If a user no longer needs to collaborate on G Suite Essentials, you can remove their account. As a G Suite Essentials administrator, you can transfer any Drive documents and files the user owns to another user, like an admin or manager.
What happens to a removed user's account and data
After you remove a user's account from G Suite Essentials, their account is converted to a consumer Google Account. With a consumer account, a removed user can access their account data. If you don't transfer ownership of the user's Drive files, the user will continue to own their files and you'll no longer be able to manage the content.
- A removed user can still join any video meetings they're invited to or meetings they previously created.
- If you allow Drive sharing outside your organization, a removed user can still access any Drive files shared directly with them (not through a group), including files you transfer to another user.
Before you begin
Check Drive sharing permissions
To prevent a removed user from accessing files shared directly with them—including files you transfer to another user—set Drive permissions to prevent sharing outside your organization.
Note: A removed user can't access Drive files shared with them through a group, even if you allow Drive sharing outside your organization.
Remove admin role, if applicable
To remove a user who has an admin role, you need to remove the role first.
Transfer files to a shared drive
As an alternative to transferring the user's files to a new owner, you can transfer them to a shared drive. In a shared drive, all members collectively own all files. If one person leaves, other shared drive members can still access the files. This prevents files from being deleted when their owner’s account is removed.
Remove a user
- From the Admin console Home page, go to Users.
- In the Users list, find the user. If you need help, see Find a user account.
- (Optional) To remove a single user, do the following:
- (Optional) To remove multiple users, do the following:
- Check the box for each user you want to remove in the Users list.
- At the top of the page, click More Delete selected users.
Tip: If all users belong to the same organizational unit, select it on the right to find the users more easily. (You can click at the upper left to see the organizational tree.) Or, if the users are in different organizations, on the left, select Users from all organization units.
- (Optional) To transfer ownership of user content:
- Check Drive and Docs.
- (Optional) To transfer files that aren't shared with anyone, check Include files that aren't shared with anyone.
- Only Drive content that a user owns is transferred to another user, who becomes the new owner.
- The removed user can still access content you transferred to another user, unless you set Drive permissions to prevent sharing outside your organization.
- Transferred content includes files of all types, not just Google Docs, Sheets, Slides, and so on.
- If you don't transfer ownership of Drive content, it's kept with the user's account after removal, and you'll no longer be able to manage it.
- In the Transfer to box, search for a user account by entering the first few characters of the user's name or email address. When you see the account you want, select it.
- Click Delete or Delete Users.
Your Tasks list opens automatically and shows the progress of the removal.