Downgrade your G Suite subscription
- Still in your free trial period
- Using the Flexible Plan for G Suite billing
Eligible G Suite Business customers can downgrade to G Suite Basic. Eligible G Suite Enterprise customers can downgrade to G Suite Business or G Suite Basic. Compare G Suite subscriptions.
What features will I lose?Downgrading from G Suite Enterprise
If you downgrade from G Suite Enterprise to G Suite Basic, you lose access to the features listed here as well as the ones listed in Downgrading from G Suite Business.
If you downgrade from G Suite Enterprise to G Suite Business, you lose access to these features and services:
- Data loss prevention—You won’t be able to define rules that protect privacy and prevent users from sharing sensitive content in Google Drive or Google Team Drive with people outside your organization.
- Security and business controls—You lose the ability to monitor sensitive content in emails, files, and images, as well as to secure accounts and email with security keys and S/MIME encryption.
Note: If you're still in your free trial period, downgrading will end your free trial and monthly billing will begin.
If you downgrade from G Suite Business to G Suite Basic, you lose access to these features and services:
- Google Vault—You can't access the service, even if you had Vault licenses for all or part of your domain before upgrading to G Suite Business. Learn how to prevent loss of data protected by Vault.
- Storage capacity—Users will have 30 GB of storage instead of unlimited storage. You keep any storage promotions you had before upgrading to G Suite Business. However, if you or users purchased other storage, it isn't automatically restored. Learn how to prevent storage restrictions on Gmail, Google Drive, and Google Photos that can occur after you downgrade.
- Some administrative controls—You can't access advanced audit, reporting, sharing, Drive custom alerts, and other administrative controls that are available only with G Suite Business.
- Organization-specific settings—If you've applied Drive settings to specific organizational units, everyone in your organization inherits the settings of your top-level organization, but the organizational structure itself isn't changed.
Predefined content detectors—Any predefined content detectors you use for data-loss prevention are removed from any settings that use them.
Automated user provisioning applications—If you have more than 3 automated user provisioning applications, you must first remove automated user provisioning from all but 3 applications before downgrading to G Suite Basic.
Note: When you downgrade, your free trial period ends and monthly billing begins.
If you’re downgrading to G Suite Basic
Verify users' storage doesn't exceed 30 GB
- Check the storage usage for each user in the Admin console reports.
- If any users are using more than 30 GB of storage, ask them to reduce their storage usage before you downgrade. Or, buy more storage for users immediately after downgrading.
Learn more about managing your storage quota.
If users' storage exceeds 30 GB after you downgrade
Users who use more than 30 GB don't lose any data, but they have the following restrictions:
- Gmail—Users see warnings that they soon won't be unable to send or receive messages.
- Google Drive—Users can't sync to or upload any new files or save Gmail attachments to Drive. Also, their Google Drive desktop folder no longer syncs with My Drive. Users can still create Google Docs, Sheets, and Slides, because they don't take up any storage space.
- Google Photos—Users can upload only new photos and videos under certain size limits.
Downgrade your G Suite subscription
From the Admin console Home page, go to Billing.
- Next to your G Suite subscription, click Actions Downgrade to G Suite Basic or Downgrade to G Suite Business.
- At the bottom-right corner of the window, click Downgrade to G Suite Basic or Downgrade to G Suite Business.
- Choose your payment plan.
- (Optional) In the Promotion Code field, enter any promotional code you may have.
- Click Continue.
- Check the box that appears on the screen to indicate that you have read the terms of the agreement and click Continue.
- (Optional) Buy more storage for your users.
- (Optional) To continue using Vault, reactivate it within 30 days to recover your Vault settings and data. Learn more about buying Vault as an add-on to G Suite Basic.