Remove a Drive Enterprise user
If a user no longer needs to collaborate on Drive Enterprise, you can remove their account. As a Drive Enterprise administrator, you can transfer any Drive documents and files the user owns to another user, like an admin or manager.
What happens to a removed user's account and data
After you remove a user's account from Drive Enterprise, their account is converted to a consumer Google Account. With a consumer account, the user can access all of their account data, except any Drive files you transferred to another user during the removal process.
Before you begin
Check Drive sharing permissions
A removed user can still access any Drive files that are directly shared with them (shared currently or at a later time), unless you set Drive permissions to prevent sharing outside your organization.
Remove admin role, if applicable
To remove a user who has an admin role, you need to remove the role first.
Transfer files to a shared drive
As an alternative to transferring the user's files to a new owner, you can transfer them to a shared drive. In a shared drive, all members collectively own all files. If one person leaves, other shared drive members can still access the files. This prevents files from being deleted when their owner’s account is removed.
Remove a user
- From the Admin console Home page, go to Users.
- In the Users list, find the user. If you need help, see Find a user account.
- (Optional) To remove a single user, do the following:
- (Optional) To remove multiple users, do the following:
- Check the box for each user you want to remove in the Users list.
- At the top of the page, click Remove users .
Tip: If all users belong to the same organizational unit, select it on the right to find the users more easily. (You can click at the upper left to see the organizational tree.) Or, if the users are in different organizations, on the left, select Users from all organization units.
- (Optional) To transfer ownership of user content:
- Check Drive and Docs.
- (Optional) To transfer files that aren't shared with anyone, check Include files that aren't shared with anyone.
- Only Drive content that a user owns is transferred to another user, who becomes the new owner.
- Drive content that's transferred to another user isn't kept with the user's consumer account.
- Transferred content includes files of all types, not just Google Docs, Sheets, Slides, and so on.
- If you don't transfer ownership of Drive content, it's kept with the user's account after removal, and you'll no longer be able to manage it.
- In the Transfer to box, search for a user account by entering the first few characters of the user's name or email address. When you see the account you want, select it.
- Click Remove User or Remove Users.
Your Tasks list opens automatically and shows the progress of the removal.