  • Google Groups—The user does not have access to the service, but any groups they created are not deleted, even if they were the only member.

For more information on how to export or transfer ownership of user data in the products listed above, see Before you delete a user (below). You must wait until the user's account is completely deleted from G Suite before you can reuse the user’s G Suite license. The deletion process can take several hours.

Before you delete a user

Open all   |   Close all

Make sure you really want to delete them
  • Review If you delete a user (above).
  • If you’re trying to resolve a conflicting account, don't delete the account to address the problem. If that person uses G Suite services for email, calendars, and other services, they’ll lose data and access to services when you delete their account. Instead, see About conflicting accounts.
  • If you want to change the username of a team member, you don't need to delete their account. You can create an alias—a nickname—for that user. Then, they can have an email address using that name. See Rename a user.
Transfer their email

If you want to transfer a user's email to another account, do it before deleting the account. If you don’t, all their email will be deleted and cannot be retrieved. For details, see Use DMS to migrate email between G Suite accounts.

Transfer important files and data

You can only transfer files and data owned by the user. Whoever you transfer the data to becomes the new owner. Files that the user does not own are not affected. Content that's not transferred to another user is deleted. Google Drive files are deleted after 20 days.

Here are your choices for transferring data:

  • If you're a super admin, you can transfer the files during the deletion process. See Delete a user.
  • Any administrator can transfer ownership of the user’s Drive files, including files in shared drives, before the user is deleted. See Transfer Drive files to a new owner.
  • If you’re a super admin and are deleting multiple users, you can export the users’ data using a tool. See Export your organization's data.
  • You can also allow users to export their own data. To set it up, see Turn Takeout on or off for users and then direct your users to review and complete the steps in Download your data.
Transfer shared calendars

The user's primary calendar is deleted after 20 days. Any shared calendars are not deleted. To transfer ownership of shared calendars, give another user permission to make changes and manage sharing on the shared calendar. See Share your calendar with someone.

Set up an autoreply and forward emails from their email address
  1. Sign in to the Google Admin console and follow the steps to Reset the user’s password.
  2. Sign in as that user.
  3. In Gmail, forward their messages. See Automatically forward Gmail messages to another account.
  4. Set up an autoreply message. See Turn your vacation reply on or off.

For example, in the subject line, you could enter "Address outdated, but your email was received and forwarded to your new contact."

Check if you have business email powered by G Suite

See Signed up for business email powered by G Suite?.

Warning: If you delete the account of someone who signed up for business email powered by G Suite with a personal Gmail account, the deleted user’s access to the personal account is removed. If that user purchased a domain for the account through Google Domains, you can no longer manage the domain either. To retain access, transfer the domain to a different Google Domains account.

Transfer ownership of a class

If you’re deleting a teacher in Classroom, you can transfer their classes to other teachers. For details, see Transfer ownership of a class.

Delete a user

  1. Sign in to your Google Admin console.

    Sign in using your administrator account (does not end in @gmail.com).

  2. From the Admin console Home page, go to Users.
  3. (Optional) To delete a single user:
    1. In the Users list, find the user. For details, see find a user account.
    2. Point to the user you want to delete and click More and then Delete user.
  4. (Optional) To delete multiple users:
    1. From the Users list, check the box next to each user that you want to delete.
    2. At the top of the page, click More and then Delete selected users.

      Tip: If all users belong to the same organizational unit, select it on the left to find the users more easily.

  5. If you’re a delegated admin (not a super admin), check the boxes to confirm that you understand the impact of deleting the account.
  6. (Optional, for super admins only) To transfer ownership of user content:
    1. Check the boxes next to each option that you want.
    2. In the Transfer to box, enter the first few characters of the user's name or email address that you want to transfer the files to. When you see the account you want, select it.
  7. Click Delete User or Delete Users.

When the data is transferred and the account deleted, we email the contacts you set up in Company profile and then Profile and then Contact information.

Restore a deleted user

You can restore a recently deleted account for up to 20 days only. See Restore a recently deleted user.

Was this helpful?
How can we improve it?