Search
Clear search
Close search
Google apps
Main menu
true

Average CPA: Definition

The average amount that you’ve been charged for a conversion from your ad. Average cost per acquisition (CPA) is calculated by dividing the total cost of conversions by the total number of conversions. 

  • For example, if your ad receives two conversions, one costing £2.00 and one costing £4.00, your average CPA for those conversions is £3.00.
  • Average CPA is based on your actual CPA (the actual amount that you're charged for a conversion from your ad), which might be different from your target CPA (the amount that you’ve set as your desired average CPA if using Target CPA bidding).
  • Use performance targets to set an average CPA target for all the campaigns in a campaign group.
Was this article helpful?
How can we improve it?
false
Reach more customers with an online ad

With AdWords, you can run ads on Google to stand out on local searches. Only pay when your ad is clicked on. [Learn more]

Sign Up for AdWords