Retake Policy


Our efforts toward maintaining exam security and implementing testing policies are meant to protect the integrity of the certified user cohort. Google Cloud ensures careful and consistent enforcement of program policies.

Our Retake Policy has recently been updated. Please see below for details:

  • Cloud Digital Leader: you have a maximum of ten attempts within a one year period and  must wait at least 14 days between each failed attempt.
  • Associate and Professional certification exams: you have a maximum of four attempts in a two year period. If you don't pass the exam, you can take it again after 14 days. If you don't pass the second time, you must wait 60 days before you can take it a third time. If you don't pass the third time, you must wait 365 days before taking it a fourth time.

All attempts, regardless of exam language and delivery method (onsite or online testing), count toward the total permissible attempts, and the waiting period between attempts still applies. Circumventing this retake policy by registering under a different name or any other means is a violation of our Exam Terms and Conditions and will result in a denied or revoked certification.

Payment is required each time you register for an exam.

Need more help?

Try these next steps:

Clear search
Close search
Google apps
Main menu