Google Cloud Credentials


I’m just getting started in my Google Cloud journey - which credential(s) is right for me?

  1. Cloud Certificates: Cloud Certificates develop and validate your cloud knowledge and skills for in-demand entry level cloud roles, in areas like data analytics and cybersecurity. 
  2. Skill Badges: Skill badges validate your hands-on abilities with Google Cloud products in real-world scenarios. Available at introductory, intermediate, and advanced levels - skill badges highlight your specific hands-on cloud skills and dedication to continuous learning.
  3. Google Cloud Certifications: Associate or Professional Google Cloud Certifications validate your breadth of knowledge and skills related to a cloud job role. Certifications demonstrate your ability to apply knowledge and hands-on skills based on technical and/or business requirements within an enterprise setting.

I’m already Google Cloud certified, do skill badges add value to my career?

Yes! Earning Skill Badges is a great way to validate a specific focused, cloud computing skill. Skill badges validate hands-on skills and your ability to apply that specific skill in a real-life scenario. They’re also a great way to highlight your ongoing dedication to skill development and continuous learning.


How do I earn a skill badge vs. a Google Cloud certification?

A skill badge is earned by completing a series of hands-on labs and passing a final assessment challenge lab to test a learner’s skills, through the Google Cloud Skills Boost on-demand learning platform.

A certification is earned by  passing a proctored Google Cloud certification exam. 

For more information on skill badges, visit

For more information on Google Cloud certifications, visit

Need more help?

Try these next steps:

Clear search
Close search
Google apps
Main menu