Choose keyboard language & special characters

You can use different keyboard languages, sometimes called input methods, on your Chromebook to:

  • Change your typing language
  • Use special characters, like accent marks or currency symbols

Set your keyboard language

  1. Click your account photo.
  2. Click Settings Settings and then Advanced.
  3. Optional: To add another keyboard language, click Language and then Add languages. Select your language(s) and click Add.
  4. In the "Languages and input" section, click Input method and then Manage input methods.
  5. Check the boxes next to the keyboard languages you'd like to use.
  6. Click Back Back.
  7. Click the keyboard language you want to use. You’ll see "Enabled" listed under the current keyboard.
  8. Optional: To see all your keyboard language options on your desktop, turn on Show input options in the shelf.

Switch between keyboard languages

If you have more than one keyboard language turned on, you’ll see the language you’re using next to your account photo.

  1. Click your account photo.
  2. Click your keyboard language Input.
  3. Choose the keyboard language you want to use.

Note: You can also switch your language by pressing Ctrl + Shift + Space until you see the language you want. To switch back, press Ctrl + Space.

Add accent marks

The U.S. International keyboard has the following accent marks:

Acute (é) + letter

Grave (à)

+ letter
Tilde (ñ) Right Alt + ~ + letter
Circumflex (ô) Shift + ^ + letter
Umlaut/diaeresis (ü) Shift + + letter
Cedilla (ç) ' + c
Was this article helpful?
How can we improve it?