With Chrome's sign in feature, you no longer need to fret about your bookmarks or apps being "stuck" on one computer. When you sign in to the Chrome browser or a Chrome device, your bookmarks, tabs, history, and other browser preferences are saved and synced to your Google Account. You can then load these settings anytime you use Chrome on other computers and devices. Signing into Chrome also makes using Google services, like Gmail, Youtube, and Maps, easier since you'll generally only need to sign in once from your browser.
Learn how to sign in to Chrome and enable sync
Getting a sync error? Troubleshoot sync issues
Don't sign in to Chrome if you're using a public or untrusted computer. When you set up Chrome with your Google Account, a copy of your data is stored on the computer you're using and can be accessed by other people using the same computer. To remove your data, delete the user you are signed in as.
How your information is synced
- Your settings and data are saved to your Google Account.
When you sign in to Chrome, your Chrome settings on that computer are saved to your Google Account. When you sign in to the same account on another computer or device, Chrome makes your saved settings available on that computer.
Recover your history, settings and data, such as bookmarks, apps, extensions, themes, etc. if your computer is lost or broken. Simply sign in to Chrome again to bring them back.
- Changes are synced instantaneously.
Any changes you make to your browser settings will be synced to the account you've used to sign in to Chrome. Changes you make on one computer are automatically reflected on the other computers where you're signed in and have enabled sync.
- You have control over your information.
To keep your information secure, synced data is encrypted when it travels between your computer and Google’s servers. As an added layer of protection, by default your saved passwords are encrypted on your computer and on Google’s servers using a cryptographic key. You also have the option to encrypt all your synced data. You can remove your synced data from your account at any time, using the Google Dashboard.