Clear search
Close search
Google apps
Main menu

Choose keyboard language and special characters

You can use different keyboard languages, sometimes called input methods, on your Chromebook to:

  • Change your typing language
  • Use special characters, like accent marks or currency symbols

Set your keyboard language

  1. Sign in to your Chromebook.
  2. Click the status area, where your account picture appears.
  3. Click Settings Settings and then Show advanced settings.
  4. In the "Languages" section, click Language and input settings.
  5. In the left column, select the language you'd like to use.
    • If the language you want to use isn't already listed, click Add, pick the language you want to use, then click OK.
  6. In the right column, check the boxes next to the keyboards you want to use.
  7. Click Done.

Switch between languages

If you have more than one keyboard language turned on, the language you're using will appear in the status area. To switch your language, press Ctrl + ShiftSpace until you see the language you prefer.

You can also use the status area:

  1. Click the status area, where your account picture appears.
  2. Click your keyboard language Keyboard.
  3. Click the keyboard language you want to use from the list that appears.

Casey is a Chromebook expert and author of this help page. Help her improve this article by leaving feedback below.

Was this article helpful?
How can we improve it?
Watch video tutorials

To get the latest tips, tricks, and how-to's, subscribe to our YouTube Channel.