驗證資料檢視篩選器

先測試篩選器再套用到資料檢視可節省時間,並保護您的資料。

實際建立篩選器前,您可以運用篩選器驗證功能預覽篩選器對您獲得的流量有哪些影響。驗證篩選器有以下優點:

  • 篩選器的影響要過一段時間 (長達 24 小時) 才會反映在資料中。透過驗證篩選器,您便可當下瞭解篩選器可能產生的影響。
  • 篩選器的影響力是永久的,資料一經篩選就無法復原。透過驗證篩選器,您便可在儲存篩選器並對實際資料造成潛在負面影響前,先找出錯誤或問題所在。
  • 篩選器驗證功能讓測試篩選器變得簡單許多。

基於上述原因,先驗證再儲存篩選器是比較保險的做法。

本文內容:

影片總覽

如果您沒有時間閱讀整篇文章,不妨觀看這部短片 (約 3 分鐘),快速瞭解概要內容。

篩選器驗證總覽

驗證篩選器的方式

即使有篩選器驗證功能幫忙把關,我們仍然強烈建議您先對測試用資料檢視試用新篩選器,看看效果如何,再套用到實際資料檢視。
  1. 按照《建立/管理資料檢視篩選器》中的步驟建立篩選器,並套用至資料檢視。
  2. 儲存篩選器前,按一下 [驗證這個篩選器] 連結。
  3. 有需要的話,請調整您的篩選器設定並按一下 [再次驗證] 連結,直到「套用篩選器後」的樣本資料符合您的預期。
  4. 若篩選器沒有傳回任何結果,並顯示下列訊息:
    「本篩選器未更改您的資料。」
    
    您可以修改篩選器或是按一下 [使用較多的資料進行驗證]。
  5. 確認篩選器運作方式符合需求後,按一下 [儲存] 按鈕來儲存篩選器。

篩選器驗證功能的運作原理

篩選器驗證功能會從指定資料檢視的實際資料中擷取 7 天的取樣資料,接著對這份資料套用尚未儲存的新篩選器,然後比較新篩選器篩出的結果及原始取樣資料,並列出有變化的資料列。這種運作方式類似於文字編輯器的「比較檔案」功能或命令行「diff」程式。

篩選器驗證會在預覽表格中顯示變更資料列,其中包含「套用篩選器前」和「套用篩選器後」欄。「套用篩選器前」欄顯示的是可能已受建議篩選器影響的原始資料列 (如果您上週已套用這個篩選器),「套用篩選器後」欄顯示的則是這些資料列在套用新篩選器後可能的模樣。「套用篩選器前」和「套用篩選器後」欄之間的差異,就是新篩選器如果在 7 天前生效所可能產生的影響 (就好像您自己的 Analytics (分析) 能穿越時空一樣)!

下圖是預覽表格的範例。所使用的篩選器會排除 [主機名稱] 欄位包含「ads.google.com」的匹配。「套用篩選器前」表格 (標示為項目 1) 顯示的是套用篩選器前的資料列,「套用篩選器後」表格 (圖片中標示為項目 2) 則顯示這些資料列會遭到篩選器移除。

Screenshot of filter verification preview table showing before and after columns for a filter excluding hostname contains adwords.google.com. Before table shows 2 rows affected by the filter. After table contains no rows, showing the filter would exclude those rows.
篩選器驗證預覽表格

有時候,初始取樣資料裡沒有任何符合篩選條件的資料列。在這種情況下,您不會看到預覽表格。不過,您可以選擇調整篩選器 (也許先前未正確設定),或將目前的篩選器套用到更多的樣本資料列。如果您選擇這麼做,Analytics (分析) 就會像之前一樣執行同一個樣本查詢,但會增加傳回的資料列數目。

如果仍然沒看到預覽表格,該怎麼辦?

如果 Analytics (分析) 仍然找不到任何可能會受建議篩選器影響的資料列,可能是因為目前的資料檢視並未收集建議篩選器指定的資料。建議您使用不同的資料檢視,或查看目前的資料檢視是否套用了其他篩選器,才導致這樣的問題發生。

篩選器驗證範例

假設您目前正在收集 3 個主機名稱的匹配:support.mycompany.comsales.mycompany.comads.mycompany.com。您需要一個只顯示 support 網域匹配資料的資料檢視,因此建立了一個新的資料檢視,並定義了一個「自訂」篩選器,其中包含與「篩選器模式」support\.mycompany\.com 相符的 [主機名稱] 欄位。

為了驗證這個篩選器,Analytics (分析) 會計算取樣率,並從這個資料檢視過去 7 天的實際資料中選出一組基準資料列。最後選出的資料看起來可能會像這樣:

 

樣本資料
主機名稱 工作階段 網頁瀏覽量
service.mycompany.com 337 1,011
support.mycompany.com 3,707 35,722
sales.mycompany.com 148,280 1,357,773
   

 

接下來,Analytics (分析) 會將您要建立的新篩選器套用至原始取樣資料,並標示出此篩選器會變更哪些資料列,這一組就是「套用篩選器前」的資料列。只有新篩選器原本會包含、排除或變更的紀錄,才會顯示在「套用篩選器前」資料檢視中。

「套用篩選器後」的資料列組會顯示篩選器對受影響資料列實際採取的動作 (也就是包含、排除或變更)。

在這個範例中,我們要篩選的是 support\.mycompany\.com。「套用篩選器前」欄包含主機名稱內含該網域的所有資料列 (在本例中只有一個),「套用篩選器後」欄顯示的則是對所有樣本資料套用這個「包含」篩選器後的結果:只包含一個相符的資料列。

 

套用篩選器前
主機名稱 工作階段 網頁瀏覽量
support.mycompany.com 3,707 35,722
套用篩選器後
主機名稱 工作階段 網頁瀏覽量
support.mycompany.com 3,707 35,722

篩選器驗證功能相關限制

  • 篩選器驗證功能使用計算過的取樣資料,因此無法保證結果不論如何都能準確無誤。您應該始終保留資料未經篩選的資料檢視作為備份。
  • 基於隱私方面的考量,您無法使用地理位置相關欄位驗證篩選器。
  • 您無法驗證進階篩選器。

建立及管理資料檢視篩選器

這對您有幫助嗎?
我們應如何改進呢?

還有其他問題嗎?

登入即可獲得其他支援選項,快速解決您的問題

Search
Clear search
Close search
Google apps
Main menu

Help us improve Analytics Education. Tell us how you like to learn!

Verify your filter

Save time and protect your data by testing filters before applying them to a view.

Filter verification lets you preview the effects of a filter on incoming traffic before the filter is actually created. There are a number of reasons why verifying your filters is beneficial:

  • It takes time (as much as 24 hours) before filter effects become visible in your data. Filter verification lets you see the possible effects of your filter in the present moment.
  • Filter effects are permanent: filtered data cannot be restored to its original, unfiltered state. Filter verification can help you catch errors or problems before you save the filter and possibly impact real data in undesirable ways.
  • Filter verification makes trying out variations of your filters much more convenient than without the verification feature.

For these reasons, it's good idea to always verify a filter before saving it.

In this article:

Video overview

In a hurry? Watch this short (~3 minute) overview video.

Filter verification overview

To verify a filter

Even with filter verification, we STRONGLY encourage you to apply new filters to a test view before assigning them to your real views.
  1. Follow the steps described in Create and manage view filters to create your filter and apply it to a view.
  2. Before saving the filter, click the Verify this filter link.
  3. If necessary, make any refinements to your filter and click the Verify again link until the sample "after" data appears the way you expect.
  4. If your filter returns no results and instead displays the message,
    "This filter would not have changed your data."
    
    either modify your filter or click Verify using a larger set of data.
  5. When you are satisfied with your filter, click the Save button to save the filter.

How filter verification works

Filter verification works by applying the new, unsaved filter to a 7-day sample of the actual data for the selected view. It then compares the results of the new filter to the original data sample, to produce a list of changed rows. This is similar to the way a text editor's Compare files feature or the command line diff program works.

Filter verification displays the changed rows in a preview table, containing Before filter applied and After filter applied columns. The Before filter applied column displays the original data rows that would have been changed by the proposed filter, if that filter had been in place last week. The After filter applied column shows you how those same rows would look with the new filter applied. The difference between the before and after columns is the effect your new filter would have had if it had been in effect 7 days ago. (It's like having your own Analytics time machine!)

The image below shows an example of a preview table. The filter used excludes hits where the Hostname field contains "adwords.google.com." The "before" table (marked as item 1) shows the rows in your data before the filter is applied. The "after" table (marked as item 2 in the image) shows those rows would be removed by the filter.

Screenshot of filter verification preview table showing before and after columns for a filter excluding hostname contains adwords.google.com. Before table shows 2 rows affected by the filter. After table contains no rows, showing the filter would exclude those rows.
Filter verification preview table

Sometimes, the initial sample data will not contain any rows that match your filter criteria. In this case, you won't see a preview table. Instead, you'll have the option to either adjust your filter (perhaps you didn't configure it properly) or apply the current filter to a larger set of sample rows. When you select this option, Analytics runs the same sample query as before, but increases the number of rows returned.

What if I still don't see a preview table?

If Analytics still can't find any rows that would be affected by the proposed filter, then it's possible the current view simply doesn't collect the data being targeted by the proposed filter. You should consider working from a different view or examining the other filters that might be in place for the current view to see if they are causing the issue.

Filter verification example

Let's say you are currently collecting hits for 3 hostnames: support.mycompany.com, sales.mycompany.com and ads.mycompany.com. You want to create a view that only shows hits for your support domain. So you create a new view and define a custom filter that includes the hostname field matching the filter pattern support\.mycompany\.com.

To verify this filter, Analytics calculates a sampling rate and selects a base set of rows of actual data for this view, going back 7 days. The resulting data might look like this:

 

Sampled data
Hostname Sessions Pageviews
service.mycompany.com 337 1,011
support.mycompany.com 3,707 35,722
sales.mycompany.com 148,280 1,357,773
...    

 

Analytics then applies the new filter you are creating to the original sampled data and notes which rows would be changed by this filter. This is the Before filter applied set of rows. Only those records that would have been included, excluded or changed by the new filter appear in the before view.

The After filter applied set of rows shows what the filter actually would have done to affected rows (i.e., either included them, excluded them or changed them).

In this example, we are filtering on support\.mycompany\.com. The Before filter applied column contains all the rows where the hostname contains that domain (in this case, there's just one). The After filter applied column shows the results of applying the include filter to all the sample data: it includes only the one matching row.

 

Before filter applied
Hostname Sessions Pageviews
support.mycompany.com 3,707 35,722
After filter applied
Hostname Sessions Pageviews
support.mycompany.com 3,707 35,722

Limitations of filter verification

  • Because filter verification uses a calculated sampling of your data, the results cannot be guaranteed to be accurate in all cases. You should always maintain an unfiltered view of your data as a back up.
  • Due to privacy constraints, you cannot verify filters using Geo-based fields.
  • You cannot verify advanced filters.

Create and manage view filters.

Was this article helpful?
How can we improve it?
Google Analytics training and support resources

Check out our comprehensive list to learn more about Analytics solutions.